Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690806
visibleTabCount: 8
Search the Library Catalog
Use the uSearch option form the library webpage: library.miami.edu
uSearch allows you to search and discover materials from all of the University Libraries, including Law and Medical.
It allows for searching by:
Everything - journal articles, books, e-books, CDs, DVDs, archival materials, University Archives and more !
Library Catalog - searches everythign except journal articles and UM Digital Collections, Allows you to also selcted individual speciality libraries for your serach.
Course Reserves - any materials that have been placed on course reserve
UM Digital Collections - unique digitized items from the UM Libraries like the Cuban Heritiage Collection, Special Collections, Universities Archives , dissertations and more!
Fine tune your search stragies
- Identify your key concepts
- use your research question to determine your search terms
- look at the references on publications that you are interested in
- Identify your search terms and alternative search terms
- look to synonyms, related terms , alternative spellings for search terms
- Make use of limiters, in the Library catalog and in databases! Refine your results!
- limit by publication types
- limit by time frame
- limit by subject area
- Combine your search terms
- Review your results
- Do your results fit your assignment criteria
- Are the results relevant to your topic and discipline
- How old are your results?
- How well cited are your results?
- Adjust your strategy and search again if the desired results are not achieed.
- refine your search terms
- Use Boolean Searches
- use wildcard * ; "_"; ()
- use AND / OR / NOT
Popular Databases for EVR
ASFA: Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstract
The Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Database provides editorially-curated A&I resources in the fisheries, aquatic, and marine sciences. Sources include scholarly journals, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, and grey literature in English and multiple other languages.
This database is produced in partnership with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
The BioOne Digital Library is a community-based platform that provides global distribution for more than 580 journals and eBooks in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The BioOne Digital Library provides access to all of BioOne’s offerings, including our flagship aggregation BioOne Complete, the BioOne Complete Archive, and the ESA eBook Collection and CSIRO Publishing BioSelect Collection from BioOne eBooks.
Environmental Ptrotection Agency (EPA)
Social Sciences Citation Index
A Clarivate database to locate key papers from reliable social science journals to help build an authoritative understanding of sical science topics.
A multidisciplinary database of authoritative academic abstracts and citations.
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.
Subject Specialist
-
Ann Campbell
Access Services Manager, Rosenstiel School of Marine, Atmospheric, and Earth Science Library
A Librarian