Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690731
visibleTabCount: 4
Welcome
Explore this guide to access time series data that spans a wide spectrum of date ranges. This guide encompasses a spectrum of subject matters, embracing crucial areas such as economics, population dynamics, health-related matters plus more.
The resources recommended are either Univeristy of Miami database subscription services or are open access web sites.
The resources recommended are either Univeristy of Miami database subscription services or are open access web sites.
Access
List of 100+ Business Databases
The University of Miami subscribes to over 700 online databases. From the list of 700, over 100 databases are dedicated to the subject discipline of business. Click the link above to access all the business databases.
Remote Access
Remote access to any University of Miami online database is possible from anywhere in the world as long as you have internet access. Once you have selected a library research database, you will be prompted for your CaneID name and password. This process is necessary to authenticate your enrollment status at UM.
NOTE: If you have a firewall on your computer, please bring down the firewall. All the library research databases contain encrypted data and this will not pass through a firewall
Research Data & Open Scholarship Librarian
Mr. Cameron Riopelle is the UM Libraries' Director of Research Data & Open Scholarship. His department promotes data literacy at UM by providing expert advice on the components of the research and analytical process.
His guide provides access to panel data.
Contact information:
criopelle@miami.edu
His guide provides access to panel data.
Contact information:
criopelle@miami.edu
(305) 284-1524
Economic data
Bureau of Labor Statistics: This U.S. government site contains the Consumer Price Index (CPI), employment & unemployment statistics, pay & compensation cost data, spending, time use, productivity, workplace injuries, plus more.
Consumer Price Index:: Retrieve CPI data which is the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas.
Economic Intelligence Unit: Locate macroeconomic statistical data from the EIU's Data Tools service. Data within this service includes historical (1997), current, and forecasting data to 2022, and covers GDP, fiscal, monetary, population, employment, and foreign direct investments.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED): Online database consisting of more than 148,000 economic data time series from 59 national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Federal Reserve Economic Data Archival (ALFRED): Allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.
Federal Reserve Archive (FRASER): Various types of publications that are primarily statistical in nature, including books, magazine series, and true statistical releases.
Political Risk Yearbook: This library subscription provides country economic data. This includes economic indicators such as domestic, international, and social.
Worldbank Microdata Library: This library is made up of various collections and data sets that provide information about developing countries. Topics include agriculture and food security, economic growth, education, gender, and urban development.
Consumer Price Index:: Retrieve CPI data which is the average change over time in the prices paid by urban consumers for a market basket of consumer goods and services. Indexes are available for the U.S. and various geographic areas.
Economic Intelligence Unit: Locate macroeconomic statistical data from the EIU's Data Tools service. Data within this service includes historical (1997), current, and forecasting data to 2022, and covers GDP, fiscal, monetary, population, employment, and foreign direct investments.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED): Online database consisting of more than 148,000 economic data time series from 59 national, international, public, and private sources. FRED, created and maintained by Research Department at the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Federal Reserve Economic Data Archival (ALFRED): Allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.
Federal Reserve Archive (FRASER): Various types of publications that are primarily statistical in nature, including books, magazine series, and true statistical releases.
Political Risk Yearbook: This library subscription provides country economic data. This includes economic indicators such as domestic, international, and social.
Worldbank Microdata Library: This library is made up of various collections and data sets that provide information about developing countries. Topics include agriculture and food security, economic growth, education, gender, and urban development.
Health data
CDC (Center for Disease Control and Prevention)
CDC's Health United States: This free web site provides national trends in health statistics. Topics include birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and patient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance, and other health topics. Excel files with time series data can be downloaded from this site.
Health Data: Provides various statistics about rates of infections in the U.S. and globally as well as risk predictions and measurements for the future.
WHO's Global Health Observatory Data: Collected by the World Health Organization, this free web site provides statistical data on the health of the world.
CDC's Health United States: This free web site provides national trends in health statistics. Topics include birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and patient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance, and other health topics. Excel files with time series data can be downloaded from this site.
Health Data: Provides various statistics about rates of infections in the U.S. and globally as well as risk predictions and measurements for the future.
WHO's Global Health Observatory Data: Collected by the World Health Organization, this free web site provides statistical data on the health of the world.
Other Topics
Eurostat: Considered as the key to European statistics, this web site provides time series data on various topics. This includes population, demographics, economy, agriculture, environment, finance, climate change, quality of life, and more.
