University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

SOC 271: Criminal Justice

Peer Research Consultants

Want to talk to someone who can help you find what you need?

Peer Research Consultants can help you with:
  • Developing search strategies
  • Finding scholarly resources
  • Creating and managing citations
  • Facilitating meetings with other experts in the Learning Commons

Peer Research Consultants are located in the Learning Commons on the first floor of Otto G. Richter Library on the Coral Gables campus.

Stop by, book an appointment, or call us at 305-284-4722.

To access research help on all three campuses, check out our Ask a Librarian service.

Welcome to SOC 271!

Welcome to the Introduction to Sociology 271 Guide! This page on the Sociology guide is specifically designed to assist with Sociology 271. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Sociology guide for research help.

If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to Ask a Librarian!

USearch

Databases

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)

The NCJRS, a federally sponsored information clearinghouse, provides access to the world's largest law enforcement and criminal justice database.

PsycINFO

Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.

Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.

Statistics

​​​​​​U.S. Department of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. 

Statista
Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.