University of Miami Sliver-logo
Tools
Research Guides

POL511 Security on the Arabian Peninsula

News

  • Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
    Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
  • BBC News: Middle East
    BBC coverage of Middle East, including up-to-date reports on the Arab Uprisings, Egypt in Transition and Syria Conflict. Country profiles and timelines.
  • New York Times: Middle East
    New York Times coverage of the Middle East.
  • Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI)
    MEMRI explores the Middle East and South Asia through their media, providing translations as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends.
  • Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
    The Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers collection is comprised of a large amount of unique content from publications across the region, providing insights into the history of individual countries as well as a broader look at historic events from the late nineteenth century through the present.
  • Al Jazeera

Governmental and NGO Sources

Books

Relevant Databases

  • ProQuest Research Library
    ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
  • Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
    Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism contains millions of articles to help researchers gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection is intended for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
  • Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
    Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence contains scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily, content supports key subject areas, such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes journal articles in political science and related areas(international relations, law, public administration, and public policy).
  • Columbia International Affairs Online
    Columbia International Affairs Online contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.

Subject Specialist

  • Adrian Legaspi

    History, Religious Studies, Political Science, International Studies, and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian

    axl641@miami.edu

    305-284-3257

Country Profiles and Outlooks

  • Political Risk Yearbook
    Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors.
  • CIA World Factbook
    US government profiles of countries and territories around the world.
  • EIU Viewpoint (Formerly Economist Intelligence Unit)
    In-depth country analysis and data, including descriptions of the politics, economy, risk, regulation, and business environment of a country. Also includes analysis of global automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare, and telecommunications industries. This service's Data tool can be used to compare economic data across or within countries.