Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690202
visibleTabCount: 1
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY MALAYSIA in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
The Big Durian
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: Malaysia
Capital city: Kuala Lumpur
National language: Malay (Bahasa Malaysia)
Major religion: Islam
Log on here!
Malaysia, Singapore & Brunei (Lonely Planet)
Pocket Kuala Lumpur
Floating on a Malayan Breeze: Travels in Malaysia and Singapore
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country.
We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
The Sleeping Dictionary
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
More UM Study Abroad Resources
USearch
Tips for using USearch
There are many different kinds of materials described on this page. To see all that the library has to offer for a specific category, use the USearch box above.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
More Information About Malaysia and Its Cities
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
Films About Your Country
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY MALAYSIA in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
The Big Durian
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Malaysia
This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in Malaysia.
Quick Facts
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: Malaysia
Capital city: Kuala Lumpur
National language: Malay (Bahasa Malaysia)
Major religion: Islam
Language Help
- Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
- 72 languages are available, including Malay
- Watch movies with subtitles
- Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)
Log on here!
Suggested Readings
Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.
Culture Smart! Malaysia by Victor King (ebook)
Floating on a Malayan Breeze by Sudhir Vadaketh (ebook)
The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng (ebook)
The Gift of Rain by Tan Twan Eng (ebook)
Culture Smart! Malaysia by Victor King (ebook)
Floating on a Malayan Breeze by Sudhir Vadaketh (ebook)
The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng (ebook)
The Gift of Rain by Tan Twan Eng (ebook)
Travel Guides
- Plan your free time!
- Large collection in the Richter Library
- These can be borrowed
Malaysia, Singapore & Brunei (Lonely Planet)
Pocket Kuala Lumpur
Floating on a Malayan Breeze: Travels in Malaysia and Singapore
Your libraries are here to help!
Even when you are abroad, there are librarians available to help you and library materials that you can use.
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Malaysia, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Malaysia, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Watch a Movie!
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country.
We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
The Sleeping Dictionary
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Newspapers
Inform yourself on current topics!
Databases with newspapers from Malaysia
Databases with newspapers from Malaysia
A Librarian