FINRA Investor Education Foundation: Results tables, questionnaires, data sets, and methodologies for the 2009, 2012, 2015, and 2018 National Financial Capability Study are available for download into an Excel or SPSS file.
Kids Count Data Center: This web site provides child well being data throughout the United States. Topics include demographics, education, well being, family & community, race, safety and risky behavior.
International Data Base (IDB): Produced by the U.S. Census, this web site provides foreign country data. This includes population estimates, growth rates, and population by age group. Select "International Data Base (IBD)" to obtain global or country data.
National Vital Statistics: Produced by the CDC, this web site provides vital statistics from the states within the U.S. Statistics include birth, death, marriage, family growth, and more.
OECD iLibrary Statistics: This UM database subscription, provides time series data sets (in Excel format) on the topics of economy, education, employment, environment, migration, pensions, tax, telecommunications, unemployment, and much more for numerous countries.
Sage Data: With over 90 sources and more than 13.5 datasets, this database provides an all-in-one resource. Includes U.S. political statistics, economic indicators, demographics, energy data plus more.
Social Explorer: Provides access to current & historical census data and demographic information. Coverage includes the U.S., Canada, E.U., and global data.
TreasuryDirect: Provides information about auctions, debt, foreign holders of U.S. debt, and various other time series data related to debt managment policy.
UNECE (United Nations Economic Commission for Europe): Provides various data sets on the topic of a country's economy, forestry, Millenium Development goals, population, gender, and transportation.
U.S. Department of Education: Provides time series data on various aspects of college and university campuses in comparison to one another. Topics include cost of attendance, graduation rates, criminal offenses, diversity and inclusion, student loans, and more. Overall higher education trajectories and statistics can also be found in this database.
US Aid DHS (Demographics and Health Survey) Program
Worldbank DataBank: Provides a variety of time series data on numerous topics.
U.S. Census Bureau
World Development Indicators: World Bank's time series data dating back to 1960 which provides annual data on 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment, and more.
FINRA Investor Education Foundation: Results tables, questionnaires, data sets, and methodologies for the 2009, 2012, 2015, and 2018 National Financial Capability Study are available for download into an Excel or SPSS file.
Kids Count Data Center: This web site provides child well being data throughout the United States. Topics include demographics, education, well being, family & community, race, safety and risky behavior.
International Data Base (IDB): Produced by the U.S. Census, this web site provides foreign country data. This includes population estimates, growth rates, and population by age group. Select "International Data Base (IBD)" to obtain global or country data.
National Vital Statistics: Produced by the CDC, this web site provides vital statistics from the states within the U.S. Statistics include birth, death, marriage, family growth, and more.
OECD iLibrary Statistics: This UM database subscription, provides time series data sets (in Excel format) on the topics of economy, education, employment, environment, migration, pensions, tax, telecommunications, unemployment, and much more for numerous countries.
Sage Data: With over 90 sources and more than 13.5 datasets, this database provides an all-in-one resource. Includes U.S. political statistics, economic indicators, demographics, energy data plus more.
Social Explorer: Provides access to current & historical census data and demographic information. Coverage includes the U.S., Canada, E.U., and global data.
TreasuryDirect: Provides information about auctions, debt, foreign holders of U.S. debt, and various other time series data related to debt managment policy.
UNECE (United Nations Economic Commission for Europe): Provides various data sets on the topic of a country's economy, forestry, Millenium Development goals, population, gender, and transportation.
U.S. Department of Education: Provides time series data on various aspects of college and university campuses in comparison to one another. Topics include cost of attendance, graduation rates, criminal offenses, diversity and inclusion, student loans, and more. Overall higher education trajectories and statistics can also be found in this database.
US Aid DHS (Demographics and Health Survey) Program
Worldbank DataBank: Provides a variety of time series data on numerous topics.
U.S. Census Bureau
World Development Indicators: World Bank's time series data dating back to 1960 which provides annual data on 207 countries in the areas of population, labour, education, economics, the environment, and more.
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
APA Style
APA Formatting and Style Guide OWL at Purdue University
APA Documentation Handbook University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
APA Style – Supplemental Resources for formatting manuscripts, papers, essays, etc.
(American Psychological Association)
Other citation styles
Chicago Style
- AMA Manual of Style American Medical Association
MLA Style
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide Purdue OWL
- MLA Handbook Modern Language Association of America
Turabian Style
- Turabian Style University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
Contact
If you have a research question this guide does not address, please send an email to: IRC.reference@miami.edu
A Librarian