Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690441
visibleTabCount: 4
Overview of Resources
In light of the pandemic situation and subsequent move to online classes, publishers have expanded the breadth of available electronic resources in an effort to support educators and their students. This guide provides access to these resources all in one place.
Under the "Expanded Resources" tab, you will find an extensive selection of materials that are temporarily electronically available. They are organized into three subsections: Materials available through open access; materials available for free after a sign-up process; and materials that are accessible with assistance from a UML liaison librarian. You will also find several publishers providing students with expanded online access to textbooks.
Under the "Expanded Resources" tab, you will find an extensive selection of materials that are temporarily electronically available. They are organized into three subsections: Materials available through open access; materials available for free after a sign-up process; and materials that are accessible with assistance from a UML liaison librarian. You will also find several publishers providing students with expanded online access to textbooks.
Most Popular Resources
Bloomsbury Digital Resources
Bloomsbury is offering a variety of support to affected institutions during this time, including working with Kortext, Vitalsource, Bibliu, Redshelf and Classoos to supply free textbooks as institutions shift to remote learning. Contact your librarian for more information.
JoVE
Sign up now for access to STEM education Video Library, providing core concepts in Biology and Social Psych; video demonstrations in eight STEM fields; and introductory biology lab courses. Available through June 15, 2020. Requires free signup on website.
University of Michigan Press
All content (1150+ Books) in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) is now freely available to read (but not download) through June 30th, 2020.
Open/Free Access -click and get it
American Economic Association
AEA Journal is providing open access to all journal content on the AEA website through June 2020 to overcome challenges accessing library subscriptions during these difficult times.
Annual Reviews
Through April 30th, 2020, all Annual Reviews titles are available to browse and read through open access.
Berghahn Journals
Publishes 38 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. All new and back issues can now be freely accessed through June 30th, 2020.
Cochrane
Access to Cochrane Library will be temporarily unrestricted.
Érudit
An extensive list of journals has been temporarily made open access. 97% of journal content on Érudit is available in open access, and 72 journals publish in full and immediate open access.
EPD Sciences
EPD Sciences has opened their journal content from 2018-2020, so it is freely available for all to read.
Index of Medieval Art
The collections include images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between early apostolic times and the sixteenth century. The Index is available through open access until June 1st, 2020.
Ohio State University Press
699 OSU Press Monographs are now openly available to access through the duration of the crisis.
OpenEdition
In additional to their largely open access collection, extended access to 5% of journal content and 20% of books is now being offered.
Project MUSE
Temporary expanded access from 50+ publishers to 15K+ books and 230+ Journals.
University of California Press
Open access to all online journals is now available, which includes 46 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Available through June 30th, 2020.
University of Michigan Press
All content (1150+ Books) in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) is now freely available to read (but not download) through June 30th, 2020.
AEA Journal is providing open access to all journal content on the AEA website through June 2020 to overcome challenges accessing library subscriptions during these difficult times.
Annual Reviews
Through April 30th, 2020, all Annual Reviews titles are available to browse and read through open access.
Berghahn Journals
Publishes 38 scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. All new and back issues can now be freely accessed through June 30th, 2020.
Cochrane
Access to Cochrane Library will be temporarily unrestricted.
Érudit
An extensive list of journals has been temporarily made open access. 97% of journal content on Érudit is available in open access, and 72 journals publish in full and immediate open access.
EPD Sciences
EPD Sciences has opened their journal content from 2018-2020, so it is freely available for all to read.
Index of Medieval Art
The collections include images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between early apostolic times and the sixteenth century. The Index is available through open access until June 1st, 2020.
Ohio State University Press
699 OSU Press Monographs are now openly available to access through the duration of the crisis.
OpenEdition
In additional to their largely open access collection, extended access to 5% of journal content and 20% of books is now being offered.
Project MUSE
Temporary expanded access from 50+ publishers to 15K+ books and 230+ Journals.
University of California Press
Open access to all online journals is now available, which includes 46 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Available through June 30th, 2020.
University of Michigan Press
All content (1150+ Books) in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) is now freely available to read (but not download) through June 30th, 2020.
Free Access with Signup
AIP Publishing
This resource provides temporary free full-text access to all scitation.org articles for registered users.
