University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

THA 381/THA 382: Play Analysis

Your Librarian!

General Databases

Literature Criticism and Analysis

Historical Background and Reviews

Start Here!

 
  • JSTOR with Image Search
    ARTstor images are now available via JSTOR image search. When you search for images on JSTOR, you can now find Artstor's 3.2+ million licensed images and more than 800 additional collections alongside JSTOR's books and journal articles. The ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Digital Theatre + Plus
    Digital Theatre+ is the world’s leading educational platform for English and the Performing Arts, providing  students with access to 600+ theatre productions and educational resources. Digital Theatre+ collaborates with renowned theatre companies, actors and creatives to capture live performances in stunning quality and bring you insights from behind the scenes.
  • Gale In Context: Biography
    Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
  • ProQuest Literature Online
    Good coverage of literary criticism. Cross-search the MLA Bibliography and ABELL, with articles from full-text journals.
  • Library of Congress: Digital Collections
    Online collections of the Library of Congress, Use the search function to locate relevant materials.
  • Library of Congress, Photography archives
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.

Finding Plays in our catalog

Find a list of print plays by searching for 'Dramatist Play Service' as a keyword search.  While this won't pull up every play, you'll find a lot of plays listed by date they were published.

Find reviews and more information in American Theatre magazine, which you can access online.

Search our Catalog

Books on Pop Culture in the 1950s

Finding Plays Online