Graphic Novels, Comics and Manga subjectId: 33543

• Alice in Borderland - ​PN6790.J33 A8613 2011  
• Batman the Imposter - PN6728.B36 T667 2022  
• Captain America : Truth - PN6728.C35 M669 2021
• Jujutsu Kaisen - PN6790.J33 A49513 2019  
• Made in Korea - PN6728.M332 H65 2022  
• Mashle: Magic and Muscles - PN6790.J34 M3932513 2021 
• The Oracle Code - PZ7.7.N54 Or 2020  
• Tomie - PN6790.J33 I86813 2016  

Grapic Novels and Manga are available in Richter Library, 1st floor for 30 day check-out.  

Find graphic novels by searching the Library Catalog and then narrowing down your search under Location to Graphic Novels.

 

1. Search the library catalog

2. In the search results, limit your search by Location>Graphic Novels.

Suggest a Purchase - we'd love to her what you are interested in reading. 

In this guide you will find resources to help you learn more about the genre, the authors, artists, and so forth. This page focuses on sources that give background information and literary criticisms of the genre as opposed to reading the novels themselves.

• ImageText
  "ImageTexT is a peer-reviewed, open access journal dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of comics and related media." - website
• Image & Narrative
  "Image & Narrative is a peer-reviewed e-journal on visual narratology in the broadest sense of the term. Beside tackling theoretical issues, it is a platform for reviews of real life examples." - website
• Comics Grid
  A collaborative, open peer-reviewed online academic journal dedicated to comics scholarship.
• MLA International Bibliography
  The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
• JSTOR
  JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.

• Publisher's Weekly
• No Flying No Tights

Here you will find resources to help you learn more about the genre, the authors, artists and so forth.  This page focuses on sources that give background information and literary criticisms of the genre as opposed to reading the novels themselves.

For dozens more research books on the topic of graphic novels and manga you can do a subject search in the library catalog with the following terms:

• Comic books, strips, etc. -- History and criticism
• Graphic novels -- History and criticism
• Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States -- History And Criticism
• Comic books, strips, etc. -- Japan -- History and Criticism

• ComicsAlliance
  Wide-ranging comics news and review site with forays into humor and analysis of the state of the field. Home to noted Batmanologist Chris Simms.
• Beat
  News and reviews with strong coverage of the comics business.
• Comic Book Resources
  Standard coverage supplemented by weekly chats with the Editors-in-Chief of the big two publishers

• Eisner Awards
  Awards or Graphic Novels given out at Comicon International Convention.
• Bill Finger Awards
  The Bill Finger awards recognize writers for a body of work that has not received its rightful reward and/or recognition.
• Shogakukan Awards
  Manga awards given out yearly by Shogakukan Publishing. Official page is Japanese. The link leads to the wikipedia page.
• Kodansha Awards
  Manga awards given out yearly in Japan. Official page is in Japanese. The link is to the wikipedia page.
• International Manga Awards

• Comic Book Legal Defense Fund
  "The Comic Book Legal Defense Fund was founded in 1986 as a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of First Amendment rights for members of the comics community." - website
• Comic Book Movies
  "Comic Book Movies is the web's best fansite devoted to breaking news about movies adapted from comic books& graphic novels." - website
• Marvel Wikia
  Marvel Comics Database. Use with care as there have been major recent shifts in continuity.
• Grand Comics Database
  Over 400,000 comics indexed with covers and story and creator information.
• Comic Chronicles
  A resource for comics sales figures both current and historical.

• Webcomic List
  over 13,000 comics listed by subject.
• List of Webcomics
  from Wikipedia

Caroline and Erwin Swann Collection of Caricature and Cartoon at the Library of Congress
Billy Ireland Cartoon Library and Museum at Ohio State University
Suzy Covey Comic Book Collection at the University of Florida
Moore Collection, Underground Comix
Cartoons & Comics at the Library of Congress
Comic Art Collection at Michigan State University

• Dinosaur Comics
  Otherwise known as "Qwantz", by Ryan North.
• Girl Genius
  by Phil and Kaja Foglio. It's about a girl mad scientist rising to prominence in a steampunk alternate Europe.
• MegaTokyo
  by Fred Gallagher and Rodney Caston.
• Questionable Content
  by Jeph Jacques.The art has grown increasingly accomplished over the years. Not getting any funnier though.
• xkcd
  by Randall Munroe. ""a webcomic of romance, sarcasm, math, and language."" - Munroe.
• Order of the Stick
  from Giant in the Playground
• Penny Arcade
  by Gabe and TychoA strip about video game, internet and nerd culture that is frequently incomprehensible without reference the accompanying blog entries.

• Comic Book Plus
  The premier site to read and download Golden and Silver Age comic books. Plus, they also hold a large and growing selection of comic strips and pulp fiction.
• Digital Comic Museum
  Source for downloadable out-of-copyright golden age comics.

• Adriano Olivetti : un secolo troppo presto / PN6767.P385 A37 2011
• Campana / PN6767.L58 C36 2011
• Colombo! : tragedia di un bighellone / PN6767.A48 C64 2009
• Hanno ritrovato la macchina / PN6767.G56 H25 2006
• I nostri antenati : tre biografie non autorizzate / PN6767.A48 N67 2009
• La quarta necessità / PQ4867.I146 Q37 2011
• Majakovskij / PN6767.E34 M35 2012
• Sweet Salgari / PN6767.B23 S94 2012
• Superzelda : la vita disegnata di Zelda Fitzgerald / PN6767.L55 S87 2011

• Alain Possible : sans faute! / PN6790.H24 A437 2019
• Alain Possible, ça va chauffer! / PN6790.H24 A4352
• Auschwitz : une bande dessinée / PN6747.C74 A94 2006
• L'ascension du haut mal / PN6747.B22 A83 2011
• L'enfant qui venait d'un livre : romanga / PQ2663.A8473 E54 2011
• La maison de pain d'épice : journal d'un disque / PN6745.B67 M35 2011
• Ombres : intégrale / PN6747.D86 O43 2013
• Tante Yvonne et les cagoulards = matant Yvonne ak nèg maske yo / PN6790.H23 T36 2019

• As cobras & outros bichos, inclusive o homem / PN6790.B73 V47 1977