University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

INS 542 Drug Trafficking in the Americas

Suggested Keywords

  • cartels
  • organized crime
  • drug traffic
  • drug trafficking
  • drug policy
  • drug cartels
  • drug control
  • drug legalization
  • drug name (cocaine, heroin, speed, etc.)
  • drug smuggling
  • drug abuse
  • illegal drugs
  • illicit drugs
  • narco-terrorism
  • narcotics
  • drug smuggling
  • drug war
  • war on drugs

Drug Trafficking in Mexico

Article and Report Databases

  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Red AL y C (Network of Latin American, Caribbean, and Portuguese Journals)
    A database put together by faculty members at the National Autonomous University of Mexico of full text articles from 123 Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities.
  • Dialnet
    Spanish periodical index created by Universidad de Rioja. Covers the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
  • Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
    The HAPI database indexes information about Latin America and Hispanic Americans in the United States.
  • HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies
    Bibliography of writings in the social sciences and humanities on Latin America, selected and annotated by scholars.
  • ProQuest Congressional
    Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications.

Primary Sources (Including Government Sources)

News and Current Events

  • Access World News
    Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
  • Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
    A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
  • Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
    Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.

Subject Specialist

Online Resources for Drug Trafficking