Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690447
visibleTabCount: 1
Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984
Contains hundreds of titles from feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, and editorials. Coverage includes fine, decorative and commercial art.
ARTstor Image Database
Bibliography of the History of Art
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
Films on Demand
JSTOR
Approximately 165 art, architectural history, and archaeology titles are included.
Oxford Art Online
Best place to start searching artists, periods, topics.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Collections Online
Bass Museum of Art, Miami Beach, FL
The Bass is Miami Beach’s contemporary art museum. Focusing on exhibitions of international contemporary art, The Bass presents mid-career and established artists reflecting the spirit and international character of Miami Beach.
Collecteurs The Museum of Private Collections
Digital museum of private collections has opened the art world to the 21st century. The digital platform invites collectors to digitize their physical collections, organize them virtually, and place them on public exhibit. From there, Collectors puts private art collections in the public spotlight.
Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) Miami, FL
The museum is dedicated to making contemporary art accessible to diverse audiences through the collection, preservation and exhibition of contemporary art and its art historical influences.
Guggenheim Museum
Featuring over 1,700 artworks by more than 625 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection. The selection reflects the Guggenheim Foundation’s extensive holdings from the late 19th century through the present day.
Lowe Art Museum, University of Miami
Mueum of Modern & Contemporary Art (MAMCO)
Geneva, Switzerland
Museum of Modern Art MoMA,NY
Evolving collection contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art.
Museum of Modern Art SFMoMA
The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art is one of the largest museums of modern and contemporary art in the United States.
Museum of Modern & Contemproary Art (MAMCO) Geneva
Perez Art Museum Miami (PAMM), Miami, FL
With a strong emphasis on art that relates to the US Latinx experience, the African diaspora, Latin America, and the Caribbean, the Pérez draws its inspiration from Miami’s rich cultural diversity and unique position at the crossroads of the Americas.
Whitney Museum of Art
More than 25,000 works of American Art from the twentieth century to today.
UM Libraries Land Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
About this Guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open access“The art always wins. Anything can happen to me, but the art will stay.”
― Ai Weiwei
― Ai Weiwei
Ai Wei Wei. Colored Vases. 2010.
Seattle Art Museum.
Films About Art & Artists
“African Contemporary Art.” Films On Demand, Films Media Group, 2018.
Basquiat: Rage to Riches. Directed by David Shulman. Public Broadcasting Service, 2018.
"Street Art.” Films On Demand, Films Media Group, 2011.
Basquiat: Rage to Riches. Directed by David Shulman. Public Broadcasting Service, 2018.
"Street Art.” Films On Demand, Films Media Group, 2011.
Foundations
MANA Contemporary Fellowships
Fellowships at Mana Contemporary allow selected artists and scholars to pursue cross-disciplinary research that adds to the creative discourse at their unique locations.
Fellowships at Mana Contemporary allow selected artists and scholars to pursue cross-disciplinary research that adds to the creative discourse at their unique locations.
Artists' Responses to COVID-19
Billock, Jennifer. How Street Artists Around the World Are Reacting to COVID 19 April 23, 2020. Smithsonian Magazine.
Hirshhorn Artist Diaries
Living archive captures the quarantine stories of contemporary international artists in response to the pandemic in their own voices.
Online Galleries / Art Market Resources
Gagosian Online
Established by Larry Gagosian in Los Angeles in 1980, Gagosian is a global gallery specializing in modern and contemporary art. Particularly noteworthy is the artists page which features bios on numerous contemporary artists represented by the gallery.
Hyperallergic
A leading voice in contemporary perspectives on art, culture, and more, the online publication was founded in 2009 as a forum for playful, serious, and radical perspectives on art in society. Challenging the art world status quo, Hyperallergic goes beyond the surface to investigate the inner workings of art institutions and markets, shedding light on the movements and individuals fighting for greater inclusion and representation.
Widewalls
Widewalls online art gallery features tens of thousands of artworks from famous, established, as well as emerging modern and contemporary artists.
Established by Larry Gagosian in Los Angeles in 1980, Gagosian is a global gallery specializing in modern and contemporary art. Particularly noteworthy is the artists page which features bios on numerous contemporary artists represented by the gallery.
Hyperallergic
A leading voice in contemporary perspectives on art, culture, and more, the online publication was founded in 2009 as a forum for playful, serious, and radical perspectives on art in society. Challenging the art world status quo, Hyperallergic goes beyond the surface to investigate the inner workings of art institutions and markets, shedding light on the movements and individuals fighting for greater inclusion and representation.
Widewalls
Widewalls online art gallery features tens of thousands of artworks from famous, established, as well as emerging modern and contemporary artists.
Databases & Indexes
Art Abstracts
A comprehensive resource for art information that covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
A comprehensive resource for art information that covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984
Contains hundreds of titles from feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, and editorials. Coverage includes fine, decorative and commercial art.
ARTstor Image Database
Bibliography of the History of Art
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
Films on Demand
JSTOR
Approximately 165 art, architectural history, and archaeology titles are included.
Oxford Art Online
Best place to start searching artists, periods, topics.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Journals & Serials
Art Bulletin
Art History *
Art in America
Art Journal
Art Journal Open College Art Association (CAA)
Flash Art International
Modernism/modernity *
New York Times Arts Section
October *
Afterimage
Art History *
Art in America
Art Journal
Art Journal Open College Art Association (CAA)
Flash Art International
Modernism/modernity *
New York Times Arts Section
October *
Subject Specialist
-
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
A Librarian