University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

KIN 260: Orthopedic Assessment

Richter Library Learning Commons

Need help? Check out the Richter Library's Learning Commons, where all the best resources are available!
 

Peer Research Consultants

Want to talk to someone who can help you find what you need?

Peer Research Consultants can help you with:
  • Developing search strategies
  • Finding scholarly resources
  • Creating and managing citations
  • Facilitating meetings with other experts in the Learning Commons

Peer Research Consultants are located in the Learning Commons on the first floor of Otto G. Richter Library on the Coral Gables campus.

Stop by, book an appointment, or call us at 305-284-4722.

To access research help on all three campuses, check out our Ask a Librarian service.

Welcome to KIN 260!

Welcome to the KIN 260: Orthopedic Assessment Research Guide! This page on the Kinesiology guide is specifically designed to assist with students in KIN 260. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Kinesiology guide for research help.

If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to Ask a Librarian!

Databases

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Indexes international literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology of sports, and related topics. Also covers recreation, games, play, and dance.

PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.

UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource combining broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics. Contains over 77,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text that are written, reviewed and continuously updated by over 5,100 physicians to ensure that the content remains current. The expert faculty synthesizes the most recent medical information in order to provide users with specific, practical, evidence-based recommendations for diagnosis and treatment that have been proven to improve patient care and quality.

Open Access

PEDro
Physiotherapy Evidence Database of RCT's, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines. 

Images and Videos

​​​​​​Blausen Medical
A few ways to navigate images and videos, starting with search box top of the page. Alternate and more targeted: to the top left of page, click on the 3 tiny horizontal lines (hamburger) beside the Bausen name. Topic menu will appear with 4 selections for upper body anatomy: Anatomy and Physiology (use A-Z filter to narrow down search) and Muscular, Orthopedics, and Skeletal (use various Filter by choices for these 3). 

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Now in its 5th edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.