Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690421
visibleTabCount: 7
Brillhart House, Miami, FL.
The George Washington House in Bridgetown, Barbados. Michael Connors. Caribbean Houses: history, style and architecture.
Man on horseback in front of bohio, Cuba. (1900-1905) ARTstor image.
Tegnestuen Vandkunsten a/s & Kokon Architectuur & Stedenbouw BV, Terwijdge, Utrecht, Netherlands, 2002-04.
Hardinson & DeMars and Lawrence Halprin, Easter Hill Village, Richmond, California. 1953. Karen Kubey. Housing as intervention: architecture towards social equity.
GUIDE IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION:
Please contact us to add resources that may enhance the guide.
gsantana@miami.edu
Please contact us to add resources that may enhance the guide.
gsantana@miami.edu
Subject Specialist
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
Email: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
The University of Miami aknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukke Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open accessBOOKS: Bahamian History and Tropical Architecture
Barratt, P. J. H. 1972. Grand Bahama. Newton Abbot: David and Charles; Harrisburg [Pa.]: Stackpole Books.
Bay, Joo-Hwa and Boon Lay Ong. 2006. Tropical Sustainable Architecture : Social and Environmental Dimensions. Oxford; Burlington, MA: Oxford; Burlington, MA : Architectural Press.
Bennett, Ralph, University of Maryland, College Park Center for Renaissance and,Baroque Studies, and University of Maryland Symposium: "Cross-Cultural Perspectives", (1986). 1993. Settlements in the Americas : Cross-Cultural Perspectives. Newark : London: Newark : University of Delaware Press; London : Associated University Presses.
Crain, Edward E. 2017. Historic Architecture in the Caribbean Islands. Gainesville, Florida: LibraryPress@UF
Craton, Michael. 1968. A History of the Bahamas. London : Collins.
Craton, Michael. 1992. Islanders in the Stream : A History of the Bahamian People, edited by Gail Saunders. Athens: Athens : University of Georgia Press.
Crain, Edward E. 2017. Historic Architecture in the Caribbean Islands. Gainesville, Florida: LibraryPress@UF
Craton, Michael. 1968. A History of the Bahamas. London : Collins.
Craton, Michael. 1992. Islanders in the Stream : A History of the Bahamian People, edited by Gail Saunders. Athens: Athens : University of Georgia Press.
Connors, Michael W. 2009. Caribbean Houses : History, Style, and Architecture. New York: New York : Rizzoli.
Dodge, Steve. 1983. Abaco, the History of an Out Island and its Cays. North Miami, Fl: Tropic Isle Publications.
Douglas, Robert. 1992. Island Heritage: Architecture of the Bahamas. Darkstream Publications.
Durrell, Zoe. 1972. The Innocent Island: Abaco in the Bahamas. Durrell Publications; distributed by S. Greene Press, Brattleboro, Vt.
Emmanuel, Rohinton. 2012. An Urban Approach to Climate Sensitive Design Strategies for the Tropics. Hoboken: Hoboken : Taylor and Francis.
Emmanuel, Rohinton. 2012. An Urban Approach to Climate Sensitive Design Strategies for the Tropics. Hoboken: Hoboken : Taylor and Francis.
Emlen, John Thompson. 1977. Land Bird Communities of Grand Bahama Island: The Structure and Dynamics of an Avifauna. American Ornithologist Union.
Hindrichs, Dirk U. and Klaus Daniels. 2007. Plusminus 20°/40° Latitude : Sustainable Building Design in Tropical and Subtropical Regions. Stuttgart; London: Stuttgart; London : Edition A. Menges.
Ives, C. 1880. The Isles of Summer; or, Nassau and the Bahamas. New Haven. CT.
Ives, C. 1880. The Isles of Summer; or, Nassau and the Bahamas. New Haven. CT.
Mouzon, Stephen A. 2007. A Living Tradition : Architecture of the Bahamas. Miami Beach, Fla.: Miami Beach, Fla. : New Urban Guild Foundation.
Ober, F.A. 1908. A guide to the West Indies and Bermudas. New York: Dodd, Mead & Company.
Otterbein, Keith F. 1975. Changing House Type in Long Bay Cay: The Evolution of Folk Housing in an Out Island Bahamian Community. New Haven: Human Relation Area Files.
Saunders, Gail. 1988. The Bahamas : A Family of Islands. Basingstoke: Basingstoke : Macmillan.
Saunders, Gail. 2003. Bahamian Society After Emancipation. Revised edition. ed. Kingston, Jamaica : Princeton, NJ; Markus Wiener Publishers: Kingston, Jamaica : Ian Randle Publishers; Princeton, NJ; Markus Wiener Publishers
Saunders, Gail. 1988. The Bahamas : A Family of Islands. Basingstoke: Basingstoke : Macmillan.
Saunders, Gail. 2003. Bahamian Society After Emancipation. Revised edition. ed. Kingston, Jamaica : Princeton, NJ; Markus Wiener Publishers: Kingston, Jamaica : Ian Randle Publishers; Princeton, NJ; Markus Wiener Publishers
Sealey, Neil E. 1994. Bahamian Landscapes : An Introduction to the Physical Geography of the Bahamas. Second edition. ed. Nassau, Bahamas: Nassau, Bahamas : Media Publishing.
