Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690444
visibleTabCount: 1
Aggregates art, artists and stories in the digitised collections of European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
Frick Collection of Spanish Painting
The Hispanic Museum & Library
Collections Online
The Collections Online links directly coincide with the institution's SEARCH feature.
Centro Virtual Cervantes
Aggregates art, artists and stories in the digitised collections of European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.
Frick Collection of Spanish Painting
The Hispanic Museum & Library
Metropolitan Museum of Art MMA, NY
Morgan Library & Museum NY
Known for its medieval manuscript holdings, search term, “Spain” retrieves images and records for printed Books, Medieval & Renaissance Manuscripts, Prints, Drawings, Paintings & Art Objects and more.
Museo del Prado Spanish Painting up to 1800, Madrid, SP
The Department of Spanish Painting includes just over 2,800 Spanish paintings dating from the 12th to the early 19th centuries spanning the Romanesque, Medieval, Rennaisance and Baroque periods.
Museo Sorolla, Madrid, SP
Perry Castaneda Maps Collection
Internet Search Tips
When searching on the Internet, it is often useful to use terms in the native language of the art/artist topic, i.e. pintura sevillana, ceramica mudejar.
About this Guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
online access
*peer-reviewed
open access
online access*peer-reviewed
open access"I have had three masters; nature, Velasquez and Rembrandt".
Francisco de Goya y Lucientes
Map from "Cuadros de la geografia histórica de España, desde los primeros tiempos históricos hasta el dia." 1849. British Library
Article Indexes & Databases
ARTstor Image Database
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'art (RILA)
Searchable together, these citation databases cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals.
JSTOR
Abundant full-text access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'art (RILA)
Searchable together, these citation databases cover European and American visual arts material including articles from over 1,200 journals.
JSTOR
Abundant full-text access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Films on Spanish Art
"Velázquez, El Greco, Goya and the Spanish Masters." , directed by L. Schwartz. , produced by Studio Quart. , Entertainment One Ltd, 1992. Alexander Street.
Research Portals & Archives
Centro de Estudios Europa Hispanica
The aim of the CEEH is to encourage the study of Spain’s presence and influence in Europe in the Habsburg period and to promote research on Spanish Golden Age art and culture in its European context.
The Frick Art Reference Library
The Frick Art Reference Library, founded in 1920 by Helen Clay Frick as a memorial to her father. Today it is one of the leading institutions for research in the fields of art history and collecting.
Hispana
Hispana is a digital portal and aggregator of Spanish resources (archives, libraries, and museums within the collections of Europeana.
Hispanic Society Museum & Library
Founded in 1904 by Archer Milton Huntington (1870-1955) with the object of establishing a free, public museum and reference library for the study of the art and culture of the Spain, Portugal, Latin America, and the Philippines.
Hispanic Institute Columbia University, NY
A scholarly and cultural center whose aims are to disseminate research on Iberian and Latin American cultures in all their manifestations and to promote academics that showcase new contributions to Latin American and Iberian cultural production in Europe, Latin America, and the United States.
King Juan Carlos I of Spain Center New York University, NY
The King Juan Carlos I of Spain Center promotes research and teaching on Spain and the Spanish-speaking world at New York University.
Journals & Serials
Burlington Magazine * (available through JSTOR)
Devoted to the fine and decorative arts
Gesta * (available through JSTOR)
Romanesque and Medieval Art
(available through JSTOR)Devoted to the fine and decorative arts
Gesta *
(available through JSTOR)
Subject Specialist
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: gsantana@miami.edu
Follow us on
A Librarian