Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690077
visibleTabCount: 1
Welcome to Sociology 210!
Welcome to the Introduction to Sociology 210 Guide! This page on the Sociology guide is specifically designed to assist with Sociology 210. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Sociology guide for research help.
If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to Ask a Librarian!
Peer Research Consultants
Want to talk to someone who can help you find what you need?
Peer Research Consultants can help you with:
Peer Research Consultants can help you with:
- Developing search strategies
- Finding scholarly resources
- Creating and managing citations
- Facilitating meetings with other experts in the Learning Commons
Peer Research Consultants are located in the Learning Commons on the first floor of Otto G. Richter Library on the Coral Gables campus.
Stop by, book an appointment, or call us at 305-284-4722.
To access research help on all three campuses, check out our Ask a Librarian service.
How Good Are Your Websites?
How do you know if a website is legitimate? A search in Google can return thousands, even millions of results. Are they all good? Should you use them? The URLs themselves give hints regarding their authenticity.
.com: .com's are commercial sites. It's possible that they can provide you with quality information, but their main purpose is to make money.
.org: A .org is the website of an organization. An organization may or may not be a credible resource, and has the potential to be strongly biased, depending on what the organization is working towards.
.edu: A .edu is the site of an educational institution. Miami.edu, for example, is the web address of the University of Miami. .edu addresses are generally reliable. The .ac ending is similar to the .edu ending. .ac stands for "academic" and is sometimes used in international institutions of learning.
.gov: .gov websites are government owned and run websites. They are generally reliable resources. WhiteHouse.gov, for example, is the website of the White House. State.gov is the website of the Department of State.
Citation Help
Need help with your citations? Check out the Purdue OWL! The OWL provides direction on building bibliographies and in-text citations for APA format.
USearch
Databases
The CQ Researcher explores a single issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.
ERIC(Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text educational literature and resources. Essential for education researchers of all kinds, it features journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1.5 million records and links to more than 336,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications. Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.
Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
Statistics Databases
The UM Libraries provide access to many statistics databases. You can find a list of them here:
A Librarian