ACC632 - Intermediate Accounting subjectId: 690389

Welcome

Welcome to the University of Miami Libraries Guide on how to locate data for your accounting course. This guide provides you with recommended sites that locate U.S and international publicly traded company data. This includes:

company financial data
company committee members
comparative company ratios
industry surveys
benchmarking ratios
accounting journals

Database Access

List of 100+ Business Databases
The University of Miami subscribes to over 700 online databases. From the list of 700, over 100 databases are dedicated to the subject discipline of business. Click the link above to access all the business databases.

Remote Access
Remote access to the University of Miami's online database is possible from anywhere in the world as long as you have internet access. Once you have selected a library research database, you will be prompted for your CaneID name and password. This process is necessary to authenticate your enrollment status at UM.

NOTE: If you have a firewall on your computer, please bring down the firewall. All the library research databases contain encrypted data and this will not pass through a firewall

Contact

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu

Company Financials - U.S. & International

These databases will provide important financial reports (such as 10-K and 10-Q), as well an overview of the company's financial status.

- Mergent Online: This database provides financial reports that include the balance sheets, income statements, retained earnings, and cash flow data. Additionally, this database provides the annual 10K report.

Contact

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu

Company Officers

Hoover's Company Profiles: Conduct an advanced search on your company in this database and obtain a company report in PDF format which identifies the company officers and provides their title, annual compensation and bonus. Look at the Table of Contents to determine the page number for the People section.
Mergent Online: This easy to use database provides a wealth of informaiton on U.S. and international publicly traded companies. This includes identifying company officers, directors, and committee members. Conduct a company search, select the company of your choice, and click on the tab labelled Executives. Select the topic (officers, directors, or committees) to acquire the name of the executive.
S&P Netadvantage: This database provides information on U.S. publicly traded companies and industries. For company financial data, select the tab labelled, Company. Enter your company name or ticker symbol, and select the search button. When the company profile appears, select People from the table of contents section. Select the topic (professional, board members, committees or compensation) to acquire the name of the executive.

Biographies of Company Executives

Hoover's Company Profiles: Conduct an advanced search on your company in this database and obtain a company report in PDF format. Look at the Table of Contents to determine the page number for the Biographies section.
Mergent Online:This easy to use database provides a wealth of informaiton on U.S. and international publicly traded companies. Conduct a company search, select the company of your choice, and click on the tab labelled Executives. Select the topic (officers, directors, or committees) to acquire the name of the executive, then click on the executive's name to obtain their biography.
S&P Netadvantage: This database provides information on U.S. publicly traded companies and industries. For company financial data, select the tab labelled, Company. Enter your company name or ticker symbol, and select the search button. When the company profile appears, select People from the table of contents section. Select the topic (professional, board members, committees, or compensation) to acquire the name of the executive, then click on the executive's name to obtain their biography.

Contact

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage: In this database, you can search for your company and compare it to others in the industry by clicking Quick Comparative Analysis in the menu column. You can then compare financial data, operating statistics, valuation, and other information between companies.

Contact

If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu

Reports by analysts monitoring an industy

- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Select the "Industry Surveys" tab. From the drop down menu, select one of the GICS industries.

- Value Line Research Center
To obtain Value Line's industry analysis report, select "Browse Research". Next click on the drop down menu labeled "Industry Screens" and select an industry. At the next page, click on "Industry Analysis" to view Value Line's report.