Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690466
visibleTabCount: 5
In its long-standing leadership in research in coastal urban resilience and in an effort to support emerging careers in sustainability and resilience, the University of Miami School of Architecture and the College of Arts and Sciences jointly launched a new degree program: Master of Professional Science in Urban Sustainability and Resilience. (MPSUSR)
The guide is co-curated by Gilda B. Santana, Librarian Professor, Director Architecture Research Center, (ARC) University of Miami Libraries and Sonia R. Chao, Associate Dean of Research, U-SOA, Co-Director of MPSUSR, and Faculty Lead in climate and environmental issues for the University of Miami Institute for Advanced Study of the Americas (UMIA). Because of the cross-disciplinarity and complexity of factors inherent to urban sustainability & resilience processes, some of the featured resources will overlap.
The guide is co-curated by Gilda B. Santana, Librarian Professor, Director Architecture Research Center, (ARC) University of Miami Libraries and Sonia R. Chao, Associate Dean of Research, U-SOA, Co-Director of MPSUSR, and Faculty Lead in climate and environmental issues for the University of Miami Institute for Advanced Study of the Americas (UMIA). Because of the cross-disciplinarity and complexity of factors inherent to urban sustainability & resilience processes, some of the featured resources will overlap.
UM Libraries Land Grant Acknowledgement
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
Principles of Sustainability and Resilience
Adapted from the Sage Encylopedia of Action Research.
The most generally accepted definition of sustainable development appeared in the 1987 Brundtland Report, published by the World Commission on Environment and Development, where a sustainable form of development was described as one that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. Thus, this definition recognizes that development need not be inconsistent with sustainability.
The construct of resilience is complex and multidimensional. It is a process that allows for adaptation in a constructive way to threats and adverse experiences. Although resilience can be understood through a variety of theoretical models, the underlying theme among them is that resilience is a process. Resilience in terms of cities generally refers to the ability to absorb, adapt and respond to changes in an urban system.
Selected Article Indexes & Databases
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
ACSE Research Library
Broad range of topics related to Civil Engineering.
The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
Building Green
Sustainable building topics, case studies, building materials, feature articles, and more.
JSTOR
Encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
Proquest Research Library
Multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources.
Sage Encyclopedia of Action Research
Resources to answer your research methods and statistics questions.
Sanborn Digital Maps
Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
Science Direct
Large collection of scientific, technical, and medical research in earth and planetary sciences, energy, engineering, materials science, and more.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Bibliographic research database covers subjects of key relevance to the discipline including urban affairs, community development and urban history.
Urban Land Institute (ULII) Case Studies
Web of Science
A platform providing access to multidisciplinary and regional citation indexes; specialist subject indexes; a patent family index; and an index to scientific data sets.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
ACSE Research Library
Broad range of topics related to Civil Engineering.
ASTM
The American Society for Testing and Materials is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services.
The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations; US state and regional periodicals; and major serial publications in the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.
Building Green
Sustainable building topics, case studies, building materials, feature articles, and more.
JSTOR
Encompasses books and other primary sources as well as current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals.
Proquest Research Library
Multidisciplinary resource featuring a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources.
Sage Encyclopedia of Action Research
Resources to answer your research methods and statistics questions.
Sanborn Digital Maps
Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
Science Direct
Large collection of scientific, technical, and medical research in earth and planetary sciences, energy, engineering, materials science, and more.
Urban Studies Abstracts
Bibliographic research database covers subjects of key relevance to the discipline including urban affairs, community development and urban history.
Urban Land Institute (ULII) Case Studies
Web of Science
A platform providing access to multidisciplinary and regional citation indexes; specialist subject indexes; a patent family index; and an index to scientific data sets.
Worldcat Online Catalog
About this Guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open accessJournals & Serials
International journal of urban policy and planning.
Environment and Urbanization *
Exchange of research findings, ideas and information in the fields of human settlements and environment among researchers, activists and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in low- and middle-income nations and between these and researchers, international agency staff, students and teachers in high-income nations.
International Journal of Urban and Regional Research
International Journal of Sustainable Built Environment
Journal of the American Planning Association *
Journal of Urban History
Journal of Urbanism
Michigan Journal of Sustainability
Ocean and Coastal Management
New Nature Journal on Urban Sustainability
Stockholm Resilience Center
Places
Sage Journals
Browse journals by disciplines: Health Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanites; Materials Sciences & Engineering; Life & Biomedical Sciences.
Sustainable Cities and Society *
International journal focusing on fundamental and applied research aimed at designing, understanding, and promoting environmentally sustainable and socially resilient cities.
Town Planning Review
Urban Geography
Original papers on problem-oriented current research by geographers and other social scientists on urban policy; race, poverty, and ethnicity in the city; international differences in urban form and function; historical preservation; the urban housing market; and provision of services and urban economic activity.
