University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

MCY 141 - Musical Traditions

Contact information

Search for items in the library

Search for Scholarly Articles

  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
  • RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
    RILM Abstracts of Music Literature features content from the early 1800s through the present with some content coverage extending back as far as the late 18th century. Updated monthly, the database includes coverage of relevant articles from thousands of journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music.In addition to journal articles, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature covers a variety of publication and media types including essay collections, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, and technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.

Background Information

Sample Citations

Look here for sample citations of books, articles, CDs, online sources, etc.

http://guides.library.miami.edu/assets/users/_a.strickland/TurabianGuide2016update.pdf


 

Listen online

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library has over 2 million tracks of music and is continually adding music from the Naxos label as well as other leading independent labels.

Listen online

Music and Performing Arts from Alexander Street
Music and Performing Arts consists of multiple music and performing arts databases, including American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.