Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690453
Ramsey, Kate, Louis Herns Marcelin, and Lowe Art Museum. Transformative Visions : Works by Haitian Artists from the Permanent Collection. Coral Gables, Fla.: Lowe Art Museum, University of Miami, 2015.
Collections & Exhibitions Online
Art Jamaica (Private Collection)
Diaspora Vibe Cultural Arts Incubator (DVCAI)
DCVAI commitment to artists of Caribbean and diverse cultures ensures they receive validation, visibility and professional opportunities.
Explore Artist Porffolios
Le Centre d'Art
“The Centre d’Art” is a cultural institution created in 1944 and recognized as a public utility in 1947. The Centre d’Art works toward the promotion of Haitian artistic creation.”
Museum of Contemporary Art North Miami
PÒTOPRENS: The Urban Artists of Port-au-Prince
Museo de Arte Sao Paolo (MASP)
Afro-Atlantic Histories (Exhibition)
Museu Afro Brasil
National Gallery of Jamaica
Negritude: Sharing Spaces in the Caribbean and Latin America UC Berkeley
Patricia and Phillip Frost Art Museum
Florida International University
Diaspora Vibe Cultural Arts Incubator (DVCAI)
DCVAI commitment to artists of Caribbean and diverse cultures ensures they receive validation, visibility and professional opportunities.
Explore Artist Porffolios
Le Centre d'Art
“The Centre d’Art” is a cultural institution created in 1944 and recognized as a public utility in 1947. The Centre d’Art works toward the promotion of Haitian artistic creation.”
Museum of Contemporary Art North Miami
PÒTOPRENS: The Urban Artists of Port-au-Prince
Museo de Arte Sao Paolo (MASP)
Afro-Atlantic Histories (Exhibition)
Museu Afro Brasil
National Gallery of Jamaica
Negritude: Sharing Spaces in the Caribbean and Latin America UC Berkeley
Patricia and Phillip Frost Art Museum
Florida International University
Queloides Exhibit
Curatorial project by Alejandro de la Fuente and Elio Rodriguez showcasing the work of 12 cotemporary and internationally reknowned Cuban artists.
Richard and Erna Flagg Collection of Haitian Art
Milwakee Art Museum
Research Portals & Archives
African American Research Library and Cultural Center
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Afro Cuban Digital Collection Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) University of Miami Libraries
Black Cultural Archives (BCA) London
BCA collects and preserves materials which redress the historical balance and representation of people of African and Caribbean descent in Britain.
Caribbean Documents Collection
University of Miami Special Collections
Digital LIbrary of the Caribbean (DLOC)
The Archive of Cuban art News
The Farber Foundation maintains a free, searchable database of over 850 stories, with photos, videos, and interviews. They are for students, curators, collectors, artists, and writers. Use them for your research and reading pleasure. English and Spanish language.
Haitian Heritage Museum Miami, FL
Committed to highlighting and preserving Haiti’s rich culture and heritage globally.
HistoryMiami
The HistoryMiami Research Center collects, safeguards, and makes accessible materials that document the Miami region, South Florida and the Caribbean.
Latin American & Caribbean Photograph Collection
University of Miami Special Collections
Pan American World Airways Records
University of Miami Special Collections
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Afro Cuban Digital Collection Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) University of Miami Libraries
Black Cultural Archives (BCA) London
BCA collects and preserves materials which redress the historical balance and representation of people of African and Caribbean descent in Britain.
Caribbean Documents Collection
University of Miami Special Collections
Digital LIbrary of the Caribbean (DLOC)
The Archive of Cuban art News
The Farber Foundation maintains a free, searchable database of over 850 stories, with photos, videos, and interviews. They are for students, curators, collectors, artists, and writers. Use them for your research and reading pleasure. English and Spanish language.
Haitian Heritage Museum Miami, FL
Committed to highlighting and preserving Haiti’s rich culture and heritage globally.
HistoryMiami
The HistoryMiami Research Center collects, safeguards, and makes accessible materials that document the Miami region, South Florida and the Caribbean.
