Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 8848
INS Course Guides
UM Links
Core Article Databases for International Studies
START HERE if you are beginning your research:
- ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. - Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. - ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete. - JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles. - PAIS International
PAIS indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics. - Red AL y C (Network of Latin American, Caribbean, and Portuguese Journals)
A database put together by faculty members at the National Autonomous University of Mexico of full text articles from 123 Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes journal articles in political science and related areas(international relations, law, public administration, and public policy).
Important Databases for International Studies
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year. - ELDIS - Development & Environment Information
Eldis is a gateway to global development information on international development issues. It provides free and easy access to materials on developing countries including summaries and links to documents, library catalogues, international development newsfeeds, e-mail discussion lists and resource guides. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. - Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more. - Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada. - Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database is an international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Produced by Brill Academic Publishers, it covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims writing in European languages. The file contains indexing for over 3,400 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. - Index to Jewish Periodicals
Indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988. - Latin American Data Base (LADB): A News and Educational Service
- Military & Government Collection
Provides full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers. - Political Risk Yearbook
Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors. - Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary.In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version.Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference 'shelves' or electronic syllabi. - ProQuest Congressional
Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications. - Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index provides international, cover-to-cover indexing of the most cited journals in social sciences. The databases is searched via the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases service. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. - Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
284-3257
About the collection
The present international studies collection at the Libraries is built upon a donation of two hundred books written by authors of Hispanic origin given to the University by students from Latin America enrolled at UM in 1936.
The University's founding vision was of an international university and the collection has expanded through steady support since1936 with accelerated growth in 1964 when the University dedicated its new Center for Advanced International Studies and again from 1983 through the early 1990s when special funds were provided annually from the University's North-South Center.
The collection supports research and study from the undergraduate to graduate levels in International Studies as well as specific area studies in Africa, the Caribbean, the European Union, Latin America and the Middle East.
Facts, Reports, Working Papers
- World Fact Book: CIA
This CIA database provides information on all countries of the world regarding their governments, economies, communications, transportations ,militaries, transnational matters, etc. - Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Covers journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications from East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. - British Library for Development Studies Database (BLDS)
The BLDS online catalog contains information on monographs and books acquired since 1987; journal articles have been selectively indexed since 1990. - Country Studies
This collection contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series. - CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year. - Cuba On-Line
Cuba On-Line is a full-text, searchable database that contains current economic, demographic, political, historical and business information on Cuba. - EconLit
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a source for references to economic literature dating back to 1969. EconLit provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics. - ELDIS - Development & Environment Information
Eldis is a gateway to global development information on international development issues. It provides free and easy access to materials on developing countries including summaries and links to documents, library catalogues, international development newsfeeds, e-mail discussion lists and resource guides. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. - American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Covers journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications from East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union. - Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada. - Index to Jewish Periodicals
Indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988. - International Monetary Fund (IMF) Publications
Searchable index of IMF working papers, the World Economic Outlook, annual reports, the IMF Survey, Research Bulletin, country reports, and other publications. Most are available in PDF format for online reading or printing. - Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a multidisciplinary database that presents statistical data useful for determining the relative importance of journals within 224 predefined subject categories. - Latin American Data Base (LADB): A News and Educational Service
- Latin Americanist Research Resources Pilot Project
The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project database indexes articles in over 400 social science and humanities journals published in south and central America. The full-text of articles is available via interlibrary loan. The service also includes a Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages. - Military & Government Collection
Provides full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers. - Political Risk Yearbook
Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors. - Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary.In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version.Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference 'shelves' or electronic syllabi. - ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. - Risk Abstracts
Experts define risk as a combination of the magnitude and probability of adverse effects. Risk Abstracts indexes the interdisciplinary journal literature centered on the identification and alleviation of risk in today's world.Published in association with the Institute for Risk Research at the University of Waterloo, Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. The journal includes occasional articles on topics of significant interest. The broad, multidisciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects.This database is a subfile of the Environmental Science and Pollution Management Database. - Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index provides international, cover-to-cover indexing of the most cited journals in social sciences. The databases is searched via the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases service. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. - Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995. - Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
284-3257
News Databases
- Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais. - New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary. - New York Times via ProQuest (1851-2014)
Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to backfiles of the New York Times Newspaper 1851 - 2014. - Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. - Current Digest of the Chinese Press
Weekly digest of articles from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more. - Current Digest of the Russian Press
Weekly digest that presents a selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English, intended for use in teaching and research. - Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 834,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. Extensive indexing, including unique fields such as Article Type and Ethnic Group. - Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico). - Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. - Wall Street Journal via ProQuest (1889-2000)
Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to the Wall Street Journal 1889 - 2000.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
284-3257
Comprehensive Statistical Databases
- Statista
Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest. - OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) iLibrary
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD, IEA, NEA, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and ITF. - IMF eLIBRARY
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators. - World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
Statistics, Public Opinion, Datasets
- EIU Viewpoint (Formerly Economist Intelligence Unit)
In-depth country analysis and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country. Also includes analysis of global automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, and telecommunications industries. This service's Data tool can be used to compare economic data across or within countries. - Global Bilateral Migration Database (World Bank)
Global matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000, disaggregated by gender and based primarily on the foreign-born concept are presented. - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data. - iPOLL
iPOLL's online database contains survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations. iPOLL is a source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935. - NationMaster
Source for statistics derived from CIA World Factbook, OECD, WHO, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO and additional sources. Data presented graphically. - PENN World Table
The Penn World Table is a set of national-accounts data developed and maintained by scholars at the University of Pennsylvania to measure real GDP (per capita) from the corresponding relative price levels across countries and over time. - Polling The Nations
The ultimate resource for polling information is Polling the Nations with more than 400,000 questions including the work of 700 polling organizations. Each question in international, state, local and special polls is listed under one of 4,500 topics.Polling the Nations is the most comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 90 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues. Polling the Nations began in 1981 as a database of American Public Opinion Index. Over the years the database expanded to include surveys from more than 90 other countries in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Africa, and Asia in an electronic format. Polling the Nations has collected more than 500,000 questions from an amazing array of sources. There are 5000 topics in the Polling the Nations database. No other source even approaches this number. The subjects cover myriad issues such as gun control, abortion, government, women, race relations, the economy and children. In addition to these recurring themes, episodic events such as the Clinton impeachment, the 2000 vote count in Florida and the September 11 attacks are added in a timely fashion. - SIPRI: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
International institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public. - UN Data
Simple single-entry point for a variety of statistical resources including those from United Nations Organizations such as FAO, UNESCO, ILO, WHO, UNDP, ITU, UNHCR, and more. - UNHCR Statistical Online Population Database
Provides data and trends on the "Population of concern to UNHCR": refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, internally displaced persons (IDPs) protected/assisted by UNHCR, returned IDPs, stateless persons, and others of concern to UNHCR, in more than 150 countries.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
284-3257
A Librarian