Stark, J. Henry. 1891. Stark's History and Guide to the Bahama Islands. Photo-electric Type Company.
Stark, J. Henry. 1891. Stark's History and Guide to the Bahama Islands. Photo-electric Type Company.
Uddin, Nasim and American Society of, Civil Engineers. 2010. Wind Storm and Storm Surge Mitigation. Reston, Va.: Reston, Va. : American Society of Civil Engineers.
University of Miami School of Architecture. 2012. Under the Sun : Traditions and Innovations in Sustainable Architecture and Urbanism in the Sub-Tropics, edited by Sonia R. Cháo, Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, Jaime Correa, Thorn Grafton, Jorge L. Hernández, Jan Hochstim, Becky Matkov, Carolyn Mitchell and Gustavo Sánchez Hugalde. Coral Gables, Florida: Coral Gables, Florida : University of Miami, School of Architecture.
Bibliography - Chicago 16th Edition style.
Subject Specialist
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
Boswell, Thomas D. 1990. "Characteristics and Processes of Urbanization in the Caribbean".Yearbook 17: 67.
C. Nicholas Raphael. 2002. "Coastal Morphology; Southwest Great Abaco Island, Bahamas." Geoforum 6 (3-4): 237-246.
Moore, Amelia. 2015. "Islands of Difference: Design, Urbanism, and Sustainable Tourism in the Anthropocene Caribbean." The Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology 20 (3): 513-532.
C. Nicholas Raphael. 2002. "Coastal Morphology; Southwest Great Abaco Island, Bahamas." Geoforum 6 (3-4): 237-246.
Moore, Amelia. 2015. "Islands of Difference: Design, Urbanism, and Sustainable Tourism in the Anthropocene Caribbean." The Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology 20 (3): 513-532.
Walker, L. N. and J. R. Mylroie. 2008. "The Caves of Abaco Island, Bahamas: Keys to Geologic Timeline." Journal of Cave and Karst Studies 70 (2): 108–119.
In Memoriam: Ray James Holman Nathaniels 1920-2005: Leaves a Legacy of Beautiful Island Homes. 2007. Vol. 114.
Bibliography - Chicago 16th Edition style.
Subject Specialist
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest)
ASFA is the most comprehensive database covering research and technical literature in aquatic sciences. Subfiles include Environmental RouteNet and Water Resource RouteNet. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCOHost)
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers architecture and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, and interior design. Coverage reaches from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. - Engineering Village
Engineering Village is a comprehensive engineering platform that contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives that academic institutions, corporations and government agencies face every day.Engineering Village offers access to 12 engineering literature and patent databases that provide coverage from a wide range of trusted engineering sources. The databases included are: Learn: Compendex Conference Coverage; Ei Compendex & EI Backfile; Inspec & Inspec Backfile; GEOBASE; GeoRef; EncompassLIT; EnCommpassPAT; Patents: USPTO & EPO; National Technical Information Service (NTIS); PaperChem; Chemical Business NewsBase(CBNB), Chimica. - GeoRef
Produced by the American Geological Institute, GeoRef is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world. - International Encyclopedia of Geography: People, the Earth, Environment, and Technology
The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia contains more than 1,000 entries ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words offering accessible introductions to basic concepts, sophisticated explanations of complex topics, and information on geographical societies around the world. - Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content. - World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Subject Specialist
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
Geospatial Resources
Subject Specialist
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
Subject Specialist
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
Whidden, Astrid Melzner. 2007. "Links Across the Gulfstream: The Florida /Bahamas Zone, 1780–1900." Florida International University. A dissertation submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy in History.
Armstrong, Morgan. 2017. "Behind Touristville: The Impact of Tourism on the Bahamian Community." A Thesis submitted to the Global and Area Studies Department and the University of Wyoming in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Arts in International Studies.
Armstrong, Morgan. 2017. "Behind Touristville: The Impact of Tourism on the Bahamian Community." A Thesis submitted to the Global and Area Studies Department and the University of Wyoming in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Arts in International Studies.
Subject Specialist
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
TROPICAL ARCHITECTURE
Brillhart House. 2013. Miami, FL.
Brillhart House, Miami, FL.
Paul Rudolph. 1953-54. Umbrella House. ARTstor image.
The George Washington House in Bridgetown, Barbados. Michael Connors. Caribbean Houses: history, style and architecture.Man on horseback in front of bohio, Cuba. (1900-1905) ARTstor image.LOW RISE HIGH DENSITY
The Experimental Housing Project (PREVI).
Jose Luis Iñiguez de Ozono and Antonio Vazquez de Castro.
Jose Luis Iñiguez de Ozono and Antonio Vazquez de Castro.
Studio E Architects, UC David West Village, Davis, California, 2011.
Tegnestuen Vandkunsten a/s & Kokon Architectuur & Stedenbouw BV, Terwijdge, Utrecht, Netherlands, 2002-04.Hardinson & DeMars and Lawrence Halprin, Easter Hill Village, Richmond, California. 1953. Karen Kubey. Housing as intervention: architecture towards social equity.
A Librarian