Alejandra Gutierrez Barbon staffId: 525

Alejandra G. Barbón is the Unit Lead for Digital & Distinctive Collections Cataloging at the University of Miami. Joining the faculty of the UM Libraries in 2017, she leads projects and specialized bibliographic cataloging and metadata creation activities providing strategic direction and expertise across the University Libraries’ Digital and Distinctive Collections including the Special Collections, the Jay I. Kislak Collection of the Early Americas, Exploration and Navigation, and the Cuban Heritage Collections. This incorporates applying metadata stewardship towards enhancing intellectual access and discoverability of digital content and print materials by integrating immersive approaches to classification and description, innovative advances in metadata creation, and best cataloging standards in resource description and authority work. Formerly, she served the UM Libraries as the Interim Head of Metadata & Discovery Services leading and managing departmental operations, services, activities, and projects while providing primary cataloging and liaison services for the distinctive Cuban Heritage Collection, contributing to the discovery and access to the University libraries’ physical and digital content through specialized bibliographic cataloging and resource description activities.
 
Before joining the University of Miami, Alejandra worked as Director of the Libraries at Florida National University where she led and managed the delivery of library services, policy administration, projects, and operations across the University Libraries while fostering successful partnership with faculty, administrators, Members of the Board, stakeholders, and community organizations. Prior to this, she held various library and archival roles of increasing responsibility at Florida International University, Hillsborough County Public Library, and Miami Dade College.

Alejandra holds a Master of Science in Library and Information Science from Kent State University with concentration in digital curation and preservation, and a Graduate Certificate in Liberal Studies from the University of Miami. She earned a Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies from Florida International University. Her research interests include increasing access to print cultural heritage materials and enhancing discoverability of digital collections through advanced and immersive approaches to bibliographic description, metadata creation, and curatorial and preservation practices.
 
Alejandra is an active member of various national professional organizations including the American Library Association (ALA), the Association of Colleges and Research Libraries in the Cataloging and Metadata Management (CMMS), Rare Books and Manuscripts (RBMS), University Libraries (ULS), and College Libraries (CLS) sections. Regionally, she is also an active member of the Florida Association of Colleges and Research Libraries (FACRL), the Society of Florida Archivists (SFA), and the Cataloging Discussion Group within the Southeast Florida Library Information Network (SEFLIN).

Barbon CV