University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

Sustainable Development

Plan (T) Eco-Art

Plan (T) Eco-Art

Recommended Reading

Drawdown: The Most Comprehensive Plan Ever Proposed to Reverse Global Warming
by Paul Hawken

Sixth Assessment Report
UN Intergovernmental Panel
on Climate Change (IPCC)

 

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

    284-6028

Research Guides

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 1.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Economics
International Studies
Political Science
Sociology
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 2.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

African History & Studies
Africana Studies
Global Public Health

 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library)
    Index to National Agricultural Library's international journals, theses, patents, computer software, and technical reports in agriculture and related fields. This database includes but is not limited to resources available in the NAL, and contains 5,200,000+ records including printed works dating back to the 15th century.
  • Agricultural & Environmental Science (ProQuest)
    A multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts the world's research literature in the fields of agricultural and environmental sciences, providing comprehensive coverage from 1967 to the present.Includes the renowned AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 3.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Public Health
Nursing & Health Studies
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • MEDLINE (OVID)
    Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 4.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out this research guide for more resources in these areas.

Education
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
 
  • ERIC (EBSCO)
    ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.5 million records and links to more than 336,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
  • PsycINFO
    Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 5.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out this research guide for more resources in these areas.

Gender & Sexuality Studies
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • Sociological Abstracts
    Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.
  • Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 6.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Health Sector Management & Policy

Global Public Health
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
    Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 7.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Ecosystem Science & Policy

Engineering
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • Agricultural & Environmental Science (ProQuest)
    A multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts the world's research literature in the fields of agricultural and environmental sciences, providing comprehensive coverage from 1967 to the present.Includes the renowned AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
  • Web of Knowledge
    Web of Knowledge is a gateway providing cross product searching & integrated access to these services: Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, Current Contents Connect, Web of Science Proceedings and Highly Cited.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 8.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Economics

Global Business Programs

 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 9.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Engineering

Industry Research

 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
    Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals and newsletters. Business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Coverage of industry news, product and competitive information, and marketing trends. Contains publications on major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, and construction.
  • Engineering Village
    Engineering Village is a comprehensive engineering platform that contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives that academic institutions, corporations and government agencies face every day.Engineering Village offers access to 12 engineering literature and patent databases that provide coverage from a wide range of trusted engineering sources. The databases included are: Learn: Compendex Conference Coverage; Ei Compendex & EI Backfile; Inspec & Inspec Backfile; GEOBASE; GeoRef; EncompassLIT; EnCommpassPAT; Patents: USPTO & EPO; National Technical Information Service (NTIS); PaperChem; Chemical Business NewsBase(CBNB), Chimica.
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts
    Environmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 10.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Economics

International Studies

Political Science
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
 
  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online
    Columbia International Affairs Online contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes journal articles in political science and related areas(international relations, law, public administration, and public policy).

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 11.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Architecture

Sustainable Building Practices
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
 
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCOHost)
    The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers architecture and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, and interior design. Coverage reaches from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
  • Urban Studies Abstracts
    Includes 40,000 bibliographic records covering areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of relevance to the discipline.
  • Water Resources Abstracts
    Water Resources Abstracts provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.This database, which concentrates on water supply and water treatment, complements Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts database, ASFA, where there is greater coverage of the marine environment and biological material

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 12.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Atmospheric Sciences

Ecosystem Science & Policy
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • Agricultural & Environmental Science (ProQuest)
    A multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts the world's research literature in the fields of agricultural and environmental sciences, providing comprehensive coverage from 1967 to the present.Includes the renowned AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 13.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Ecosystem Science & Policy

International Studies

Sustainable Building Practices


 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • Biological Science (ProQuest)
    This service indexes theoretical and applied research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, and related resources in the biological sciences. MEDLINE and TOXLINE are included in the search.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • PAIS International
    PAIS indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 14.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Marine Biology & Ecology

Marine Ecosystems & Society

 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
 
  • ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ProQuest)
    ASFA is the most comprehensive database covering research and technical literature in aquatic sciences. Subfiles include Environmental RouteNet and Water Resource RouteNet.
  • Agricultural & Environmental Science (ProQuest)
    A multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts the world's research literature in the fields of agricultural and environmental sciences, providing comprehensive coverage from 1967 to the present.Includes the renowned AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 15.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

Advertising

Ecosystem Science & Policy
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.

Hint: Search phrase "Lion's Share Fund" in ABI/Inform.
 
  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • Agricultural & Environmental Science (ProQuest)
    A multidisciplinary database that indexes and abstracts the world's research literature in the fields of agricultural and environmental sciences, providing comprehensive coverage from 1967 to the present.Includes the renowned AGRICOLA, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 16.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

International Studies

Political Science
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
 
  • Gale OneFile: LegalTrac
    Gale OneFile: LegalTrac provides indexing for law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals. The American Association of Law Libraries endorses LegalTrac, and its special advisory committee selects, reviews, and enhances the content of this resource. This database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, and British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.
  • PAIS International
    PAIS indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes journal articles in political science and related areas(international relations, law, public administration, and public policy).

For more information, please visit the United Nations' webpage for Goal 17.

Research Guides

We suggest that you check out these research guides for more resources in these areas.

International Studies

Political Science

Global Business
 

These are some of the databases that you could use to begin your research.
  • PAIS International
    PAIS indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes journal articles in political science and related areas(international relations, law, public administration, and public policy).
  • CultureGrams
    CultureGrams is a reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world. The database provides up-to-date country reports on 200+ cultures of the world, all 50 United States, and the Canadian provinces, that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.

Documentaries

The Libraries offer a wide variety of documentaries that address many of the issues surrounding sustainable development. These are the two largest systems that we subscribe to but there are also smaller systems and a large collection of DVDs. To see everything that we offer, we recommend doing a search in our USearch system and then limiting to both the Video and Audiovisual options.
  • Academic Video Online
    AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
  • Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
    Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 

USearch

Guides by Department

College of Arts & Sciences

Anthropology

Biology

Ecosystem Science & Policy

Geography & Regional Studies

History

International Studies

Latin American Studies

Political Science

Sociology

School of Business
 

College of Engineering

Engineering
 
Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Sciences

Marine Biology & Ecology

Marine Ecosystems & Society
 
School of Nursing

Nursing & Health Studies
 

Sustainability Certificate

For full details about this program and the complete list of classes included, see this page.

Guides by Course

The following guides have been developed to support specific classes in the  Sustainability Program.

BUS 300—Critical Thinking and Persuasion for Business

GEG 335—Sustainable Food Systems

INS 101—Global Perspectives

INS 201—Globalization and Change in World Politics

INS 321—International Development

MKT 201—Foundations of Marketing