University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

POL 381 Western European Politics

European Public Opinion

Eurobarometer 2017 Data

 {{fil},{_lbaker/EurobarometerFall2017.pdf}, {Eurobarometer 2017 Summary}} 

International News

  • BBC: Europe
    BBC's European coverage.
  • Financial Times: Europe
    Financial Times' in-depth coverage of European issues.
  • Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
    Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
  • New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
    Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary.

Country Profiles and Outlooks

  • CIA World Factbook
    US government profiles of countries and territories around the world.
  • EIU Viewpoint (Formerly Economist Intelligence Unit)
    In-depth country analysis and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country. Also includes analysis of global automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, and telecommunications industries. This service's Data tool can be used to compare economic data across or within countries.
  • BBC Country Profiles
    Good sources for information on coalition politics.

Article and Report Databases

  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online
    Columbia International Affairs Online contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
  • Gender Watch
    GenderWatch indexes and provides the full-text of articles in 175 publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of historical perspective on the evolution of the  women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.
  • HeinOnline Law Journal Library
    The Law Journal Library in HeinOnline is a collection of more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most currently published issued allowed, based on contracts with publishers.
  • LGBT Life with Full Text
    A database of literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. Full text content available in LGBT Life with Full Text includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade, and many more.
  • Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
    Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Primary Sources

  • European Union Member States
    This website shows the member states of the European Union and other EU initiatives such as the Euro.
  • Forum Fed
    This website lists all the countries of the world with federal systems. If a country is not in their “federal countries” drop-down menu it is a unitary system.
  • Gender Quotas Database
    Database of gender quotas in parliaments worldwide.
  • Manifesto Project
    This source includes the party platforms of all major political parties in western Europe. To access the data create a free account, click on “Data” and “Explore” and then you can search by country, year, and party family to find the name of parties belonging to various party families and their most recent party platforms.
  • PARLINE Recent Elections
    Election results of every parliamentary election in the world and information about the resulting coalitions
  • Parties and Elections in Europe
    Database with most recent election results and percent of seats each party family has in parliament.
  • Women in National Parliaments
    Data compiled by the Inter-Parliamentary Union on the basis of information provided by National Parliaments by November 1, 2014.
  • World Leaders CIA World Fact Book
    The CIA publishes this online directory of world leaders and cabinet members of foreign governments weekly. 

Subject Specialist

  • Adrian Legaspi

    History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian

    axl641@miami.edu

    305-284-3257

Data and Statistics

  • ceasEVAL Project
    The University of Sussex’s Common European Asylum System EVALuation project compares European standards in the area of asylum in domestic legislation as well as differences in their implementation
  • OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) iLibrary
    OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD, IEA, NEA, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and ITF.
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
  • World Bank Open Data
    Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
  • Global Religious Futures Project
    This Pew Research Center database offers religious demography and survey results for almost every country of the world.

Browse E-Journals

Turabian Style Guide

Instructor Feedback Form

https://tinyurl.com/umlsurvey2

Please fill out this two-minute survey to help me improve this session.