Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690195
visibleTabCount: 1
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Germany
Berlin
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY GERMANY in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
Pina: Dance, Dance, Otherwise We Are Lost
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: Bundesrepublik Deutschland (Federal Republic of Germany)
Capital city: Berlin
National language: German
Major religion: Protestant Christian
Log on here!
Fodor's Germany
Berlin (Lonely Planet)
Living & Working in Germany
Time to Travel-Travel in Time to Germany's Finest Stately Homes, Gardens, Castles, Abbeys and Roman Remains
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country. We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Das Leben der Anderen
Nirgendwo in Afrika Toni Erdmann
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
More UM Study Abroad Resources
USearch
Tips for using USearch
There are many different kinds of materials described on this page. To see all that the library has to offer for a specific category, use the USearch box above.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
More Information About Germany and Its Cities
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.
Germany
Berlin
Films About Your Country
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY GERMANY in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
Pina: Dance, Dance, Otherwise We Are Lost
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Germany
This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in Germany.
Quick Facts
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: Bundesrepublik Deutschland (Federal Republic of Germany)
Capital city: Berlin
National language: German
Major religion: Protestant Christian
Language Help
- Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
- 72 languages are available, including German
- Watch movies with subtitles
- Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)
Log on here!
Suggested Readings
Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.
1632 by Eric Flint
Book of Clouds by Chloe Aridjis
Floating in My Mother's Palm by Ursula Hegi
Ghost Dance in Berlin by Peter Wortsman (Online)
March Violets by Philip Kerr
Night by Elie Wiesel
Stasiland: Stories From Behind the Berlin Wall by Anna Funder
1632 by Eric Flint
Book of Clouds by Chloe Aridjis
Floating in My Mother's Palm by Ursula Hegi
Ghost Dance in Berlin by Peter Wortsman (Online)
March Violets by Philip Kerr
Night by Elie Wiesel
Stasiland: Stories From Behind the Berlin Wall by Anna Funder
Travel Guides
- Plan your free time!
- Large collection in the Richter Library
- These can be borrowed
Fodor's Germany
Berlin (Lonely Planet)
Living & Working in Germany
Time to Travel-Travel in Time to Germany's Finest Stately Homes, Gardens, Castles, Abbeys and Roman Remains
Your libraries are here to help!
Even when you are abroad, there are librarians available to help you and library materials that you can use.
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Germany, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Germany, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Watch a Movie!
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country. We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Der Baader-Meinhof Komplex
Backbeat
Cabaret
Downfall
Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei! = The edukators
Gegen die Wand = Head-on
Good Bye Lenin!
Backbeat
Cabaret
Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei! = The edukators
Gegen die Wand = Head-on
Good Bye Lenin!
Das Leben der Anderen
Nirgendwo in Afrika Toni Erdmann
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Newspapers
Inform yourself on current topics!
Databases with newspapers from Germany
Databases with newspapers from Germany
A Librarian