Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690240
visibleTabCount: 1
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Hong Kong
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. We try to collect titles that will describe what life is like for the citizens rather than just the tourists. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
A sample of what we have includes:
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: Xianggang Tebie Xingzhengqu (Chinese); Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (English)
National language: Chinese and English
Cantonese Chinese is the most common.
Major religion:Buddhism and Daoism
Log on here!
Hong Kong (Lonely Planet)
Hong Kong (Fodor's; ebook)
Living abroad in China including Hong Kong and Macau (Moon)
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Chongqing Sen Lin = Chungking Express
Mou gaan dou = Infernal Affairs
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Access World News
These include the Hong Kong editon of China Daily
as well as other sources.
More UM Study Abroad Resources
USearch
Tips for using USearch
There are many different kinds of materials described on this page. To see all that the library has to offer for a specific category, use the USearch box above.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
More Information About Hong Kong
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Hong Kong
Films About Your Country
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. We try to collect titles that will describe what life is like for the citizens rather than just the tourists. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
A sample of what we have includes:
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Hong Kong
This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in Hong Kong.
Quick Facts
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: Xianggang Tebie Xingzhengqu (Chinese); Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (English)
National language: Chinese and English
Cantonese Chinese is the most common.
Major religion:Buddhism and Daoism
Language Help
- Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
- 72 languages are available, including Cantonese and Mandarin Chinese
- Watch movies with subtitles
- Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)
Log on here!
Suggested Readings
Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.
East and West: China, Power, and the Future of Asia by Chris Patten
Ghetto at the Centre of the World: Chunking Mansions, Hong Kong by Gordon Mathews
Kowloon Tong by Paul Theroux
East and West: China, Power, and the Future of Asia by Chris Patten
Ghetto at the Centre of the World: Chunking Mansions, Hong Kong by Gordon Mathews
Kowloon Tong by Paul Theroux
Travel Guides
- Plan your free time!
- Large collection in the Richter Library
- These can be borrowed
Hong Kong (Lonely Planet)
Hong Kong (Fodor's; ebook)
Living abroad in China including Hong Kong and Macau (Moon)
Your libraries are here to help!
Even when you are abroad, there are librarians available to help you and library materials that you can use.
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Hong Kong, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Hong Kong, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Watch a Movie!
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Chongqing Sen Lin = Chungking Express
Mou gaan dou = Infernal Affairs
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Newspapers
Inform yourself on current topics!
Databases with newspapers from Hong Kong
Databases with newspapers from Hong Kong
Lexis Nexis Academic
Access World News
These include the Hong Kong editon of China Daily
as well as other sources.
A Librarian