Latin American Music subjectId: 202644

Diccionario de la Música Española e Hispanoamericana
Casares, Emilio, ed.
ML101.S7 D53 1999

Latin American Classical Composers : a Biographical Dictionary
Ficher, Miguel, Martha Furman Schleifer, and John M. Furman, eds.
ML105 .F53 2002

Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart
Finscher, Ludwig, ed.
ML100 .M92 1994

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music. Volume 2, South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean.
Olsen, Dale A., and Daniel E. Sheehy, eds.
ML100 .G16 1998

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Sadie, Stanley, ed.
ML100 .N48 2001

Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World
Shepherd, John, ed.
ML102.P66 C66 2003

Cuban music from A to Z
Orovio, Helio
ML106.C8 O7613 2004

Diccionario enciclopédico de la música en Cuba
Giro, Radamés
ML106.C8 G576 2007

 

Music of Latin America: An Introduction
Béhague, Gerard
ML199 .B44

Bibliografía de Música Latinoamericana
Casa de las Americas
ML120.L4 B5 1972

Guide to the Music of Latin America
Chase, Gilbert
ML120.S7 C47 1972

Compositores de América : datos biográficos y catálogos de sus obras = Composers of the Americas : biographical data and catalogs of their works.
ML390 .P15

Music in Latin America and the Caribbean: An Encyclopedic History
Kuss, Malena, ed.
ML199 .M858 2004

Musical cultures of Latin America: global effects, past and present: proceedings of an international conference, University of California, Los Angeles, May 28-30, 1999.
Loza, Steven, ed.
ML3797.1.C34 S4 v. 11

Música y Músicos de Latinoamérica
Mayer-Serra, Otto
ML199 .M3

Garland Handbook of Latin American Music
Olsen, Dale A., and Daniel E. Sheehy
ML199 .G36 2000

Sources for Latin American Music
Pan American Union
ML120.S7 P35 1940

Music in Latin American Culture: Regional Traditions
Schechter, John, ed.
ML199 .M86 1999

Music in the Hispanic Caribbean : Experiencing Music, Expressing Culture
Moore, Robin.
ML3565 .M66 2010

Music of Latin America & the Caribbean
Brill, Mark
ML199 .B75 2010

Música popular na América Latina : pontos de escuta
ML3475 .M89 2005

Música : Latinoamericana y Caribeña
Gómez, Zoila and Victoria Eli Rodríguez
ML199 .G64 1995

Boletín Música / Casa de las Américas.
ML5 .M7139

Heterofonía
ML5 .H49

Música / Casa de las Américas
ML5 .M7139

Pauta
ML5 .P2

Revista de Música Latinoamericana = Latin American Music Review
ML199 .R48

Ethnomusicology
ML1 .E77

Journal of Popular Culture
AP2 .J8325
(at Richter Library)

Popular Music
ML3469 .P66

Popular Music and Society
ML1 .P69457

• Music Periodicals Database
  Music Database (aka International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text)  indexes journal literature in all areas of music. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 journals.
• Music Index
  The Music Index provides citations to scholarly and popular music journals and magazines, indexing more than 690 international music periodicals. Book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed.
• RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
  RILM Abstracts of Music Literature features content from the early 1800s through the present with some content coverage extending back as far as the late 18th century. Updated monthly, the database includes coverage of relevant articles from thousands of journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music.In addition to journal articles, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature covers a variety of publication and media types including essay collections, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, and technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.
• Browse All Music Databases
  Browse databases with music articles, scores, audio, and video. Most will require login with 'Cane ID and password.
• RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Online Archive

• Dialnet
  Spanish periodical index created by Universidad de Rioja. Covers the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
• Handbook of Latin America Studies
  The multidisciplinary Handbook, edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, is a bibliography of writings in the social sciences and humanities on Latin America selected and annotated by scholars.Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose between 2,000-3,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. The Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities (e.g., humanities are covered in 1990, social sciences in 1991).Over 60% of records contain evaluative annotations. The online version contains preliminary editions of  volumes 57-60 that have not yet been published in print.
• IASPM America Latina
  Latin American branch of the International Association for the Study of Popular Music.
• Red AL y C (Network of Latin American, Caribbean, and Portuguese Journals)
  A database put together by faculty members at the National Autonomous University of Mexico of full text articles from 123 Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities.

• AllMusic.com
  Covering all genres and styles of music, All Music provides in depth details about artists including biographies, album and song reviews, style descriptions, composition descriptions, and AMG ratings and picks.
• Britannica Online Encyclopedia (Public Site)
  
• Google Scholar @ UM
  Search Google Scholar with direct links to University of Miami Library Resources. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. If you are within the UM campus or, if from Scholar Preferences you select the University of Miami Libraries, your Google Scholar results will include direct links to items available at UM.  If this information is in a subscription database, you will be prompted to log in with your CaneID username and password.
• Grove Dictionary of Music online
  This is THE standard music encyclopedia. Check here for definitions. Includes history of music in a particular country. Will include bibliographies at the end of the article.
• Latin American Choral Music
  Created by Suzanne Tiemstra--the author of The Choral Music of Latin America: A Guide to Compositions and Research--this site is "an index, bibliography, discography, and research guide" for research into Latin American choral music. "The index alone contains over 17,000 entries."
• Music and Performing Arts from Alexander Street
  Music and Performing Arts consists of multiple music and performing arts databases, including American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.