Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690419
visibleTabCount: 7
Image: Detail from cover of Alexa B. Antopol's Barnard Zine Library (maga)zine (2008), from the Zine Collection, University of Miami Libraries Special Collections. Visit UML's Digital Collections for more historic and archival materials.
Image: Etching by Laurence L. Donovan. Jr. (1927–2001), from the cover of The Carrell: Journal of the Friends of the University of Miami Library, Vol. 23, 1985. Donovan, a poet and artist, taught English at University of Miami from the 1950s through the 1980s. Visit UML's Digital Collections for more historic and archival materials.
Welcome to the PETAL Resource Guide
The Platform for Excellence in Teaching And Learning (PETAL), a University of Miami Roadmap to Our New Century initiative. PETAL facilitates institutional excellence in teaching and educational development and innovation through programs designed to assist faculty in becoming excellent teachers. This curated guide highlights pedagogical resources available in UML's collections and through other leading higher education sources.
Subject Specialists
Online Resources for Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the leader in higher education journalism, providing readers with real-time news, valuable insights, and the tools, opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in the world of higher education.
The New York Times (Digital Edition)
Visit the link above, sign in with your Cane ID and password, and register for access to NYTimes.com and NYT Apps.
Inside Higher Ed
Inside Higher Ed is a leading online publication covering all aspects of the higher education landscape since 2004.
<b>Chronicle of Higher Education Advice Guides</b>
- How to Create a Syllabus
- How to Teach a Good First Day of Class
- How to Make Your Teaching More Engaging
- How to Hold a Better Class Discussion
- How to Make Your Teaching More Inclusive
- How to Be a Better Online Teacher
- Should You Add an AI Policy to Your Syllabus?
- 5 Ways to Ease Students Off the Lecture and Into Active Learning
Available through uSearch
Pallas, Aaron M., Anna Neumann, and ProQuest. Convergent Teaching: Tools to Spark Deeper Learning in College. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins UP, 2019. Online.
Eyler, Joshua, and ProQuest. How Humans Learn : The Science and Stories behind Effective College Teaching. First ed. Morgantown: West Virginia UP, 2018. Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (West Virginia University Press). Online.
Eyler, Joshua, and ProQuest. How Humans Learn : The Science and Stories behind Effective College Teaching. First ed. Morgantown: West Virginia UP, 2018. Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (West Virginia University Press). Online.
Image: Etching by Richard L. Merrick (1903-1986), from the cover of The Carrell: Journal of the Friends of the University of Miami Library, Vol. 3, No. 1, June 1962. Merrick taught Art at University of Miami from the 1930s through the 1960s. Visit UML's Digital Collections for more historic and archival materials.
<b>Teaching Practices</b>
- Cheating Lessons: Learning from Academic Dishonesty
- Convergent Teaching: Tools to Spark Deeper Learning in College
- Flipped Learning: A Guide for Higher Education Faculty
- Intentional Tech: Principles to Guide the Use of Educational Technology in College Teaching
- Small Teaching: Everyday Lessons from the Science of Learning
- What the Best College Teachers Do
<b>Books on Course Design</b>
Articles of Interest
Fixing the Courses Everyone Loves to Hate, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Effective teaching of large enrollment courses
Required Pedagogy, Inside Higher Education
• How graduate students learn to teach
Reinventing the Curriculum to Provide Students with a Meaningful Education, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Project-based learning
Three Critical Conversations Started and Sustained by Flipped Learning, Faculty Focus
• Responding to student concerns about flipped learning
Students need restorative skills ‘as much as they need math and science,’ Indianapolis educators say, Chalkbeat Indiana
• Restorative justice for conflict resolution
Are You Teaching Content, or Just Covering Material? The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Rethinking content for deeper learning
• Effective teaching of large enrollment courses
Required Pedagogy, Inside Higher Education
• How graduate students learn to teach
Reinventing the Curriculum to Provide Students with a Meaningful Education, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Project-based learning
Three Critical Conversations Started and Sustained by Flipped Learning, Faculty Focus
• Responding to student concerns about flipped learning
Students need restorative skills ‘as much as they need math and science,’ Indianapolis educators say, Chalkbeat Indiana
• Restorative justice for conflict resolution
Are You Teaching Content, or Just Covering Material? The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Rethinking content for deeper learning
<b>Books on Belonging and Inclusion</b>
- Becoming a Critically Reflective Teacher
- Inclusive Teaching: Strategies for Promoting Equity in the College Classroom
- Norton Guide to Equity-Minded Teaching
- Promoting Inclusive Classroom Dynamics in Higher Education: A Research-Based Pedagogical Guide for Faculty
- Reach Everyone, Teach Everyone: Universal Design for Learning in Higher Education
- So you Want to Talk About Race?