American Geosciences Institute
The Online Glossary of Geology is now freely accessible to anyone signs up for an account on their website through June 30th, 2020.
Canadian Science Publishing
CSP is facilitating access to articles for individuals who belong to institutions that subscribe to our journals who cannot remotely access content at this time. If you require access to an article, please contact CSP and include the article DOI and title, and journal.
Infobase
Access to 7 databases: American History; Bloom's Literature; Ferguson's Career Guidance Center; Issues & Controversies; Today's Science; World News Digest; Writer's Reference Center, is now freely available to access with username: distance learning and password: trial, through April 30th, 2020.
Internet Archive
Sign up for a free account HERE in order to access 1.4 million ebooks from lending library or 2.5 million ebooks already in the public domain. Users can access up to 10 titles at a time.
JoVE
Sign up now for access to STEM education Video Library providing core concepts in Biology and Social Psych; video demonstrations in eight STEM fields; and introductory biology lab courses. Available through June 15, 2020. Requires free signup on website.
SAGE
Online access to SAGE video, Research Methods, and Knowledge Books and Reference are now available to print-only users. Faculty can also sign up for a 90-day trial for access.
This resource provides temporary free full-text access to all scitation.org articles for registered users.
American Geosciences Institute
The Online Glossary of Geology is now freely accessible to anyone signs up for an account on their website through June 30th, 2020.
Canadian Science Publishing
CSP is facilitating access to articles for individuals who belong to institutions that subscribe to our journals who cannot remotely access content at this time. If you require access to an article, please contact CSP and include the article DOI and title, and journal.
Infobase
Access to 7 databases: American History; Bloom's Literature; Ferguson's Career Guidance Center; Issues & Controversies; Today's Science; World News Digest; Writer's Reference Center, is now freely available to access with username: distance learning and password: trial, through April 30th, 2020.
Internet Archive
Sign up for a free account HERE in order to access 1.4 million ebooks from lending library or 2.5 million ebooks already in the public domain. Users can access up to 10 titles at a time.
JoVE
Sign up now for access to STEM education Video Library providing core concepts in Biology and Social Psych; video demonstrations in eight STEM fields; and introductory biology lab courses. Available through June 15, 2020. Requires free signup on website.
SAGE
Online access to SAGE video, Research Methods, and Knowledge Books and Reference are now available to print-only users. Faculty can also sign up for a 90-day trial for access.
Electronic Textbook Access
American Mathematical Society
Faculty using AMS textbooks can request e-reserve copies for their students. To gain access, contact sut-serv@ams.org.
Cengage
Through the end of the semester, Cengage is providing free access to Cengage Unlimited through the end of the current academic term for US students attending colleges affected by COVID-19. This includes the entire Cengage catalog of eBooks, online courseware, study tools, and more. To request access, fill out this form.
RedShelf
Students can now access digital copies of up to 7 textbooks from participating publishers, through May 25th, 2020.
Vital Source
Students and instructors at impacted 2 and 4-year non-profit institutions in the U.S. and Canada can now access an expansive catalog of e-texts, through May 25, 2020. Students can sign up here.
Faculty using AMS textbooks can request e-reserve copies for their students. To gain access, contact sut-serv@ams.org.
Cengage
Through the end of the semester, Cengage is providing free access to Cengage Unlimited through the end of the current academic term for US students attending colleges affected by COVID-19. This includes the entire Cengage catalog of eBooks, online courseware, study tools, and more. To request access, fill out this form.
RedShelf
Students can now access digital copies of up to 7 textbooks from participating publishers, through May 25th, 2020.
Vital Source
Students and instructors at impacted 2 and 4-year non-profit institutions in the U.S. and Canada can now access an expansive catalog of e-texts, through May 25, 2020. Students can sign up here.
Request Access from your Librarian
Bloomsbury Digital Resources
Bloomsbury is offering a variety of support to affected institutions, including working with Kortext, Vitalsource, Bibliu, Redshelf and Classoos to supply free textbooks as institutions shift to remote learning.
Brepols
Is offering unlimited simultaneous users for online databases hosted on brepols.net. Current journals subscribers can activate complimentary read-only access to 20 journals' archives and the Brepols Complete ebook collection.
