Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690564
visibleTabCount: 5
Table of Contents
Introduction
This guide provides a collection of library resources, databases, archival materials, and digital sources relating to genocidal violence and the global history of genocide.
Sources for Writing History Papers General Citation Sources
Sources for Writing History Papers General Citation Sources
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
UM-Distinctive Collection
Palakʻean, Grigoris, et al. Armenian Golgotha: A Memoir of the Armenian Genocide, 1915-1918. First Vintage Books ed., Vintage Books, 2010.
Tone, John Lawrence. Guerra y Genocidio En Cuba, 1895-1898. 1. edición en castellano. ed., Turner, 2008.
Feigenbaum, Joel H. How Puppet Masters Create Genocide: A Study in the State-Sponsored Killings in Rwanda and Cambodia, 2012, .
Iglesias, Elizabeth M. When Impunity and Corruption Embrace: How the Past Becomes the Future in the Struggle Against Torture and Genocide, 2018.
Koosed, Daniel. The Paradox of Impartiality: A Critical Defense of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, 2012.
Tone, John Lawrence. Guerra y Genocidio En Cuba, 1895-1898. 1. edición en castellano. ed., Turner, 2008.
Feigenbaum, Joel H. How Puppet Masters Create Genocide: A Study in the State-Sponsored Killings in Rwanda and Cambodia, 2012, .
Iglesias, Elizabeth M. When Impunity and Corruption Embrace: How the Past Becomes the Future in the Struggle Against Torture and Genocide, 2018.
Koosed, Daniel. The Paradox of Impartiality: A Critical Defense of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, 2012.
Select Databases
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary full-text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Columbia International Affairs Online
Contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
A comprehensive reference work in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
Columbia International Affairs Online
Contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
Gale General OneFile
This database is useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
A comprehensive reference work in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
A multi-disciplinary full-text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Columbia International Affairs Online
Contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
HathiTrust
Offers millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
A comprehensive reference work in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
Columbia International Affairs Online
Contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
Gale General OneFile
This database is useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
A comprehensive reference work in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes a wide range of social science journals and periodicals with full-text coverage beginning in January 1995.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Select Ebooks
Richmond, Walter, and Ebooks Corporation. The Circassian Genocide. Rutgers University Press, 2013.
Schabas, William. Genocide in International Law: The Crime of Crimes. 2nd ed., Cambridge University Press, 2009.
Weitz, Eric D, and Weitz, Eric D. A Century of Genocide. Princeton University Press, 2003.
Mojzes, Paul. Balkan Genocides. The Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group, 2011.
Gellately, Robert, and Kiernan, Ben. The Specter of Genocide: Mass Murder in Historical Perspectives. Cambridge University Press, 2003.
Bloxham, Donald. The Great Game of Genocide. Oxford University Press, 2005.
Schabas, William. Genocide in International Law: The Crime of Crimes. 2nd ed., Cambridge University Press, 2009.
Weitz, Eric D, and Weitz, Eric D. A Century of Genocide. Princeton University Press, 2003.
Mojzes, Paul. Balkan Genocides. The Rowman & Littlefield Publishing Group, 2011.
Gellately, Robert, and Kiernan, Ben. The Specter of Genocide: Mass Murder in Historical Perspectives. Cambridge University Press, 2003.
Bloxham, Donald. The Great Game of Genocide. Oxford University Press, 2005.
Select Print Books
Primary Sources
Testaments to the Holocaust (DFG Nationallizenzen)
Searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, photographs, propaganda materials, publications, and serials in a flexible format. For research into the domestic policies of Nazi Germany, Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war.
Armenia National Institute
Presents photographs, official documents, digital exhibits dedicated to the study of the Armenian Genocide.
Mapping the Herero and Nama Genocide 1904-1907
An ArcGis story map detailing the genocide in current day Namibia.
Genocide Archive of Rwanda
Presents a digital collection of items related to the 1994 Rwandan Genocide against the Tutsi, pre-genocide history as well as post-genocide reconstruction processes.
Gacaca Community Justice
Archives Rwanda’s traditional Gacaca courts with millions of criminal cases that arose following the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi. In total, 1,958,634 genocide-related cases were tried through Gacaca. The courts are credited with laying the foundation for peace, reconciliation, and unity in Rwanda.
Remembering Srebrenica
Oral histories and survivor stories of the ethnic cleansing that took place in July 1995 in Srebrenica.
Gratz College Holocaust Oral History Archive collection
Includes interviews produced by Gratz College; interviews from Project Kabed produced by Jerry M. Freimark; and interviews from the American Gathering of Holocaust Survivors, Philadelphia, PA, 1985.
Henry Morgenthau, Jr. Holocaust Collections and War Refugee Board
Details the Morgenthau diaries and press conferences and War Refugee Board documents available through the FDR Library’s virtual research room and digital repository.
Searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, photographs, propaganda materials, publications, and serials in a flexible format. For research into the domestic policies of Nazi Germany, Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war.
Armenia National Institute
Presents photographs, official documents, digital exhibits dedicated to the study of the Armenian Genocide.
Mapping the Herero and Nama Genocide 1904-1907
An ArcGis story map detailing the genocide in current day Namibia.
Genocide Archive of Rwanda
Presents a digital collection of items related to the 1994 Rwandan Genocide against the Tutsi, pre-genocide history as well as post-genocide reconstruction processes.
Gacaca Community Justice
Archives Rwanda’s traditional Gacaca courts with millions of criminal cases that arose following the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi. In total, 1,958,634 genocide-related cases were tried through Gacaca. The courts are credited with laying the foundation for peace, reconciliation, and unity in Rwanda.
Remembering Srebrenica
Oral histories and survivor stories of the ethnic cleansing that took place in July 1995 in Srebrenica.
Gratz College Holocaust Oral History Archive collection
Includes interviews produced by Gratz College; interviews from Project Kabed produced by Jerry M. Freimark; and interviews from the American Gathering of Holocaust Survivors, Philadelphia, PA, 1985.
Henry Morgenthau, Jr. Holocaust Collections and War Refugee Board
Details the Morgenthau diaries and press conferences and War Refugee Board documents available through the FDR Library’s virtual research room and digital repository.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
Select Films
Taylor, Elizabeth, et al. Genocide. Koch Entertainment, 2004.
Library of Congress Films on Genocide.
Genocide and Me: Testimony from Maria Girouard, 2015.
Emery, Robert J., et al. Genocide: The Horror Continues. Films for the Humanities and Sciences, 2002.
Yates, Pamela, et al. Dictator in the Dock: The Genocide Trial of Efraín Ríos Montt: A Short Film Series. New Day Films, 2013.
Cambodia: Children of Genocide. Chip Taylor Communications, 2003.
Library of Congress Films on Genocide.
Genocide and Me: Testimony from Maria Girouard, 2015.
Emery, Robert J., et al. Genocide: The Horror Continues. Films for the Humanities and Sciences, 2002.
Yates, Pamela, et al. Dictator in the Dock: The Genocide Trial of Efraín Ríos Montt: A Short Film Series. New Day Films, 2013.
Cambodia: Children of Genocide. Chip Taylor Communications, 2003.
Subject Specialist
-
Adrian Legaspi
History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
305-284-3257
A Librarian