Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690450
visibleTabCount: 1
About this Guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open accessCollections Online
Menil Collection Houston, TX
Museum Boijmans van Beuningen Rotterdam
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) NY
Musée Magritte Brussels, Belgium
Victoria & Albert Museum (V&A) London
Excellent collection portal illustrating how Surrealist imagery and ideas inspired designers in the fields of photography, theatre, furniture, fashion, textiles, ceramics and graphic design, and includes work by Jean Cocteau, Man Ray and Salvador Dalí among other leading Surrealists.
Museum Boijmans van Beuningen Rotterdam
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) NY
Musée Magritte Brussels, Belgium
Victoria & Albert Museum (V&A) London
Excellent collection portal illustrating how Surrealist imagery and ideas inspired designers in the fields of photography, theatre, furniture, fashion, textiles, ceramics and graphic design, and includes work by Jean Cocteau, Man Ray and Salvador Dalí among other leading Surrealists.
Research Portals & Archives
California State University, Northridge
Digital version of important Surrealist journal, Le Surréalisme au service de la révolution, under the direction of Andre Breton.
Centre Pompidou Paris FR
Pedagogical portal allows exploration of the origins of surrealism, artists, bibliography and glossary.
Getty Research Institute Dada & Surrealism
Surrealism and Dada are one of the Getty's most notable and focused collections. Particularly well-represented are the international nodes of Surrealism in Belgium, Latin America, and Japan.
MoMA Learning / Surrealism
Digital version of important Surrealist journal, Le Surréalisme au service de la révolution, under the direction of Andre Breton.
Centre Pompidou Paris FR
Pedagogical portal allows exploration of the origins of surrealism, artists, bibliography and glossary.
Getty Research Institute Dada & Surrealism
Surrealism and Dada are one of the Getty's most notable and focused collections. Particularly well-represented are the international nodes of Surrealism in Belgium, Latin America, and Japan.
MoMA Learning / Surrealism
Film & Video
Luis Buñuel, et al. Un Chien Andalou. Transflux Films, 2004
Richter Library DVD U523 .B868
Cocteau, et al. Belle Et La bête = Beauty and the Beast. Newly restored special édition. ed., Criterion Collection, 2003.
Richter Library DVD B438 .C638
Richter Library DVD U523 .B868
Cocteau, et al. Belle Et La bête = Beauty and the Beast. Newly restored special édition. ed., Criterion Collection, 2003.
Richter Library DVD B438 .C638
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
About This Guide
“This is not a pipe.” ― Rene Magritte
Meret Oppenheim. Object. 1936.
Selected Readings
Ades, Dawn; Gale, Matthew. Surrealism. Oxford Art Online. 2003.
Voorhies, James. Surrealism. In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000.
Voorhies, James. Surrealism. In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. New York: Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000.
Art Market
Surrealism Today
Online curated list of the best contemporary surrealism, fantastic, visionary, psychedelic, lowbrow, and strange art and artists.
Online curated list of the best contemporary surrealism, fantastic, visionary, psychedelic, lowbrow, and strange art and artists.
Articles, Indexes & Databases
E-Books
Aspley, Keith. Historical Dictionary of Surrealism. Scarecrow Press, 2010.
Brodskai͡a, N. V. Surrealism. Parkstone International, 2018.
Fischer, Lucy, and ProQuest. Cinemagritte : René Magritte within the Frame of Film History, Theory, and Practice. Wayne State University Press, 2019.
Hopkins, David. A Companion to Dada and Surrealism. Wiley Blackwell, 2016.
Lowenstein, Adam. Dreaming of Cinema Spectatorship, Surrealism, and the Age of Digital Media. Columbia University Press, 2015.
Mical, Thomas. Surrealism and Architecture. Routledge, 2005.
Richardson, Michael. Surrealism and Cinema. Berg Publishers, 2006.
Roe, Sue. In Montparnasse : the Emergence of Surrealism in Paris, from Duchamp to Dali. Penguin Press, 2019.
Subject Specialist
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: gsantana@miami.edu
Follow us on
A Librarian