Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690204
visibleTabCount: 1
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Portugal and individual cities.
Portugal
Lisbon
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY PORTUGAL in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: República Portuguesa (Portuguese Republic)
Capital city: Lisbon
National language: Portuguese
Major religion: Roman Catholic
Log on here!
Portugal (Lonely Planet)
Lisbon (DK Eyewitness)
Jardines BotaÌnicos de España y Portugal (ebook)
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country.
We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Capitães de Abril = April Captains
Pereira Declares = Sostiene Pereira
Tabu by Miguel Gomes
Streaming
Viagem ao Princípio do Mundo = Voyage to the Beginning of the World
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
More UM Study Abroad Resources
USearch
Tips for using USearch
There are many different kinds of materials described on this page. To see all that the library has to offer for a specific category, use the USearch box above.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
More Information About Portugal and Its Cities
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Portugal and individual cities.
Portugal
Lisbon
Films About Your Country
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY PORTUGAL in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Portugal
This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in Portugal.
Quick Facts
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: República Portuguesa (Portuguese Republic)
Capital city: Lisbon
National language: Portuguese
Major religion: Roman Catholic
Language Help
- Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
- 72 languages are available, including Portuguese
- Watch movies with subtitles
- Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)
Log on here!
Suggested Readings
Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.
Distant Music by Lee Langley
Night Train to Lisbon by Pascal Mercier
Os Lusiadas = The Lusiads by Luís de Camões
Portuguese English
The Portuguese: A Modern History by Barry Hatton (ebook)
A Small Death in Lisbon by Robert Wilson (ebook)
Distant Music by Lee Langley
Night Train to Lisbon by Pascal Mercier
Os Lusiadas = The Lusiads by Luís de Camões
Portuguese English
The Portuguese: A Modern History by Barry Hatton (ebook)
A Small Death in Lisbon by Robert Wilson (ebook)
Travel Guides
- Plan your free time!
- Large collection in the Richter Library
- These can be borrowed
Portugal (Lonely Planet)
Lisbon (DK Eyewitness)
Jardines BotaÌnicos de España y Portugal (ebook)
Your libraries are here to help!
- Plan your free time!
- Large collection in the Richter Library
- These can be borrowed
Watch a Movie!
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country.
We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Capitães de Abril = April Captains
Pereira Declares = Sostiene Pereira
Tabu by Miguel Gomes
Streaming
Viagem ao Princípio do Mundo = Voyage to the Beginning of the World
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Newspapers
Inform yourself on current topics!
Databases with newspapers from Portugal
Databases with newspapers from Portugal
A Librarian