Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690585
visibleTabCount: 6
MGT401 Course Description
MGT401 is a required class for all Miami Herbert Business School students. This course is designed to provide a fundamental exploration of organizations in their environments and provide an introduction to the strategic management process with a focus on the following:
- Strategic Planning and Analysis of Organizational Internal/External Environments
- Evaluating the Competitive Landscape
- Establishing Strategic Direction and Leadership
- Formulating Business and Corporate Strategy
- Strategy Implementation and Control
Daily Access to Digital Newspapers are now available to all UM students
Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Financial Times - Gain daily access to these premier newspapers via the UM Libraries' campus-wide subscription. Using your UM email address, set up your personal account today and begin reading these newspapers from any one of your moblie devices.
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
Resources for industry analysis reports as well as industry SWOT and a Porter's 5-Forces analysis.
- ABI/Inform Collection (International)
Access reports that contain an industry outlook, forecasting data, and a market overview. Copy and paste the following example into the database's search engine, replacing the industry name in parenthesis with your country of choice. Example: PUB(Industry Reports) AND TI(gas) Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports: For an industry SWOT analysis, copy and paste the following example into the databases's search engine. Make sure to replace the search statement with the industry of your choice. Example: PUB(Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports) AND TI(healthcare) Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports (International)
Retrieve in-depth industry reports by country or by industry name.
- Business Source Premier (International)
Obtain industry profiles on numerous sectors in various countries. Copy and paste the following example in the database's search engine, replacing the industry name in parenthesis with the industry of your choice. Example: TI(marketline industry profile and gas) Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage: (U.S. industries only)
This database will provide industry analysis reports for U.S. sectors. To locate the reports, select the "Industry Surveys" tab, then click on the drop-down menu. Select a pre-set industry name and click "Search." Next, select and open the most recent Industry Survey report in PDF format. The report will contain an in-depth industry overview and include a Porter's Five Forces industry analysis. Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
- Statista (International)
A statistical portal that aggregates over 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics. Industry statistics are available within this database. Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
Access reports that contain an industry outlook, forecasting data, and a market overview. Copy and paste the following example into the database's search engine, replacing the industry name in parenthesis with your country of choice. Example: PUB(Industry Reports) AND TI(gas) Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports: For an industry SWOT analysis, copy and paste the following example into the databases's search engine. Make sure to replace the search statement with the industry of your choice. Example: PUB(Fitch Solutions Country Industry Reports) AND TI(healthcare) Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
- Business Monitor International (BMI) Industry Reports (International)
Retrieve in-depth industry reports by country or by industry name.
- Business Source Premier (International)
Obtain industry profiles on numerous sectors in various countries. Copy and paste the following example in the database's search engine, replacing the industry name in parenthesis with the industry of your choice. Example: TI(marketline industry profile and gas) Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage: (U.S. industries only)
This database will provide industry analysis reports for U.S. sectors. To locate the reports, select the "Industry Surveys" tab, then click on the drop-down menu. Select a pre-set industry name and click "Search." Next, select and open the most recent Industry Survey report in PDF format. The report will contain an in-depth industry overview and include a Porter's Five Forces industry analysis. Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
- Statista (International)
A statistical portal that aggregates over 1 million statistics on over 80,000 topics. Industry statistics are available within this database. Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
Use these recommended resources to locate a list of company competitors.