- Teaching to Transgress: Education as the Practice of Freedom
- Ungrading: Why Rating Students Undermines Learning (and What to Do Instead)
- What Inclusive Instructors Do: Principles and Practices for Excellence in College Teaching
Image: Drawing by Lydia Cabrera (1899-1991), from the Lydia Cabrera Papers, University of Miami Cuban Heritage Collection. Cabrera was a writer and ethnographer focused on 20th century Cuban folklore and Afro-Cuban culture and religion. Visit UML's Digital Collections for more historic and archival materials.
Available through uSearch
Articles of Interest
A Gen Z Guide to Inclusivity, Inside Higher Ed
• Interviews with undergraduate students on inclusivity
Resources on Inclusive and Anti-Racist Teaching, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Strategies from "Teaching" newsletter
Building Inclusive Virtual Classrooms, Harvard Business Publishing: Education
• "4Cs model" for building classroom diversity and inclusion
How to Lead Uncomfortable Class Discussions, Harvard Business Publishing: Education
• Strategies for classroom discussions
• Interviews with undergraduate students on inclusivity
Resources on Inclusive and Anti-Racist Teaching, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Strategies from "Teaching" newsletter
Building Inclusive Virtual Classrooms, Harvard Business Publishing: Education
• "4Cs model" for building classroom diversity and inclusion
How to Lead Uncomfortable Class Discussions, Harvard Business Publishing: Education
• Strategies for classroom discussions
Related Library Resource Guides
University of Miami Resources
Faculty Guide to Major Course Assessments
• Guide developed by Learning Innovation and Faculty Engagement at UM
• Guide developed by Learning Innovation and Faculty Engagement at UM
Articles of Interest
How Should Colleges Use Course Evaluations in a Pandemic?, The Chronicle of Higher Education Teaching Newsletter
• Reflections on pandemic-era assessments
How to Give Your Students Better Feedback With Technology, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Advice Guide
What Millions of Course Evaluations Tell Us About How Students See Their Professors, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Gender and racial bias in student evaluations
• Reflections on pandemic-era assessments
How to Give Your Students Better Feedback With Technology, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Advice Guide
What Millions of Course Evaluations Tell Us About How Students See Their Professors, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Gender and racial bias in student evaluations
Available through uSearch
Sambell, Kay, Sally Brown, Linda Graham, and ProQuest. Professionalism in Practice: Key Directions in Higher Education Learning, Teaching and Assessment. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017. Online.
Available through uSearch
Articles of Interest
Online Instructional Activities Index, University of Illinois–Springfield
• Resources for online course activities in 50 categories
Creating Online Learning Communities, Times Higher Education
• Variety of essays on building a sense of community at a distance
5 Tips for Delivering Better Hyflex Teaching Classes, Kaltura
• Ideas for combined in-person/remote class sessions
How to Overcome Classroom Zoom Fatigue, Inside Higher Ed
• Ideas for synchronous remote engagement
What One Department Learned About Making Online Teaching Work, Chronicle of Higher Education
• Lessons from a Math department's semester of online teaching
Seeking Human Connections When All We’ve Got Are Virtual Ones, Harvard Business Publishing
• Helping students with disruptions from a distance
Planning a Great Online Class Through Roundabout Design, Faculty Focus
• Strategies for developing online courses
• Resources for online course activities in 50 categories
Creating Online Learning Communities, Times Higher Education
• Variety of essays on building a sense of community at a distance
5 Tips for Delivering Better Hyflex Teaching Classes, Kaltura
• Ideas for combined in-person/remote class sessions
How to Overcome Classroom Zoom Fatigue, Inside Higher Ed
• Ideas for synchronous remote engagement
What One Department Learned About Making Online Teaching Work, Chronicle of Higher Education
• Lessons from a Math department's semester of online teaching
Seeking Human Connections When All We’ve Got Are Virtual Ones, Harvard Business Publishing
• Helping students with disruptions from a distance
Planning a Great Online Class Through Roundabout Design, Faculty Focus
• Strategies for developing online courses
Pandemic Teaching Articles, Resources
After the Pandemic, What Innovations Are Worth Keeping?, Chronicle of Higher Education
• Recommendations for grading, building connections, student support, and virtual outreach
How to Help Students Feel a Sense of Belonging During the Pandemic, Greater Good Magazine
• Keeping students connected in times of stress
How to Play in the College Classroom in a Pandemic, and Why You Should, Chronicle of Higher Education
• Strategies for student engagement
8 Ways to Be More Inclusive in Your Zoom Teaching, Chronicle of Higher Education
• Strategies for student engagement
Why You Should Ignore All That Coronavirus-Inspired Productivity Pressure, Chronicle of Higher Education
• Work-life balance during the pandemic
Your Suddenly Online Class Could Actually Be a Relief, Inside Higher Ed
• Reorienting classroom community during crisis
Resources for Online Meetings, Classes, and Events, Californians for the Arts
• Guide developed in March, 2020, during initial COVID-19 shift to remote work
Thoughts & Resources for Those About to Start Teaching Online Due to COVID-19, HASTAC
• Collection of pandemic-related teaching resources developed in March, 2020
• Recommendations for grading, building connections, student support, and virtual outreach
How to Help Students Feel a Sense of Belonging During the Pandemic, Greater Good Magazine
• Keeping students connected in times of stress
How to Play in the College Classroom in a Pandemic, and Why You Should, Chronicle of Higher Education
• Strategies for student engagement
8 Ways to Be More Inclusive in Your Zoom Teaching, Chronicle of Higher Education
• Strategies for student engagement
Why You Should Ignore All That Coronavirus-Inspired Productivity Pressure, Chronicle of Higher Education
• Work-life balance during the pandemic
Your Suddenly Online Class Could Actually Be a Relief, Inside Higher Ed
• Reorienting classroom community during crisis
Resources for Online Meetings, Classes, and Events, Californians for the Arts
• Guide developed in March, 2020, during initial COVID-19 shift to remote work
Thoughts & Resources for Those About to Start Teaching Online Due to COVID-19, HASTAC
• Collection of pandemic-related teaching resources developed in March, 2020
Image: Photograph of Julio García-Gómez with students from Colombia, 1977, from the Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science Library Special Collections (UML). García-Gómez taught at RSMAS during the 1970s and 1980s. Visit UML's Digital Collections for more historic and archival materials.
