Master of Arts in Liberal Studies subjectId: 92

• Find your favorite place to study quietly or collaboratively in one of our many locations. We have subject specialty libraries on the Coral Gables, Rosenstiel, and Medical campuses. Use your Cane Card to check out keys to graduate-only study carrels in the Graduate Study Room on the second floor of the Richter Library.
• Meet your librarian. Arrange a consultation with a librarian for your college or department to get expert tips and strategies for becoming a more efficient researcher, or chat with us online. Recommend a resource to help strengthen our collections. Ask us­—we love to help! 
• Explore career opportunities that will help prepare you for the information economy. UML has several fellowships available and hires graduate students for a range of positions.

 

• ACCESS

Use your CaneID and password (UM Single Sign-On) to gain privileged online access to millions of articles, books, images, recordings, and more.
 
Can’t find what you’re looking for at UM Libraries? Request materials through our interlibrary loan service. Let us know if you can’t find a book, video, article, or other item you need, and we’ll do our best to get it for you.
 

• ANALYZE

Get support for data management, digital humanities, and GIS services and software.
 

• CREATE

Get help with creative software, such as Adobe Creative Cloud, print posters, photos, and 3D objects, and check out cameras, VR headsets, and other audiovisual equipment at the Creative Studio.
 

• RESEARCH

Learn which online citation management system is best for you, and explore specialized research tools and databases related to your subject specialty. Get started with EndNote, RefWorks, or Zotero to manage your citations.

Get electronic theses and dissertation support for both Mac and Windows. Access UM theses and dissertations online, as well as others published worldwide.
 
Discover rare and unique primary sources—books, maps, photographs, letters, and more—in the Cuban Heritage Collection, Special Collections, and University Archives. Many distinctive materials are also available online in our Digital Collections.
 

• TECH SUPPORT

Install software, upgrade, and fix your devices at the Student Technology Help Desk.
 

• WRITE

Graduate students can schedule up to three one-hour appointments per week with a consultant at the Writing Center. Writing support is also available at other library locations. Contact the Writing Center for more information. Consultants from the Writing Center are available to help you polish and clarify your work.
 

• RefWorks
  Refworks is a web based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.
• Statista
  Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Not sure how to do a good search in a database? Check out the video below!

Just beware of the sock puppet. ;)

• Citation Linker
  Use this to locate an article from a citation.
• Search for E-Journals
  Discover whether the Libraries have full-text access to a particular journal.
• Interlibrary Loan
  Did you know that we can get ANY book or article for you? Use Interlibrary Loan!

• ProQuest Research Library
  ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• Humanities International Index
  Humanities International Index is a database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), Humanities International Index provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals and contains more than 2.47 million records.
• Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
  Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
• MLA International Bibliography
  The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
• SPORTDiscus with Full Text
  Indexes international literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology of sports, and related topics. Also covers recreation, games, play, and dance.
• PsycINFO
  Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
• Communication Abstracts
  Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information for communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books covering not only communication literature, but also other disciplines that are relevant to communication researchers.
• Film & Television Literature Index
  Bibliographic database that provides indexing for more than 600 publications. Film & Television Literature Index is an index to film and television literature. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
• Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
  Wilson Humanities Full-Text indexes more than 300 key humanities journals. Abstracts of journal articles are included from the spring of 1994; selected full-text coverage began in January 1995.
• Arts and Humanities Citation Index
  International coverage of more than 1,150 leading arts and humanities journals as well as selective coverage from leading science and social sciences journals.
• Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
  The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

• CultureGrams
  Up to date country reports on 204 cultures of the world.