University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

ENG 106: Local Research

<b>Databases</b>

  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
  • Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.
  • CINAHL Plus
    Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health.

<b>Other Online Resources</b>

  • UM Libraries Digital Collections
    This site features a growing collection of digital objects developed to preserve and support digital scholarship and the research, teaching, and learning mission of the University. Digital Collections feature materials from the collections at University of Miami Libraries, Calder Medical Library, University of Miami Archives and from distinctive collections developed in collaboration with non-library partners.
  • HistoryMiami Online Publications
    Get access to online issues of HistoryMiami publications, including Tequesta, Update, and South Florida History.
  • Florida International University Digital Collections
    FIU Libraries' digital collections focus on local and regional materials of historical, scientific, cultural, and educational importance.
  • USA.gov (Home)
    The website for the government of the United States.  Primarily a portal to further websites with more information.  Includes both federal and state data.

<b>Primary Resources: Distinctive Collections</b>

The UM Libraries Special Collections houses a number of collections that are directly related to housing and eviction.  Take a look at the guides below to find oral histories, papers, and more!

Your Librarian

<b>Citation Tools</b>