- Hoover's Company Profile (U.S. & International company data)
This database allows you to see a company's top competitors and compare profits and ratios. Enter the company name in the database's search box. Select the company's full-text PDF report. Go to the report's section labeled "Competitor List." Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
- Mergent Online (U.S. & International company data)
To obtain a list of worldwide competitors, conduct a company search and select the "Competitors" tab at the company profile page. Download or print the list of international competitors.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center (U.S. companies only)
Under the Companies column, select "Screen for Stocks." Enter the company's ticker symbol or name in the search box labelled, "Enter a Ticker or name." Once the company profile appears, scroll down to the "Morningstar's Analysis" section and select "Competitors". Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (U.S. companies only)
Select the "Companies" tab. Under the Search Profiles header, select "Companies." Enter a company name or ticker symbol. Select your company from the company list. Under the My Links header, select "Quick Comps" to view the list of company competitors. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
This database allows you to see a company's top competitors and compare profits and ratios. Enter the company name in the database's search box. Select the company's full-text PDF report. Go to the report's section labeled "Competitor List." Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
- Mergent Online (U.S. & International company data)
To obtain a list of worldwide competitors, conduct a company search and select the "Competitors" tab at the company profile page. Download or print the list of international competitors.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center (U.S. companies only)
Under the Companies column, select "Screen for Stocks." Enter the company's ticker symbol or name in the search box labelled, "Enter a Ticker or name." Once the company profile appears, scroll down to the "Morningstar's Analysis" section and select "Competitors". Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (U.S. companies only)
Select the "Companies" tab. Under the Search Profiles header, select "Companies." Enter a company name or ticker symbol. Select your company from the company list. Under the My Links header, select "Quick Comps" to view the list of company competitors. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
Company Financials
Mergent Online (U.S.& International companies) Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
S&P NetAdvantage (U.S.companies only) Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
Value Line Research Center (U.S.companies only) Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
S&P NetAdvantage (U.S.companies only) Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
Value Line Research Center (U.S.companies only) Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
Market Share & Rankings Data
Business Insights: Global (U.S. and International companies)
Search this service to obtain a company's market share or ranking data on your company. Be aware that this data is not available for all public companies. Enter a company name on the database's homepage and review the company profile. When available, select "Market Share Reports" or "Rankings" to view the data. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
Search this service to obtain a company's market share or ranking data on your company. Be aware that this data is not available for all public companies. Enter a company name on the database's homepage and review the company profile. When available, select "Market Share Reports" or "Rankings" to view the data. Watch a 1-minute video demo of this search.
News Resources
Newspaper Articles, Journals & Trade Magazines
Press Releases & Newswires ==============
Broadcasts & Transcripts
- ABI/INFORM Collection
- Business Source Premier
- Nexis Uni
- New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
- Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
- Wall Street Journal via ProQuest, Eastern edition (1984-Current)
Press Releases & Newswires ==============
Broadcasts & Transcripts
SWOT analysis reports
- Business Insights Global (U.S. & International companies)
Search this service to obtain a company SWOT analysis report. Be aware that a SWOT report is not available for all public companies. Enter a company name on the database's landing page and review the company profile. Select "SWOT Reports" to review several reports. Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
- Business Source Premier (U.S. & International companies)
SWOT analysis reports are not available for all companies listed in this database. To obtain a SWOT report, begin by selecting the "Company Profiles" link. Next, type the company name and select the "Browse" button. Select the PDF report. From the "Table of Contents" section, select the "SWOT Analysis" link.
Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
Search this service to obtain a company SWOT analysis report. Be aware that a SWOT report is not available for all public companies. Enter a company name on the database's landing page and review the company profile. Select "SWOT Reports" to review several reports. Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
- Business Source Premier (U.S. & International companies)
SWOT analysis reports are not available for all companies listed in this database. To obtain a SWOT report, begin by selecting the "Company Profiles" link. Next, type the company name and select the "Browse" button. Select the PDF report. From the "Table of Contents" section, select the "SWOT Analysis" link.
Watch a 1-minute demo video of this search.
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
UM Libraries' Recommended Resources for Citation Guidelines
Citation Style Guides
This guide provides exmples of four common citation styles (APA, MLA, Chicago and Turabian) that you may want to use when compiling your project's bibliography.
This guide provides exmples of four common citation styles (APA, MLA, Chicago and Turabian) that you may want to use when compiling your project's bibliography.
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
A Librarian