Music Business and Industry subjectId: 206992

• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• Arts and Humanities Citation Index
  International coverage of more than 1,150 leading arts and humanities journals as well as selective coverage from leading science and social sciences journals.
• Browse All Databases
  Browse all of the University of Miami Libraries' databases. Most will require login with 'Cane ID and password.
• Google Scholar @ UM
  Search Google Scholar with direct links to University of Miami Library Resources. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. If you are within the UM campus or, if from Scholar Preferences you select the University of Miami Libraries, your Google Scholar results will include direct links to items available at UM.  If this information is in a subscription database, you will be prompted to log in with your CaneID username and password.
• JSTOR
  JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
• Nexis Uni
  Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
• Project MUSE - Premium Collection
  Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary.In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version.Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference 'shelves' or electronic syllabi.
• Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

• ABI/INFORM Collection
  ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
• Business Source Premier
  Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.
• Browse All Business Databases
  Browse databases related to the field of business. Most will require login with 'Cane ID and password.

• AES Electronic Library
  Contains all of the Audio Engineering Society papers from the journal, conventions, and conferences, providing access to over 16,000 fully searchable PDF files documenting the progression of audio research from 1953 to the present day.,Includes AES Publications Convention Preprints Timely technical papers, reproduced directly from the manuscripts of presentations given at recent AES conventions. Anthologies Renowned series of collected papers of archival quality reprinted from the AES Journal including: loudspeakers, disk recording, microphones, sound reinforcement, and time delay spectrometry. Collected papers from the highly regarded AES international conferences, each devoted to a specific topic. AES Standards, Drafts, and Information Documents Internationally approved documents developed under the auspices of the AES Standards Committee and its working groups. Directory of Educational Programs A comprehensive international guide to educational programs in audio.

• RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
  RILM Abstracts of Music Literature features content from the early 1800s through the present with some content coverage extending back as far as the late 18th century. Updated monthly, the database includes coverage of relevant articles from thousands of journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music.In addition to journal articles, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature covers a variety of publication and media types including essay collections, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, and technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.
• Browse All Music Databases
  Browse databases with music articles, scores, audio, and video. Most will require login with 'Cane ID and password.
• RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Online Archive
• Music Periodicals Database
• Music Index

This is a small selection of books the library has about the music industry. A subject search for "music trade" or "sound recording industry" will return well over 400 books!

All you need to know about the music business
Passman, Donald S.
ML3790 .P35 2009
(Also an e-book; e-book will require login with 'Cane ID and password)

Artist management for the music business
Allen, Paul.
ML3790 .A45 2007

The future of music : manifesto for the digital music revolution
Kusek, David.
ML3790 .K86 2005

The recording industry
Hull, Geoffrey P.
ML3790 .H84 2004

This business of music : the definitive guide to the music industry
Krasilovsky, M. William.
ML3790 .S5 2003

Rockonomics : the money behind the music
Eliot, Marc.
ML3534 .E44 1989

Peer to peer and the music industry : the criminalization of sharing
David, Matthew.
ML3790 .D33 2010

• AllMusic.com
  Covering all genres and styles of music, All Music provides in depth details about artists including biographies, album and song reviews, style descriptions, composition descriptions, and AMG ratings and picks.
• Britannica Online Encyclopedia (Public Site)
  
• Musical America Worldwide
  Musical America is an international directory for the performing arts, used by concert facilities, classical performers, artists, managers and music festivals.Entries include narrative reviews of the past year in music and dance, along with over 700 pages of listings and tables. Also offers a prestigious annual awards program for Musician of the Year, as well as awards for the year's top composer, conductor, instrumentalist and vocalist.
• Oxford Music Online
  Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and the Oxford Companion to Music.

• Academic Charts Online
  Over 60 years of music charts licensed from Billboard. Requires login with 'Cane ID and password.
• Billboard Events
  Provides information about upcoming music business conferences and forums.
• Radio and Internet Newsletter
  Daily news and commentary on the future of radio, AM/FM, satellite, HD and Internet.

• American Federation of Musicians
  
• American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP)
  
• Audio Engineering Society (AES)
  
• Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI)
  
• Music Publishers Association (MPA)
  
• National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences (NARAS)
  
• Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)
  

• allrecordlabels.com
  "allrecordlabels.com is a database of over 25,000 record label/netlabel web sites or Wikipedia links indexed by genre, format, and location."
• Bravomaestro
  A resource for musicians interested in selling their own music online.
• Ropeadope Records
  American record label specializing in jazz, hip hop and electronic music. Since 2007, all music is released digitally from their website and other music downloading sites.