Public Relations subjectId: 73

• RefWorks
  Refworks is a web based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.
• EndNote
  Students, faculty and staff download from the University of Miami Technology Center.

Welcome to the University of Miami Libraries guide to Public Relations resources! The purpose of this guide is to help you navigate through the many resources available to you through the University of Miami Libraries system.

• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
  Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Kanopy
  Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies. Films are activated on-demand for faculty and graduate students.
• Feature Films for Education
  Feature Films for Education is a digital video streaming platform that offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational purposes; focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, the collection includes literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics, foreign films, and more. Recommend Chrome browser.
• Swank Digital Campus
  Streaming videos primarily of classic and modern Hollywood films. Additional films may be available upon request by faculty for course reserves.

• Communication & Mass Media Complete
  The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.

• Ask a Librarian
• Library Homepage
• Richter Library Hours
• Databases (A-Z List)

• Library Homepage
  
• WorldCat Online Catalog
  The world's largest 'library' catalog. WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog, containing more than 40 million bibliographic items representing the merged library records of Richter Library & hundreds of other member libraries worldwide.

• Ebrary Academic Complete
  Provides access to over 100,000 academic titles across many disciplines. Books may be viewed online using the ebrary reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Users will be prompted to create / log in to their own ebrary account to access the download functionality. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at "http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download"). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.
• PsycBOOKS
  Database of over 24,000 chapters in PDF format from over 1,500 books published by APA and other publishers. Includes over 800 classic books of historical impact in psychology.

• Academic Search Premier
  Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• Access World News
  Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
• Adforum
  View examples of real advertisements from all forms of media, including print and video, from around the world. Most of them are award winners.
• Business Insights: Global
  A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
• Business Source Premier
  Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them.
• ComAbstracts
  ComAbstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles in communication studies and related areas (rhetoric, journalism, mass communication, new media technologies, and speech).
• Communication & Mass Media Complete
  The most comprehensive index to communication journals and other materials. Includes full-text for most articles.
• Communication Abstracts
  Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information for communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books covering not only communication literature, but also other disciplines that are relevant to communication researchers.
• Foundation Directory Online
  The Foundation Directory Online is comprised of two searchable databases: a) Foundation Database; b) Grants Database. The foundations database contains a directory of over 76,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities. The grants database is a collection of over 350,000 grants rewarded by foundations located in the United States.
• MarketResearch.com Academic
  MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information.Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication.
• MRI Simmons
  MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. 
• Nexis Uni
  Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
• SRDS
  Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
• Statista
  Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.

• KDPaine's PR Measurement Blog
  If you've ever wondered how to measure social media, public relations, public affairs, media relations, internal communications or blogs, this is the place. In this space, there are regular reports about news, techniques and developments in the world of PR research and evaluation.
• PRSA Blog
  Public Relations Society of AmericaJoin the public relations conversation and get connected with expert insight from our guest bloggers!
• Ragan's PR Daily
  
• Real News PR
  It's a team of award-winning journalists who banded together to deliver results instead of promises.

• PR News
  Published by Phillips Publishing. Available through the Nexis Uni database.
• Bulldog Reporter Business Media
  Available through the Nexis Uni database.
• Advertising Age Datacenter
  This website provides a list of the 100 leading national advertisers. The list provides the total ad expenditures for each company. Select a company name for expenditures by media and brand.
• Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly
  
• Public Relations Journal
  
• Public Relations Quarterly
  
• Public Relations Review
  
• Public Relations Tactics
  Published by Public Relations Society of America. Available through Business Source Premier database.

• Associated Press guide to photojournalism
  Rev. ed. of: Associated Press photo-journalism stylebook
• Associated Press Stylebook and briefing on media law
  

• PR Squared
  Conversations about social media and marketing.
• PR 2.0 : new media, new tools, new audiences / Deirdre Breakenridge
• LinkedIn Learning
  Offers over 42,000 how-to videos on a wide-range of software applications, from Microsoft Word and Adobe Photoshop to Final Cut Studio.

• Consumer Expenditures (Bureau of Labor & Statistics)
  Consists of two surveys, the quarterly Interview Survey & the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families & single consumers) characteristics.
• data.census.gov
  Population, housing, economic, and geographic data gathered by the U.S. Census Bureau and other government agencies.

• MRI Simmons
  MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. 
• MarketResearch.com Academic
  MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information.Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication.
• Nexis Uni
  Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

• European Public Opinion
  This is the web site for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission.  
• Gallup Organization
  Provides market research and consulting services around the world. Publisher of the Gallup Poll, a widely recognized barometer of American opinion.
• iPOLL
  iPOLL's online database contains survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations. iPOLL is a source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
• Polling Report
  The web site for the bi-weekly newsletter Polling Report. This site provides polls from over 36 sources, including Gallup, Harris, Pew Research, and media organizations. Recent polls are listed in the center of the homepage.
• Polling The Nations
  The ultimate resource for polling information is Polling the Nations with more than 400,000 questions including the work of 700 polling organizations. Each question in international, state, local and special polls is listed under one of 4,500 topics.Polling the Nations is the most comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 90 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues. Polling the Nations began in 1981 as a database of American Public Opinion Index. Over the years the database expanded to include surveys from more than 90 other countries in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Africa, and Asia in an electronic format. Polling the Nations has collected more than 500,000 questions from an amazing array of sources. There are 5000 topics in the Polling the Nations database. No other source even approaches this number. The subjects cover myriad issues such as gun control, abortion, government, women, race relations, the economy and children. In addition to these recurring themes, episodic events such as the Clinton impeachment, the 2000 vote count in Florida and the September 11 attacks are added in a timely fashion.

• Industry Research Guide

• Company Research Guide

• Business Insights: Global
  A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
• Mergent Online
  Provides Mergent business and industry reports.
• Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
  Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis. Industry data sets (see Markets tab in menu) include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 97% of worldwide publicly traded market capitalization. Historical stock price charting and screening tools also provided. 

• O'Dwyers directory of public relations firms
  This print directory is kept in the Reference Collection on the first floor of the Richter Library.

• SRDS
  Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
• Business & Company Resource Center
  Business & Company Resource Center brings together in a single database company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, related periodical articles, and detailed company and industry news.
• MarketResearch.com Academic
  MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information.Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication.
• PAIS International
  PAIS indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics.

• Endnote
• RefWorks

• Citing business databases in APA style (UNC Greensboro)
  This guide is from UNC Greensboro and includes examples of how to cite company profiles in Business & Company Resource Center as well as Business Source Premier, the advertising red books, Mergent financial reports, and more!
• How to cite MRI MediaMark reports
  This links to another guide. Look to the left hand column for a box labeled "MRI MediaMark." There is an example of how to cite a guide there.

• APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue University)