Cambridge University Press
CUP temporarily will offer a collection of over 2,000 Ebooks hosted on Cambridge Core, for university libraries and their associated students and faculty. This collection includes HTML textbooks, Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements.
De Gruyter
75,000 DRM-free eBooks from 1650 through 2016 for all participating institutions. Free access will be granted through June 30, 2020
Docuseek
Streaming access to Bullfrog and Icarus films owned in any format may be accessed by special request.
EBSCO
For a limited time, faculty can search 12,400+ Open Educational Resources, get links for their Learning Management System (LMS) or distribution to students. EBSCO is also offering unlimited-User access upgrades to existing EBSCO eBooks holdings from 300+ publishers. Additionally, the Academic eBook Subscription Collection no longer has restrictions on the number of concurrent users.
e-Marefa Database
e-Marefa provides a set of subject specialized services across all databases based on thematic and discipline selection, which will be available through May 31, 2020.
Elsevier
Remote access to ScienceDirect customers and 256 textbooks across many subjects are now available through electronic access.
Ex Libris
Ex Libris has made the following services temporarily available: Resource Sharing: RapidILL; Mobile Student Engagement: campusM; Online Course Resource Lists: Leganto; Research Funding: Pivot & Research Professional.
MIT Press
Authenticated users can gain temporary access to all 2,770 MIT Press eBooks on MIT Press Direct through May 31st, 2020.
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale
Now offering digital access to music reference materials including 57 encyclopedias and MGG online temporarily to non-subscribing institutions through May 31st, 2020.
Springer Nature
Access more than 500 key textbooks across Springer Nature’s eBook subject collections for free through July 31st, 2020.
Wolters Kluwer (Ovid)
16 general Medical resources from: LWW Health Library, Firecracker, Acland’s Atlas of Human Anatomy, Bates Visual Guide, 5 Minute Clinical Consult, are now available to access for 60 days.
Bloomsbury is offering a variety of support to affected institutions, including working with Kortext, Vitalsource, Bibliu, Redshelf and Classoos to supply free textbooks as institutions shift to remote learning.
Brepols
Is offering unlimited simultaneous users for online databases hosted on brepols.net. Current journals subscribers can activate complimentary read-only access to 20 journals' archives and the Brepols Complete ebook collection.
Cambridge University Press
CUP temporarily will offer a collection of over 2,000 Ebooks hosted on Cambridge Core, for university libraries and their associated students and faculty. This collection includes HTML textbooks, Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements.
De Gruyter
75,000 DRM-free eBooks from 1650 through 2016 for all participating institutions. Free access will be granted through June 30, 2020
Docuseek
Streaming access to Bullfrog and Icarus films owned in any format may be accessed by special request.
EBSCO
For a limited time, faculty can search 12,400+ Open Educational Resources, get links for their Learning Management System (LMS) or distribution to students. EBSCO is also offering unlimited-User access upgrades to existing EBSCO eBooks holdings from 300+ publishers. Additionally, the Academic eBook Subscription Collection no longer has restrictions on the number of concurrent users.
e-Marefa Database
e-Marefa provides a set of subject specialized services across all databases based on thematic and discipline selection, which will be available through May 31, 2020.
Elsevier
Remote access to ScienceDirect customers and 256 textbooks across many subjects are now available through electronic access.
Ex Libris
Ex Libris has made the following services temporarily available: Resource Sharing: RapidILL; Mobile Student Engagement: campusM; Online Course Resource Lists: Leganto; Research Funding: Pivot & Research Professional.
MIT Press
Authenticated users can gain temporary access to all 2,770 MIT Press eBooks on MIT Press Direct through May 31st, 2020.
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale
Now offering digital access to music reference materials including 57 encyclopedias and MGG online temporarily to non-subscribing institutions through May 31st, 2020.
Springer Nature
Access more than 500 key textbooks across Springer Nature’s eBook subject collections for free through July 31st, 2020.
Wolters Kluwer (Ovid)
16 general Medical resources from: LWW Health Library, Firecracker, Acland’s Atlas of Human Anatomy, Bates Visual Guide, 5 Minute Clinical Consult, are now available to access for 60 days.
Contact Information
This guide is maintained by the following individual(s):
A Librarian