University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

Russia Research Resources

Russia in Global Affairs

  • Russia in Global Affairs
    Russian journal dealing with the foreign policy of Russia and providing a Russian a worldview on global affairs. Published by Foreign Policy Research Foundation.

Literature, Music, Culture

  • ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
    The Atla Religion Database is an essential resource for religious and theological studies, containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.
  • MLA International Bibliography
    The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
  • Music Index
    The Music Index provides citations to scholarly and popular music journals and magazines, indexing more than 690 international music periodicals. Book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed.

Politics, History, General

START HERE if you are beginning your research:

  • CIA World Factbook
    US government profiles of countries and territories around the world.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online
    Columbia International Affairs Online contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
  • Military & Government Collection
    Provides full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Organization for Security & Co-operation in Europe
    A regional security organization, a forum for political dialogue on a wide range of security issues and a platform for joint action to improve the lives of individuals and communities.

Timeline of Russian History

Timeline of Russian History

This Interactive Timeline is a companion to The Face of Russia series, tracing the general chronology of Russian culture. This remarkable journey through ten centuries of art, architecture, music, dance and cinema reveals the major events that shaped Russian culture.
 

Subject Specialist

  • Adrian Legaspi

    History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian

    axl641@miami.edu

    305-284-3257

Business, Trade

  • ABI/INFORM Collection
    ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
  • Political Risk Yearbook
    Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors.
  • EIU Viewpoint (Formerly Economist Intelligence Unit)
    In-depth country analysis and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country. Also includes analysis of global automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, and telecommunications industries. This service's Data tool can be used to compare economic data across or within countries.

Russia-Based News Sources

  • Moscow Times
    Independent Russian newspaper
  • TASS
    News agency of the Russian government.
  • Current Digest of the Russian Press
    Weekly digest that presents a selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English, intended for use in teaching and research.
  • Russian Life
    Magazine covering culture, history, travel and life.
  • Russia Beyond the Headlines
    English version of state owned Rossiyskaya Gazeta newspaper.
  • Interfax
    Major pro-government news agency.
  • RT
    Russian international TV network funded by the Russian government.

News Databases

  • Access World News
    Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
  • Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
    Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
  • New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
    Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary.
  • New York Times Digital Edition
    Digital edition of The New York Times.
  • Financial Times Digital
    News and analysis covering business, innovation, politics, trends and more.
  • Wall Street Journal Online
    Published since 1889, the Wall Street Journal covers U.S. and world news, as well as politics, arts, culture, and more. The online version includes streaming news, interactive options, video features, blogs, and more traditional content.

Subject Specialist

  • Adrian Legaspi

    History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian

    axl641@miami.edu

    305-284-3257

Comprehensive Statistical Databases

  • Statista
    Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
  • OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) iLibrary
    OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD, IEA, NEA, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and ITF.
  • IMF eLIBRARY
    The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators.
  • World Bank Open Data
    Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.

Statistics, Public Opinion, Datasets

  • EIU Viewpoint (Formerly Economist Intelligence Unit)
    In-depth country analysis and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country. Also includes analysis of global automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, and telecommunications industries. This service's Data tool can be used to compare economic data across or within countries.
  • Global Bilateral Migration Database (World Bank)
    Global matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000, disaggregated by gender and based primarily on the foreign-born concept are presented.
  • Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research
    ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data.
  • iPOLL
    iPOLL's online database contains survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations. iPOLL is a source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
  • PENN World Table
    The Penn World Table is a set of national-accounts data developed and maintained by scholars at the University of Pennsylvania to measure real GDP (per capita) from the corresponding relative price levels across countries and over time.
  • Polling The Nations
    The ultimate resource for polling information is Polling the Nations with more than 400,000 questions including the work of 700 polling organizations. Each question in international, state, local and special polls is listed under one of 4,500 topics.Polling the Nations is the most comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 90 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues. Polling the Nations began in 1981 as a database of American Public Opinion Index. Over the years the database expanded to include surveys from more than 90 other countries in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Africa, and Asia in an electronic format. Polling the Nations has collected more than 500,000 questions from an amazing array of sources. There are 5000 topics in the Polling the Nations database. No other source even approaches this number. The subjects cover myriad issues such as gun control, abortion, government, women, race relations, the economy and children. In addition to these recurring themes, episodic events such as the Clinton impeachment, the 2000 vote count in Florida and the September 11 attacks are added in a timely fashion.
  • SIPRI: Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
    International institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public.
  • UN Data
    Simple single-entry point for a variety of statistical resources including those from United Nations Organizations such as FAO, UNESCO, ILO, WHO, UNDP, ITU, UNHCR, and more.
  • UNHCR Statistical Online Population Database
    Provides data and trends on the "Population of concern to UNHCR": refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, internally displaced persons (IDPs) protected/assisted by UNHCR, returned IDPs, stateless persons, and others of concern to UNHCR, in more than 150 countries.

Subject Specialist

  • Adrian Legaspi

    History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian

    axl641@miami.edu

    305-284-3257

Selected Books