University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

WGS 201: Intro to Women and Gender Studies

Ask a Librarian!

Need help with your research? Databases getting you down? Catalog confusing you? Not sure where to turn? Ask a librarian!

Librarians and other staff can be reached by phone, text, chat or in person! If you have a question, feel free to ask us!


Ask a Librarian!

 

Welcome to WGS 201

Welcome to the Women and Gender Studies Guide! This page on the Women and Gender Studies Libguide is specifically designed to assist with WGS 201. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Women and Gender Studies guide for research help.

If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to Ask a Librarian!

Women and Gender Studies Recommended Databases

  • Gender Watch
    GenderWatch indexes and provides the full-text of articles in 175 publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of historical perspective on the evolution of the  women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.
  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive
    The CQ Researcher explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
    The NCJRS, a federally sponsored information clearinghouse, provides access to the world's largest law enforcement and criminal justice database.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • LGBT Life with Full Text
    A database of literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. Full text content available in LGBT Life with Full Text includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade, and many more.