Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 16789
Table of Contents
Description of the Classics Collection
The library's collections support a wide range of undergraduate courses in all aspects of Greek and Roman literature and civilization. Subjects covered include philosophy, religion, language and literature, history, art history and architecture, and archaeology. The language of the collection is primarily English, but titles can be found in all modern European languages. The Greek and Latin texts with translations are available comprehensively in the Loeb Classical Library (English) and Collection Bude (French) editions. Materials are also selectively acquired on the ancient Near East and Egypt.
Subject Specialist
-
Ava Brillat
Program Lead for Information Literacy and Instructional Design
284-4058
Core Databases
- L'annee philologique
This valuable resource indexes books, book reviews, articles, Festschriften, and other collections dealing with the ancient Greek and Roman world, from the second millennium BCE to approximately 800 CE.The APh indexes more than 1500 scholarly journals, plus essay collections and conference proceedings. Please note that the resource covers worldwide scholarly publishing, in many languages, and the Richter Library will only have some of the items referenced. Please consult the UML catalog for local holdings. - MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. - JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles. - Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary.In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version.Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference 'shelves' or electronic syllabi. - ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. - TOCS-IN
Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics journals, partly with full text.
Supplementary Databases
- Art Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)
Art Abstracts contains citations and abstract summaries to journal articles and other resources on art, art history, architecture, photography, archaeology, city planning, film, and related subjects. The service includes links and cross-searchability to the Library's subscription to the AMICO Library. - Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Art Index Retrospective, is a searchable bibliographic database that contains citations from the printed Art Index, volumes 1-32, published between 1929-1984. The service includes links and cross-searchability to the Library's subscription to the AMICO Library. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCOHost)
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers architecture and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, and interior design. Coverage reaches from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. - Bibliography of the History of Art
BHA is a bilingual bibliographical index covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. BHA includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (RAA) from 1973 to 1989 and International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) from 1975 to 1989. - Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Humanities Full-Text indexes more than 300 key humanities journals. Abstracts of journal articles are included from the spring of 1994; selected full-text coverage began in January 1995. - Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Iter features 2 scholarly bibliographic databases, one featuring journal articles, and the other, books.The Journals database contains over 225,000 records from more than 400 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). The Books database is a bibliography of monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). More than 60,000 new records are added annually. - Philosopher's Index
The Philosopher's Index indexes and abstracts books and journals covering philosophy and related fields.
Print Reference Resources
Online Reference Sources
- Oxford Reference Online: Classics
Oxford Reference provides more than 50,000 concise definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries that covers Classical Studies. Coverage Includes authoritative, highly accessible information on the very latest terminology, concepts, theories, techniques, people, and organizations relating to all areas of classical studies—from philology, archaeology, and art history, to philosophy, theology, history, and literature. - Oxford Scholarship Online: Classical Studies
A cross-searchable library which offers access to the full text of 4,074 Oxford books. - Oxford Classical Dictionary, Fourth Edition
Unrivalled in scope for over sixty years, this established reference work has been thoroughly updated for this edition to reflect modern scholarship. Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, it covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology.As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology. Anthropology and reception have been added as new subject areas, covering topics such as creolization and kinship, as well as dance reception and translation.The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.
Other helpful websites
- Classical Art Research Centre: The Beazley Archive
The art of ancient Greece and Rome with accompanying images, produced by Oxford University.
Dictionaries in Print
Primary Texts
- Loeb Classical Library
The mission of the Loeb Classical Library has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations.More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. - Perseus Digital Library
Full text Latin and Greek texts online, including translations. - Classical Latin Texts
This website contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity. - Latin Library
Full text access to works in Latin by the major writers of Latin literature, as well as early Christian and medieval texts. - Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has created a digital library which contains most literary texts written in Greek from Homer (8 BC) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era, with access to 3,800 authors and 12,000 works. - Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae provides access to the contents of all lexicon articles published up to 2008 (that is the letters AM, O, Ppomifer, portapulso). Additional content includes the Onomasticon volumes (letters C and D), the Index librorum and the Praemonenda de rationibus et usu operis, a multilingual introduction to the printed version of the Thesaurus. - Oxford Pocket Latin Dictionary Online
Compact Latin dictionary that contains full grammatical information about each word and comprehensive marking of vowel length as a guide to classical pronunciation, conjugation for verbs and geographical locations.
Maps and Atlases
- Ancient World Mapping Center
The Center promotes cartography, historical geography, and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies through innovative and collaborative research, teaching, and community outreach activities. - Rome Reborn
Rome Reborn is an international initiative whose goal is the creation of 3D digital models illustrating the urban development of ancient Rome from the first settlement in the late Bronze Age (ca. 1000 B.C.) to the depopulation of the city in the early Middle Ages (ca. A.D. 550). - Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
Print. In 102 full-color maps spread over 175 pages, the Barrington Atlas re-creates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and deep into North Africa. It spans the territory of more than 75 modern countries.
Find Images
- JSTOR with Image Search
ARTstor images are now available via JSTOR image search. When you search for images on JSTOR, you can now find Artstor's 3.2+ million licensed images and more than 800 additional collections alongside JSTOR's books and journal articles. The ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use. - Thematic essays from The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Collection of essays on Greek and Roman art written by experts at the Met. - Oxford Art Online
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering Western and non-Western visual art. The vast content of Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources are made available in one location. - Thematic essays from The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Collection of essays on Greek and Roman art written by experts at the Met. - Classical Art Research Centre: The Beazley Archive
The art of ancient Greece and Rome with accompanying images, produced by Oxford University.
Open Indexes and Bibliographies
- ZENON DAI
The Catalogue of the DAI (German Archaeological Institute, 1996-) is part union catalog and part index. Guide to Zenon DAI is available from the Clark Instititute: http://www.clarkart.edu/library/bibliographies/LibraryGuideARTH513Zenon.pdf - TOCS-IN
Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics journals, partly with full text. - Zotero group: Ancient world Open Bibliographies
A collection of existing open-access bibliographic resources for the ancient world available online. These are now collected at a public Zotero group where they can be found by subject tags. - Etana
Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives.
Professional Associations
- Society for Classical Studies, formerly American Philological Association
Founded as the American Philological Association in 1869 by "professors, friends, and patrons of linguistic science," the SCS is the principal learned society in North America for the study of ancient Greek and Roman languages, literatures, and civilizations. - See more at: http://apaclassics.org/frontpage#sthash.vpakctL4.dpuf - American Classical League
The American Classical League was founded in 1919 for the purpose of fostering the study of classical languages in the United States and Canada. Membership is open to any person who is committed to the preservation and advancement of our classical inheritance from Greece and Rome. - National Committee for Latin and Greek
The NCLG is a non-Profit organization sponsored and funded by numerous state and national associations. It serves as a forum to identify nationwide needs and as a force for planning and implementing new strategies and programs. - The Classical Association of the Middle West and South (CAMWS)
The Classical Association of the Middle West and South is an organization for Classics (Latin and Greek) teachers at all levels, undergraduate and graduate students, and anyone else who enjoys learning about the world of classical antiquity.
A Librarian