Urban Studies *
An interdisciplinary journal publishing original contributions on urban and regional analysis and planning.
Environment and Urbanization *
Exchange of research findings, ideas and information in the fields of human settlements and environment among researchers, activists and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in low- and middle-income nations and between these and researchers, international agency staff, students and teachers in high-income nations.
International Journal of Urban and Regional Research
International Journal of Sustainable Built Environment
Journal of the American Planning Association *
Journal of Urban History
Journal of Urbanism
Michigan Journal of Sustainability
Ocean and Coastal Management
Stockholm Resilience Center
Places
Sage Journals
Browse journals by disciplines: Health Sciences; Social Sciences and Humanites; Materials Sciences & Engineering; Life & Biomedical Sciences.
Sustainable Cities and Society *
International journal focusing on fundamental and applied research aimed at designing, understanding, and promoting environmentally sustainable and socially resilient cities.
Town Planning Review
Town Planning Review provides a principal forum for communication between researchers and students, policy analysts and practitioners. It publishes a diversity of research approaches, welcoming full-length papers and review articles contributing to the advancement of town and regional planning research in highly developed economies and in emerging industrial states.
Urban EcosystemsUrban Geography
Original papers on problem-oriented current research by geographers and other social scientists on urban policy; race, poverty, and ethnicity in the city; international differences in urban form and function; historical preservation; the urban housing market; and provision of services and urban economic activity.
Urban Studies *
An interdisciplinary journal publishing original contributions on urban and regional analysis and planning.
Interdisciplinary UM Library, School and Departmental Resources & Research
Learn How to Analyze Your Data with a Data Analytics Expert (UML)
Learn How to Use GIS Softwares (UML)
Architecture Subject Guide (UML)
For health related topics see:
Public Health and Global Public Health guides. (UML)
See also Miller School of Medicine Deparment of Public Health Sciences Research
For environmental aspects see
Eco System Science & Policy
See also Research Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Science (RSMAS)
US Government
Federal Government Information (US)
Learn How to Use GIS Softwares (UML)
Architecture Subject Guide (UML)
For health related topics see:
Public Health and Global Public Health guides. (UML)
See also Miller School of Medicine Deparment of Public Health Sciences Research
For environmental aspects see
Eco System Science & Policy
See also Research Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Science (RSMAS)
US Government
Federal Government Information (US)
Examples of Journal Articles
Johan Colding, Magnus Colding, Stephan Barthel,
"Applying Seven Resilience Principles on the Vision of the Digital City", Cities,Volume 103, 2020.
Paulo Jorge Gomes Ribeiro; Luís António Pena Jardim Gonçalves. "Urban Resilience: A Conceptual Framework". Sustainable Cities and Society, Vol. 50, October 2019.
"Applying Seven Resilience Principles on the Vision of the Digital City", Cities,Volume 103, 2020.
Paulo Jorge Gomes Ribeiro; Luís António Pena Jardim Gonçalves. "Urban Resilience: A Conceptual Framework". Sustainable Cities and Society, Vol. 50, October 2019.
Subject Specialist
-
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
Research Centers
Center for Urban and Community Design UM School of Architecture
CUCD was ounded in 1992 in the aftermath of Hurricane Andrew with the mission of fostering a collaborative interdisciplinary approach that supports the buttressing, retro-fitting and creation of sustainable communities and buildings. The Center seeks to integrate research, teaching, and service, encouraging interdisciplinary thought and action in the areas of historic preservation, urban design & community engagement, and, sustainable & resilient design in the sub-tropics and tropics.
The Earth Institute Columbia University
The Earth Institute blends research in the physical and social sciences, education and practical solutions to help guide the world onto a path towards sustainability.
Georgetown Climate Center
A Leading Resource for State and Federal Policy
ULI Americas
The Urban Resilience program works to help ULI members, communities and the built environment industries prepare for climate risk, considering opportunities in land use planning, real estate, building design and infrastructural investment.
CUCD was ounded in 1992 in the aftermath of Hurricane Andrew with the mission of fostering a collaborative interdisciplinary approach that supports the buttressing, retro-fitting and creation of sustainable communities and buildings. The Center seeks to integrate research, teaching, and service, encouraging interdisciplinary thought and action in the areas of historic preservation, urban design & community engagement, and, sustainable & resilient design in the sub-tropics and tropics.
The Earth Institute Columbia University
The Earth Institute blends research in the physical and social sciences, education and practical solutions to help guide the world onto a path towards sustainability.
Georgetown Climate Center
A Leading Resource for State and Federal Policy
ULI Americas
The Urban Resilience program works to help ULI members, communities and the built environment industries prepare for climate risk, considering opportunities in land use planning, real estate, building design and infrastructural investment.
