University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

SOC 291: Disability in Society

Search E-Journals

Looking for a particular journal?

If you have the title of a journal and wish to search its contents, check out UM's list of journals. Enter the name of the journal into the search box and let it take you directly to the journal you're looking for.

 

Welcome to SOC 291!

Welcome to the Disability in Society Guide! This page on the Sociology Research Guide is specifically designed to assist with Soc 291. Think of it as a one-stop-shop for all your research needs. Take a look through this page and other tabs throughout the Sociology guide for research help.

If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to Ask a Librarian!

USearch

Sociology Databases

CQ Researcher Plus Archive

The CQ Researcher explores a single issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications. Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.

Sociology Dictionaries

Dictionary of the Social Sciences 

 

Sociology Encyclopedia

  • Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
    The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology is the reference for students, researchers, librarians, and academics in the field. It contains over 1800 entries covering the history and concepts of the discipline.