Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690568
visibleTabCount: 4
Current Digest of the Russian Press
The State Archives of the Russian Federation
(GARF) was created by order of the Government of the Russian Federation that dates from 1992.
Communist International (Comintern) Archives Project
Constitutes an important resource for the study of world history during the inter-war period and early years of World War I.
Hoover Institution
Holds a significant collection relating to Soviet dissidents and defectors, such as Andrei Siniavskii and Aleksandr Ginzburg and Yuri Yarim-Agaev.
Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System
From 1950 to 1953, several hundred Soviet refugees, residents in West Germany, Austria, and the United States, were contacted as prospective interviewees for the HPSSS; some 330 candidates were selected and given full-depth interviews by specialists prominent in the field of Soviet studies.
Table of Contents
Introduction
This guide provides a collection of library resources, databases, archival materials, and digital sources relating to the history of the Soviet Union and Post-Soviet Russia.
Sources for Writing History Papers General Citation Sources
Sources for Writing History Papers General Citation Sources
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Historical Newspapers
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
The New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
Provides national and international news, opinion, and commentary.
Time Magazine Archive
Presents the complete digital version of more than 77 years of the magazine dating from 1923 through 2000.
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
The New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
Provides national and international news, opinion, and commentary.
Time Magazine Archive
Presents the complete digital version of more than 77 years of the magazine dating from 1923 through 2000.
Select Databases
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
A comprehensive reference work in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia.
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
| ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDTGlobal) Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. |
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
A comprehensive reference work in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Select Ebooks
Valentina Uspenskaia, et al. Women and Transformation in Russia. Taylor and Francis, 2013.
Millar, James R. Encyclopedia of Russian History. Cengage Gale, 2003.
Goldman, Wendy Z. Women at the Gates. Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Moore, Cerwyn. “Kosovo and Chechnya/Kosova and Ichkeria.” Contemporary Violence, Manchester University Press, 2013, p. 31.
Ruthchild, Rochelle Goldberg. Equality & Revolution : Women's Rights in the Russian Empire, 1905-1917. University of Pittsburgh Press, 2010.
Wilson, Jeanne. Strategic Partners: Russian-Chinese Relations in the Post-Soviet Era. Taylor and Francis, 2015.
Carew, Joy Gleason. Blacks, Reds, and Russians : Sojourners in Search of the Soviet Promise. Rutgers University Press, 2008.
McDermid, Jane, and Hillyar, Anna. Midwives of the Revolution. Taylor & Francis Group, 1999.
Millar, James R. Encyclopedia of Russian History. Cengage Gale, 2003.
Goldman, Wendy Z. Women at the Gates. Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Moore, Cerwyn. “Kosovo and Chechnya/Kosova and Ichkeria.” Contemporary Violence, Manchester University Press, 2013, p. 31.
Ruthchild, Rochelle Goldberg. Equality & Revolution : Women's Rights in the Russian Empire, 1905-1917. University of Pittsburgh Press, 2010.
Wilson, Jeanne. Strategic Partners: Russian-Chinese Relations in the Post-Soviet Era. Taylor and Francis, 2015.
Carew, Joy Gleason. Blacks, Reds, and Russians : Sojourners in Search of the Soviet Promise. Rutgers University Press, 2008.
McDermid, Jane, and Hillyar, Anna. Midwives of the Revolution. Taylor & Francis Group, 1999.
Select Print Books
Primary Sources
Current Digest of the Russian Press
Weekly digest that presents a selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English.
Russian Archives
Includes archival footage and still images from museums.
Russian Archives
Includes archival footage and still images from museums.
| Universal Database of Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Journals
Full-text electronic versions of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities.
|
The State Archives of the Russian Federation
(GARF) was created by order of the Government of the Russian Federation that dates from 1992.
Communist International (Comintern) Archives Project
Constitutes an important resource for the study of world history during the inter-war period and early years of World War I.
Hoover Institution
Holds a significant collection relating to Soviet dissidents and defectors, such as Andrei Siniavskii and Aleksandr Ginzburg and Yuri Yarim-Agaev.
Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System
From 1950 to 1953, several hundred Soviet refugees, residents in West Germany, Austria, and the United States, were contacted as prospective interviewees for the HPSSS; some 330 candidates were selected and given full-depth interviews by specialists prominent in the field of Soviet studies.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
A Librarian