Foundations
VoLo Foundation
Through original research and analysis, and in collaboration with philanthropic and academic partners, VoLo which was founded David Vogel and Thais Lopez-Vogel, aims to enrich the lives of individuals, strengthen communities, and educate future generations. Using a variety of qualitative and quantitative approaches they are able to support programs that generate measurable, meaningful, and sustainable results.
Through original research and analysis, and in collaboration with philanthropic and academic partners, VoLo which was founded David Vogel and Thais Lopez-Vogel, aims to enrich the lives of individuals, strengthen communities, and educate future generations. Using a variety of qualitative and quantitative approaches they are able to support programs that generate measurable, meaningful, and sustainable results.
Organizations
C40 Cities
Network of the world’s megacities committed to addressing climate change. C40 supports cities to collaborate effectively, share knowledge and drive meaningful, measurable and sustainable action on climate change.
Institute for Sustainable Communities
ISC's mission is to help communities around the world address environmental, economic, and social challenges to build a better future shaped and shared by all.
US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.
Urban Institute
In partnership with leading thinkers and doers, UI explores what knowledge is needed to fast-track promising solutions to achieve equity, upward mobility, and racial justice.
U.S. Green Building Council Florida (USGBC)
Green building news, research, and education.
Center for Resilience U.S.G.B.
Urban History Association
The Urban History Association encourages the historical study and teaching of cities, suburbs and metropolitan regions in all time periods throughout the world.
Network of the world’s megacities committed to addressing climate change. C40 supports cities to collaborate effectively, share knowledge and drive meaningful, measurable and sustainable action on climate change.
Institute for Sustainable Communities
ISC's mission is to help communities around the world address environmental, economic, and social challenges to build a better future shaped and shared by all.
US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
The mission of EPA is to protect human health and the environment.
Urban Institute
In partnership with leading thinkers and doers, UI explores what knowledge is needed to fast-track promising solutions to achieve equity, upward mobility, and racial justice.
U.S. Green Building Council Florida (USGBC)
Green building news, research, and education.
Center for Resilience U.S.G.B.
Urban History Association
The Urban History Association encourages the historical study and teaching of cities, suburbs and metropolitan regions in all time periods throughout the world.
UM Departments and Programs
Climate & Health, Department of Public Health, Miller School of Medicine
Department of Geography & Regional Studies, College of Arts & Sciences
Ecosystem Science & Policy, College of Arts & Sciences
Global Health Studies, College of Arts & Sciences
Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering
Department of Geography & Regional Studies, College of Arts & Sciences
Ecosystem Science & Policy, College of Arts & Sciences
Global Health Studies, College of Arts & Sciences
Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering
Healthcare Centers, Organizations, Programs
Miller School of Medicine Department of Public Health Sciences University of Miami
CDC Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
CDC National Health Initiatives, Strategies & Action Plans
Institute for Health Metrics
IHME is an independent population health research center at the University of Washington Medicine that provides rigorous and comparable measurement of the world's most important health problems and evaluates the strategies used to address them. IHME makes this information freely available so that policymakers have the evidence they need to make informed decisions about how to allocate resources to best improve population health.
United Nations Development Program Sustainability Goal
#3 Good health and well-being
Article Indexes & Databases
BioMed Central (BMC) Public Health
Evidence Based Practice For Public Health
This website provides free online access to evidence-based public health (EBPH) resources.
HERD
An international, interprofessional, peer-reviewed journal that features research and methodology papers, theory articles, case studies, and book reviews focused on the effects of health environments and design on patient, provider, and organizational outcomes.
Healthcare Administration Database
Proquest Health Management database covers health administration; health professions; hospitals; insurance; law; statistics; business management; personnel; ethics.
Indigenous & Tribal Peoples' Health
Medline (Proquest)
Topics include health and the built environment.
Science Direct
Scopus
Topics include healthcare and the built environment.
Evidence Based Practice For Public Health
This website provides free online access to evidence-based public health (EBPH) resources.
HERD
An international, interprofessional, peer-reviewed journal that features research and methodology papers, theory articles, case studies, and book reviews focused on the effects of health environments and design on patient, provider, and organizational outcomes.
Healthcare Administration Database
Proquest Health Management database covers health administration; health professions; hospitals; insurance; law; statistics; business management; personnel; ethics.
Indigenous & Tribal Peoples' Health
Medline (Proquest)
Topics include health and the built environment.
Science Direct
Scopus
Topics include healthcare and the built environment.
Portals & Data Clearinghouses
C40 Covid-19 Knowledge Portal
Portal dedicated to Cities and Coronavirus (COVID-19) featuring the following:
- Peer-to-peer support offerings.
- City action and initiative trackers.
- Data and visulisation resources.
- Upcoming virtual events.
- Public resources from C40 networks and programmes.
E-Resources
Lockwood, Alan H. Author. Heat Advisory: Protecting Health on a Warming Planet. Cambridge, Massachusetts: MIT Press, 2016.
A Librarian