Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690452
visibleTabCount: 1
Collections Online
The Collections Online links directly coincide with the institution's SEARCH features.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
Spanish Colonial and 19th Century
Arts of the Spanish Americas 1550-1850, MMA NY
Museo de Americas Madrid, SP
The Collection of the Museo de América contains a vast array of Precolumbian, ethnographic, and viceregal objects and documents. The most ancient collections are part of the Real Gabinete de Historia Natural which was founded mid- eighteenth century.
Museo Nacional de Arqueología, Antropología e Historia del Perú (MNAAHP)
Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes, La Habana. Cuba
Print Resources
Burkholder, Mark A., and Lyman L. Johnson. Colonial Latin America. Oxford University Press, 2001.
Herzog, Tamar. Frontiers of Possession: Spain and Portugal in Europe and the Americas. Harvard University Press, 2015.
Hoberman, Louisa Schell, and Susan Migden Socolow. Cities & Society in Colonial Latin America. University of New Mexico Press, 1986.
Pierce, et al. Companion to Glitterati: Portraits & Jewelry from Colonial Latin America at the Denver Art Museum. Mayer Center for Pre-Columbian and Spanish Colonial Art at the Denver Art Museum, 2015.
Herzog, Tamar. Frontiers of Possession: Spain and Portugal in Europe and the Americas. Harvard University Press, 2015.
Hoberman, Louisa Schell, and Susan Migden Socolow. Cities & Society in Colonial Latin America. University of New Mexico Press, 1986.
Pierce, et al. Companion to Glitterati: Portraits & Jewelry from Colonial Latin America at the Denver Art Museum. Mayer Center for Pre-Columbian and Spanish Colonial Art at the Denver Art Museum, 2015.
About this Guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open access
Reference
E-Resources
Burkholder, Mark A. “Spain's America: from Kingdoms to Colonies.” Colonial Latin American Review, vol. 25, no. 2, 2016, pp. 125–153.
Donahue-Wallace, Kelly. Art and Architecture of Viceregal Latin America, 1521-1821. 1st ed., University of New Mexico Press, 2008.
Donahue-Wallace, Kelly. Art and Architecture of Viceregal Latin America, 1521-1821. 1st ed., University of New Mexico Press, 2008.
Article Indexes & Databases
ARTstor Image Database
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'art (RILA)
Searchable together, these citation databases cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals.
JSTOR
Abundant full-text access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'art (RILA)
Searchable together, these citation databases cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals.
JSTOR
Abundant full-text access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Journals & Serials
Subject Specialist
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: gsantana@miami.edu
Follow us on
A Librarian