Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690786
visibleTabCount: 6
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Find Resources
Suggested Reading
General Encyclcopedias
Encyclopedias should be used to get more information about a topic. If you are assigned a paper on Peruvian politics, you may want to consult one of the encyclopedias below to get some background information. In encyclopedias you'll usually get a general idea, and that's why they are only a starting point, so that you can get a sense of the big picture and can focus on getting detailed information from a book or an article.
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures
This vast three-volume Encyclopedia offers more than 4000 entries on all aspects of the dynamic and exciting contemporary cultures of Latin America and the Caribbean. Its coverage is from the time-span of 1920 to the present day. Culture is broadly defined to include food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture. - Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art
- Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature 1900-2003
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin Americas 37 countries. - Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater
- France and the Americas : culture, politics, and history : a multidisciplinary encyclopedia
- Germany and the Americas : culture, politics, and history : a multidisciplinary encyclopedia
Dictionaries
Dictionaries are different from encyclopedias in that they'll rarely provide context for their entry. You can use a dictionary for basic facts and definitions, but it shouldn't be your only resource. Use a dictionary instead to obtain facts, dates, etc. about a particular event or figure that you can use to build your argument.
- Historical Dictionary of U.S. - Latin American Relations
- A Reference Guide to Latin American History
- Dictionary of Latin American Racial and Ethnic Terminology
- English/Spanish Dictionary
Online dictionary from the Universidad de Granada, some translations come with a sentence to view the word in context.
USearch (Library Catalog)
How to ...FindIt @ UM
You'll find the orange Find It at UM button in our index and abstract databases.
Because these databases are rarely full-text, you'll need to click on the button to access the article you are looking for.
In the event that there is not an online, full-text version of the article available, the best thing is to do a Title search (using the name of the journal) in the Ibisweb Classic tab.
Once you've located the journal, you can find the necessary volume and issue by reading the citation.
Latin American and Caribbean Studies Databases
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
The HAPI database indexes information about Latin America and Hispanic Americans in the United States.
Red AL y C (Network of Latin American, Caribbean, and Portuguese Journals)
A database put together by faculty members at the National Autonomous University of Mexico of full text articles from 123 Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Latest Issue of HAHR
Latest Issues of LARR
Latest Issue of Latin American Politics & Society
NYT: Americas
News Databases
LADB (Latin America Digital Beat)
LADB at the University of New Mexico offers access to a variety of resources for Latin American researchers.
Resources include: an online searchable archive of over 24,000 news articles on politics, economics, human rights, the environment, drugs, guerillas, military and other stories; --- back issues of Latin American economic journals in Spanish; --- access to three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). The back issues of the journals make up the database.
Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
Statistics
EIU Viewpoint (Formerly Economist Intelligence Unit)
In-depth country analysis and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country. Also includes analysis of global automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, and telecommunications industries. This service's Data tool can be used to compare economic data across or within countries.
Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
Quantitative Data
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data.
The University of Miami is one of over 500 member colleges and universities, and UM faculty and students can download data and documentation for their own research and instructional purposes.
Polls and Public Opinion
Latin American Public Opinion Project
LAPOP surveys analyze citizen views on system support, political tolerance, citizen participation, local government, corruption, and views on authoritarianism.
Discussion Networks
Newspapers
Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
Journals & Serials
UM Special Collections
Digital Collections/ E-Resources
Freedom in the Black Diaspora: A Resource Guide for Ayiti Reimagined - Library of Congress
Foreign Relations of the United States
Iberia, the Caribbean, and Latin America: Portals to the World (Library of Congress)
Historicizing the Living Past in Latin America
{Internet Resources for Latin America - New Mexico State University}
A Librarian