Latin American & Caribbean Photograph Collection
University of Miami Special Collections
Pan American World Airways Records
University of Miami Special Collections
About this Guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open access"If someone needed a visual explanation...of what the Caribbean is, I would refer him to the spiral chaos of the Milky Way, the unpredictable flux of transformative plasma that spins calmly in our globe's firmament, that sketches in an "other" shape that keeps changing, with some objects born to light while others disappear into the womb of darkness; change, transit, return, fluxes of sidereal matter."
Antonio Benìtez-Rojo. The Repeating island: The Caribbean and the Postmodern Perspective. 1998.
Antonio Benìtez-Rojo. The Repeating island: The Caribbean and the Postmodern Perspective. 1998.
María Magdalena Campos-Pons.
“The Flag. Color Code Venice 13”. 2013.
UM Libraries Archival Collections
André Hora Sketchbooks Cuban Heritage Collection
Fifteen sketchbooks representing the artist’s work to date include a variety of media - drawings, prints, quotes, clippings and test pieces. The themes present in the pages of the books draw upon numerous Afro-Atlantic traditions including Haitian Vodou, Brazilian Candomblé, Cuban Lucumí, as well as Yoruba, Fon, and Kongo ethnic and spiritual African sources.
Caribbean Documents Collections Special Collections
The Caribbean Documents digital collection includes a selection of correspondence and documents concerning various aspects of business and life in the Caribbean from the 1750s through the 1850s.
Fifteen sketchbooks representing the artist’s work to date include a variety of media - drawings, prints, quotes, clippings and test pieces. The themes present in the pages of the books draw upon numerous Afro-Atlantic traditions including Haitian Vodou, Brazilian Candomblé, Cuban Lucumí, as well as Yoruba, Fon, and Kongo ethnic and spiritual African sources.
Caribbean Documents Collections Special Collections
The Caribbean Documents digital collection includes a selection of correspondence and documents concerning various aspects of business and life in the Caribbean from the 1750s through the 1850s.
Authored by University of Miami Faculty
Ramsey, Kate, Louis Herns Marcelin, and Lowe Art Museum. Transformative Visions : Works by Haitian Artists from the Permanent Collection. Coral Gables, Fla.: Lowe Art Museum, University of Miami, 2015.
Print Resources
Sullivan, Edward J. From San Juan to Paris and Back: Francisco Oller and Caribbean Art in the Era of Impressionism. Yale University Press, 2014.
Sullivan, Edward J. Continental Shifts: the Art of Edouard Duval Carrié. American Art Corp., 2007.
Sullivan, Edward J. Continental Shifts: the Art of Edouard Duval Carrié. American Art Corp., 2007.
Article Indexes & Databases
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876
The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers
Ethnographic Video Online
Worldcat Online Catalog
Journals & Serials
C&America Latina
Contemporary And América Latina is a dynamic, critical art magazine focusing on the connection between Afro-Latin America, The Caribbean and Africa.
Flash Art international
Journal of African American Studies*
International Review of African American Art*
NKA Journal of Contemporary African Art
Duke University
African Studies Quarterly University of Florida
African Arts (JSTOR) *
Selected Internet Sites & Resources
Black Art in Puerto Rico Arte Afro-Puertorriqueño
Afro-Puertorican visual arts links to resources and exhibits
Contemporary African Diaspora Art (CADA)
Contemporary And (C&E) América Latina
Contemporary And América Latina is a dynamic, critical art magazine focusing on the connection between Afro-Latin America, the Caribbean and Africa.
Galerie Monnin (Haiti)
Since the gallery's opening more than 60 years ago in Port au Prince, the Galerie Monnin has presented the works of over one hundred artists, many of whom are in the forefront of Haitian Art today.
Mahogany Culture
History and Culture Collective focused on the retention of Caribbean culture in a contemporary context.
O Menelick 2° Ato Brazil
A rebirth of the short-lived, first ever black journal in Brazil, it is an independent platform for showcasing Afro-Brazilian culture.
Subject Specialist
-
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: gsantana@miami.edu
Follow us on
A Librarian