University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

SOC 103: Social Problems

Sociology 103: Social Problems

Welcome to the Introduction to Sociology 103 Guide! This page on the Sociology guide is specifically designed to assist with Sociology 103. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Sociology guide for research help.

If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to Ask a Librarian!

Peer Research Consultants

Want to talk to someone who can help you find what you need?

Peer Research Consultants can help you with:
  • Developing search strategies
  • Finding scholarly resources
  • Creating and managing citations
  • Facilitating meetings with other experts in the Learning Commons

Peer Research Consultants are located in the Learning Commons on the first floor of Otto G. Richter Library on the Coral Gables campus.

Stop by, book an appointment, or call us at 305-284-4722.

To access research help on all three campuses, check out our Ask a Librarian service.

USearch

Databases

CQ Researcher Plus Archive

The CQ Researcher explores a single issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications. Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.