Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 9782
visibleTabCount: 6
Chat with us!
Welcome!
Welcome to the Richter Library's Guide to Kinesiology!
Hello all, and welcome to the University of Miami Libraries' Guide to Kinesiology! The purpose of this guide is to help you navigate through the many sports sciences -related resources available to you through the University of Miami Libraries system.
USearch
Sports and Health
e-Journals
- American Journal of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- American Journal of Sports Medicine
- Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
- British Journal of Sports Medicine
- Clinical Biomechanics
- Clinical Journal of Sport Medicine
- Exercise and Sport Sciences Review
- International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism
- International Journal of Sports Medicine Thieme Connect
- Journal of Applied Physiology Free Medical Journals; Highwire Press
- Journal of Science and Medicine in Sport - Elsevier CklinicalKey Journals or Proquest Research Library
- Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology Human Kinetics and SPORTDiscus
- Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research **OVID
- Medicine and Science in Sport and Exercise same OVID
- Sports Medicine Springer
USearch
Databases: Sport Business, Management, Administration
Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.
Indexes international literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology of sports, and related topics. Also covers recreation, games, play, and dance.
Databases: Exercise and Sport Sciences
Indexes international literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology of sports, and related topics. Also covers recreation, games, play, and dance.
Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health.
Cochrane Library
Collection of health databases providing independent evidence to inform clinical treatment decisions and other health related decisions.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a multidisciplinary database that presents statistical data useful for determining the relative importance of journals within 224 predefined subject categories.
MEDLINE (OVID)
Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
PEDro
Physiotherapy Evidence Database of RCT's, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines.
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Scopus covers: Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of: 500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
Databases specializing in sports
The Physician and Sportsmedicine
Peer reviewed, clinically oriented publication for physicians but also useful to other clinical professionals in sport science. (Many articles are in PubMed)
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Indexes international literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology of sports, and related topics. Also covers recreation, games, play, and dance.
Sportscience
A peer reviewed journal and site for various aspects of conducting sport research, e.g., A peer reviewed journal and site for sport research particulary for study design and statistics. In addition to the main section of the home page, be sure to investigate information sources on the left and far right columns.
Sport Statistics - Journals & Publications
From the American Statistical Association.
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database - free database containing over 42,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Also useful for SportScience, Kinesiology, Occupational Therapy, or anything related to musculoskeletal functioning.
Peer reviewed, clinically oriented publication for physicians but also useful to other clinical professionals in sport science. (Many articles are in PubMed)
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Indexes international literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology of sports, and related topics. Also covers recreation, games, play, and dance.
Sportscience
A peer reviewed journal and site for various aspects of conducting sport research, e.g., A peer reviewed journal and site for sport research particulary for study design and statistics. In addition to the main section of the home page, be sure to investigate information sources on the left and far right columns.
Sport Statistics - Journals & Publications
From the American Statistical Association.
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database - free database containing over 42,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Also useful for SportScience, Kinesiology, Occupational Therapy, or anything related to musculoskeletal functioning.
Locating Dissertations
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
Looking for UM Theses & Disserations?
To locate University of Miami PhD Theses and Dissertations:
Go to the catalog's Advanced Search page.
Enter your search term(s)
Under "Material Type", select "UM Theses"
Contact the Department of Special Collections to locate masters theses.
Websites
- Association for Applied Sport Psychology
"Founded in 1986, the Association for Applied Sport Psychology (AASP) promotes the development of science and ethical practice in the field of sport psychology." - from AASP - Harvard Sports Analysis Collective Blog
A student-run organization at Harvard College dedicated to the quantitative analysis of sports strategy and management. - Knight Commission
"The Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics was formed by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation in October 1989 in response to more than a decade of highly visible scandals in college sports. The Commission’s initial goal was to recommend a reform agenda that emphasized academic values in an arena where commercialization of college sports often overshadowed the underlying goals of higher education. Since 1989, the Knight Commission on Intercollegiate Athletics has worked to ensure that intercollegiate athletics programs operate within the educational mission of their colleges and universities." - from the Knight Commission - President's Council on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition
"Through partnerships with the public, private, and non-profit sectors, the President's Council promotes programs and initiatives that motivate people of all ages, backgrounds, and abilities to lead active, healthy lives.The President Council's mission is to engage, educate, and empower all Americans to adopt a healthy lifestyle that includes regular physical activity and good nutrition." - from PCFSN - Stark Center for Physical Culture and Sports
"The H.J. Lutcher Stark Center for Physical Culture and Sports is the permanent home of the world’s most extensive collection of materials on physical culture and sports. This outstanding collection is the result of Dr. Jan and Terry Todd’s determination to identify and preserve the books, journals, ephemera, and artifacts that illustrate the history, development, and current status of physical fitness and self-improvement." - from the Stark Center for Physical Culture and Sports - Women's Sports Foundation
"Founded in 1974 by tennis legend, Billie Jean King, the Women's Sports Foundation is dedicated to advancing the lives of girls and women through sports and physical activity." - from the Women's Sports Foundation
How to Use Class Guides
Course-specific guides have been created for certain classes. Hover over the "Class Guides" tab and select the course you need from the drop-down menu.
A Librarian