Popular Music, Folk Music, & Jazz subjectId: 201243

Louis Armstrong

This guide is a collection of useful resources for students in MCY 211, 212, 311, 312, and for anyone doing research in popular, folk, world, jazz, or blues music.

Please note: the items listed here are selected resources that may be used as reference sources or starting points for research and are not intended to be a comprehensive bibliography.

• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• Browse All Databases
  Browse all of the University of Miami Libraries' databases. Most will require login with 'Cane ID and password.
• JSTOR
  JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
• Nexis Uni
  Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
• Project MUSE - Premium Collection
  Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary.In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version.Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference 'shelves' or electronic syllabi.
• Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

• Browse All Music Databases
  Browse databases with music articles, scores, audio, and video. Most will require login with 'Cane ID and password.
• RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Online Archive
• Music Periodicals Database

• AllMusic.com
  Covering all genres and styles of music, All Music provides in depth details about artists including biographies, album and song reviews, style descriptions, composition descriptions, and AMG ratings and picks.
• Britannica Online
  Britannica Online includes the online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica, the 10th ed. of the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Britannica's Internet Guide, and The World Guide with maps, country information, and news

• Naxos Music Library
  Naxos Music Library has over 2 million tracks of music and is continually adding music from the Naxos label as well as other leading independent labels.
• Naxos Music Library Jazz
  Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. There are close to 20,000 tracks of jazz, more than 1,850 albums, and over 500 jazz artists.
• UM Libraries: Audio Online
  Browse dozens of databases and websites containing digitized audio.
• Association for Cultural Equity Online Archive
  Audio, video, photographs and other digitized material from the Association for Cultural Equity's Alan Lomax Archive.
• Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project
  The Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project provides online access to over 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the University of Santa Barbara's Donald C. Davidson Library. These recordings feature musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
• Music and Performing Arts from Alexander Street
  Music and Performing Arts consists of multiple music and performing arts databases, including American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.

• Folk Music of England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales & America
• Popular Songs in American History
• Women's Folksong Lyrics & Historical Notes
• Traditional & Folk Songs - Lyrics
• Roud Folk Song Index
• Search the Roud Folk Song Index
• Child Ballads Index
• Bluegrass Lyrics
• Roud Folk Song Index on Wikipedia

• Lyrics and Music

• Hymnary.org
• Christian Classics Ethereal Library - Hymns and Hymnology by Title

• American Memory: Library of Congress
  The Library of Congress's American Memory provides free and open online access to digitized materials that document the American experience. Materials include images, audio, video, maps, and sheet music.
• Music Treasures Consortium
  The Library of Congress's Music Treasures Consortium provides access to highly valued music manuscripts and print materials held in some of the world's most renowned music archives, including the British Library, Harvard University, and the Morgan Library & Museum.
• Performing Arts Encyclopedia
  The Performing Arts Encyclopedia is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The Encyclopedia provides access to digitized scores, sheet music, audio reordings, films, photographs, and other materials.
• Sheet Music Consortium
  The Sheet Music Consortium, hosted by the UCLA Digital Library Program, is a cooperative project to build an open collection of digitized sheet music through harvesting metadata from collections around the world.

• Archives of African American Music & Culture
  Created by Indiana University at Bloomington, this site provides access to digitized resources about African Americans in all genres of music.
• History of African American Music (Carnegie Hall)
  Digital timeline created by Carnegie Hall and curated by Jessye Norman as part of "Honor! A Celebration of the African American Cultural Legacy."

• American Folklife Center (Library of Congress)
  The American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress "include[s] folk cultural material from all fifty states, as well as United States trusts, territories, and the District of Columbia."
• Crooked Road: Virginia's Heritage Music Trail
  The purpose of The Crooked Road is to "generate tourism and economic development in the Appalachian region of Southwestern Virginia by focusing on the region’s unique musical heritage."
• Ethnographic Video Online
  Ethnographic Video Online provides over 2000 hours of film, including documentaries, primary source footage, and select feature films for the visual study of human culture and behavior.
• Max Hunter Folk Song Collection (Missouri State University)
  Digitized collection of folk songs; includes lyrics and transcribed tunes.

• Archives of African American Music & Culture
  Created by Indiana University at Bloomington, this site provides access to digitized resources about African Americans in all genres of music.
• History of African American Music (Carnegie Hall)
  Digital timeline created by Carnegie Hall and curated by Jessye Norman as part of "Honor! A Celebration of the African American Cultural Legacy."
• Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Library and Archives
  Includes finding aids for the Hall of Fame's Archival Collections.

• Rock's Backpages Library