University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

First Year Directions: Education

Richter Library Learning Commons

Need help? Check out the Richter Library's Learning Commons, where all the best resources are available!
 
 

Peer Research Consultants

Want to talk to someone who can help you find what you need?

Peer Research Consultants can help you with:
  • Developing search strategies
  • Finding scholarly resources
  • Creating and managing citations
  • Facilitating meetings with other experts in the Learning Commons

Peer Research Consultants are located in the Learning Commons on the first floor of Otto G. Richter Library on the Coral Gables campus.

Stop by, book an appointment, or call us at 305-284-4722.

To access research help on all three campuses, check out our Ask a Librarian service.

Welcome to the University of Miami!

Welcome to the First Year Seminar: Education Research Guide! This page on the Education guide is specifically designed to assist with students in the First Year Seminar: Education course. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Education guide for research help.

If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to Ask a Librarian!

Search the Catalog

Search uSearch

Databases

  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.5 million records and links to more than 336,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.

What is Scholarly Research?

Why it's important to use the right keywords!

What is Peer Review?