University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

STC 201: Public Relations Strategy Development

News Sources

The NYT link will allow you to register for a free account to their website. You must sign up using your UM email.

The other links are databases that contain the articles from various newspapers.

Databases

  • Business Source Premier
    Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
    The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.
  • MRI Simmons
    MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. 
  • Nexis Uni
    Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
  • SRDS
    Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

Need more help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

    284-6028

Rate your Librarian

Did I come to your class and give a talk? Give us your feedback by taking this quick survey.

MRI Simmons Training

I strongly recommend watching the training video Insight Platform Introduction.
 
The password is MRISimmons2020. You will actually see several videos there. The one you want is the second one (center of the top row). Half an hour long but well worth the time!

 

Blogs

  • KDPaine's PR Measurement Blog
    If you've ever wondered how to measure social media, public relations, public affairs, media relations, internal communications or blogs, this is the place. In this space, there are regular reports about news, techniques and developments in the world of PR research and evaluation.
  • PRSA Blog
    Public Relations Society of AmericaJoin the public relations conversation and get connected with expert insight from our guest bloggers!
  • Ragan's PR Daily
  • Real News PR
    It's a team of award-winning journalists who banded together to deliver results instead of promises.

Keeping up with your chosen profession

This page lists a variety of sources that can be used to keep up with current trends and events in the field of public relations. If you are serious about joining this field as a professional, then you should begin now to develop the habit of regularly perusing these sources.

This is not a comprehensive list but rather a suggested list. You may need to add additional sources depending on your personal focus and interests within the field of public relations.

PR Trade Publications & Journals

Need More Help?

  • Terri Robar

    Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian

    trobar@miami.edu

    284-6028