<b>Books on the Psychology of Learning</b>
- Distracted: Why Students Can't Focus and What You Can Do About It
- How Learning Works: Seven Research-Based Principles for Smart Teaching
- Mindset: The New Psychology of Success
- Teach Students How to Learn: Strategies You Can Incorporate into Any Course to Improve Student Metacognition, Study Skills, and Motivation
- The Spark of Learning: Energizing the College Classroom with the Science of Emotion
Articles of Interest: Supportive Practices
The Power of Telling Students Why, Chronicle of Higher Education
• Ways to balance empathy with course expectations
How to Talk with Your Students About Crises, Harvard Business Publishing
• Strategies for engaging with students after challenging events
Why Teaching Through Crisis Requires a Radical New Mindset, Harvard Business Publishing
• Discussion of "flux pedagogy"
4 Self-Care Strategies to Support Students, Harvard Business Publishing
• Considering wellbeing in the classroom
• Ways to balance empathy with course expectations
How to Talk with Your Students About Crises, Harvard Business Publishing
• Strategies for engaging with students after challenging events
Why Teaching Through Crisis Requires a Radical New Mindset, Harvard Business Publishing
• Discussion of "flux pedagogy"
4 Self-Care Strategies to Support Students, Harvard Business Publishing
• Considering wellbeing in the classroom
Available through uSearch
Lang, James and EBSCOhost. Distracted: Why Students Can't Focus and What You Can Do About It. New York, NY: Basic Books, Hachette Book Group, 2020. Online.
Articles of Interest
A Checklist for Building Community in the College Classroom, Faculty Focus
• Eight ideas for connecting with students
How to Make Your Teaching More Engaging Advice Guide, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Rationale and suggestions for connecting with students
Distracted Minds series, The Chronicle of Higher Education
Why You Should Teach Like a Poet
The Role of Tempo in Good Teaching
• Essays on student engagment
‘The Most Important Form of Public Outreach That We Can Do in Higher Ed Is Teaching,’ The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Teaching and student engagement
A Healthy Reminder to Educators During School Closures, Teaching Tolerance
• Connecting with students during the pandemic
Leading Our Classes Through Times of Crisis with Engagement and PEACE, Faculty Focus
• Advice for engaging students under adversity
Some Good News on Engagement, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Results on the National Survey of Student Engagement
The College Dropout Crisis, The New York Times
• Opinion on college graduate rates
• Eight ideas for connecting with students
How to Make Your Teaching More Engaging Advice Guide, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Rationale and suggestions for connecting with students
Distracted Minds series, The Chronicle of Higher Education
Why You Should Teach Like a Poet
The Role of Tempo in Good Teaching
• Essays on student engagment
‘The Most Important Form of Public Outreach That We Can Do in Higher Ed Is Teaching,’ The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Teaching and student engagement
A Healthy Reminder to Educators During School Closures, Teaching Tolerance
• Connecting with students during the pandemic
Leading Our Classes Through Times of Crisis with Engagement and PEACE, Faculty Focus
• Advice for engaging students under adversity
Some Good News on Engagement, The Chronicle of Higher Education
• Results on the National Survey of Student Engagement
The College Dropout Crisis, The New York Times
• Opinion on college graduate rates
Image: Detail from cover of Alexa B. Antopol's Barnard Zine Library (maga)zine (2008), from the Zine Collection, University of Miami Libraries Special Collections. Visit UML's Digital Collections for more historic and archival materials.
<b>Podcasts</b>
Streaming Video
The Great Courses video series showcases exemplary instruction on a range of topics in STEM, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Go to Kanopy for streaming access to available titles with your UM credentials.
A Librarian