CHC Architecture Collections subjectId: 690798

This guide is designed to assist researchers in exploring Cuba's architectural history. It highlights resources available through the CHC, including books, periodicals, and archival collections from various architects. 

The materials in this guide are available for use in the CHC reading room. The CHC is open Monday through Friday from 9 am to 4 pm by appointment only. Additional information related to our access policies is available on our homepage. 

University of Miami students, faculty, and staff can schedule a research appointment by following the steps outlined here: Book an Appointment - UM Users Only. 

External researchers are asked to email chc@miami.edu to schedule a research visit. 

The Nicolás Arroyo and Gabriela Menéndez papers contain architectural photographs, sketches, and designs documenting the work of Nicolás Arroyo and Gabriela Menéndez, who were active in Cuba from the 1940s to 1950s.

The Eugenio Batista collection contains essays, manuscripts, correspondence, clippings, photographs, and original architectural drawings, blueprints, and documents of Eugenio Batista (1900-1992), a Cuban architect active in 20th-century Cuba and the United States.

The collection contains Batista's personal and professional papers related to his activities as a professor and Dean of Architecture at the St. Thomas of Villanova Catholic University in Havana and other universities throughout the United States, as well as material related to his book on Church architecture and the history of the Catholic liturgy.

The Ignacio Carrera-Jústiz papers contain architectural drawings for Barcardí's historic office buildings in Miami.

The Escudé Family collection contains four scrapbooks and other photographs of projects on which José Escudé worked as an engineer in Cuba. Most of the pictures are of Cuban architecture, street scenes, cities, towns, and family portraits. The collection also contains personal documents related to José Escudé, his son Joseph, and his daughter Margaret, as well as papers and blueprints about mines owned by José Escudé.

The Gelabert-Navia Arquitectos records contain five scrapbooks with clippings, designs, and photographs of finished buildings with examples of architectural works created by the firm Gelabert-Navia Arquitectos in Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and Cuba, as well as a binder with diplomas and awards and four wooden plaque diplomas for the José Alfredo Gilbert (1927-2017) and Rosa Navia Gelabert (1929-2017). The husband and wife team were active professionally in Cuba from 1952 to 1960.

The Alicia Pujals Mederos collection contains documents, photographs, printed PowerPoints, and a USB with digital information about the architect Alicia Pujals Mederos.

The Nicolás Quintana papers document the professional activities of Cuban-born architect Nicolás Quintana (1925-2011) in Cuba while he lived in exile in Miami, Florida. The collection includes correspondence, photographs, architectural drawings, syllabi, and other materials from classes taught by Quintana in Puerto Rico, promotional materials from Quintana's exhibits in Miami, materials from architectural conferences in which Quintana participated, and clippings and articles related to Quintana and his work. The collection encompasses the beginning of Quintana's professional career in Cuba and his extensive architectural and teaching work in exile, especially in Puerto Rico and Miami.

Select materials from this collection have been digitized and are available here: Nicolás Quintana Papers - Digital Collections. 

The Osvaldo de Tapia-Ruano collection contains architectural plans, photographs, negatives, slides, business ledgers, clippings, and ephemera related to the professional career of Cuban-born architect Osvaldo de Tapia-Ruano, who was active in Cuba and Spain. In addition to Osvaldo de Tapia-Ruano materials, the collection also contains a maquette designed by Manuel Tapia Ruano Heinen and sketches of buildings by both architects.

The Andrew Giel photograph collection includes views from Cuba between 1955 and 1959. Select images from the collection have been digitized and are available here.

The Cuban Postcard collection consists of postcards of Cuba and the Cuban diasporic experience produced from the early 20th century to the present. The collection includes real photos, printed photos, and artist-drawn postcards, providing views of many parts of the island. Select images from the collection have been digitized and are available here. 

Arquitectura (Havana, Cuba). La Habana: Colegio Nacional de Arquitectos. 

Arquitectura Cuba. La Habana, Cuba: [Instituto Nacional de Arquitectos de Cuba], 1960. 

Arquitectura Revista mensual Organo oficial del Colegio Nacional de Arquitectos. La Habana, [Cuba: [publisher not identified], 1932. 

Arquitectura y urbanismo. La Habana: Instituto Superior Politécnico José Antonio Echeverría, s.f. 

Escuela de Ingenieria y Arquitectura, Universidad de la Habana. Construir. Habana: 1940. 

Espacio (Havana, Cuba). La Habana: Escuela de Arquitectura de la Universidad de La Habana., s.f. 

Galeria: organo oficial de la galeria de artes plásticas de Santiago de Cuba. Santiago de Cuba, Cuba: Talleres Tipografia San Roman, 1956. 

La Habana, arquitectura colonial, 1519-1898. La Habana, Cuda: Citmatel, 2007. 

 Noticias de arte (Havana, Cuba). Habana, Cuba: [publisher not identified], s.f. 

Revista del Colegio de Arquitectos de La Habana. La Habana: [publisher not identified], 1919. 

• uSearch @ UMiami - Architecture -- Cuba
• uSearch @ UMiami - Architecture -- Cuba -- History
• uSearch @ UMiami - Architecture -- Periodicals
• uSearch @ UMiami - Architecture -- Specifications
• uSearch @ UMiami - Architecture, Modern
• uSearch @ UMiami - Architecture, Modern -- 19th century
• uSearch @ UMiami - Architecture, Modern -- 20th century

The Architecture Research Center (ARC) at the University of Miami Libraries is home to the Paul Buisson Architecture Library (PBAL), which supports the research and information needs of the University of Miami School of Architecture at the undergraduate, graduate, post-graduate, and post-professional levels. 

You can review their archival collections here: Architecture Research Center, University of Miami Libraries - Archival Collections. 

Special Collections at the University of Miami Libraries document Florida's history, the Caribbean basin, Central America, and Latin America. Their holdings include the Biltmore Hotel blueprints, Jack Clement Quigley's plans, and Bernhardt E. Muller. 

You can review their archival collections here: University of Miami Special Collections - Archival Collections. 

University Archives at the University of Miami Libraries is the repository of records documenting the University of Miami's history. They collect, preserve, and identify materials of enduring historical value. 

You can review their archival collections here: University of Miami University Archives - Archival Collections.