Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 149118
visibleTabCount: 4
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
Oxford Art Online
Time Magazine Archive
Worldcat Online Catalog
access online
* peer-reviewed
open access
Oxford Companion to the Photograph
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth Century Photography
Hannavy, John. New York: Taylor & Francis Group, 2008.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century PhotographyWarren, Lynne. New York : Routledge , 2006.
Abrams Encyclopedia of PhotographyGovignon, Brigitte. New York : Harry N. Abrams. 2004.
Indext to American Photographic Collections: compiled at the INternational Museum of Photography at the George Eastman House.Eskind, Andrew H. ; Drake, Greg; McQuaid, James, Boston, Mass. : G.K. Hall , 1990.
Looking at Photographs: A Guide to Technical Terms.Baldwin, Gordon, 1939- ; Jürgens, Martin C. Los Angeles, Calif. : J. Paul Getty Museum , 2009.
The Photograph Collector's GuideWitkin, Lee D. ; London, Barbara. Boston : New York Graphic Society , 1979.
Guide to Photographic Collections at the Smithsonian Institution.
Smithsonian Institution ; Vogt-O'Connor, Diane Washington: Smithsonian Institution Press , 1989.
Images of History: Nineteenth an Early Twentieth Century Latin American Photographs as Documents.Levine, Robert M. Durham: Duke University Press , 1989.
The Concise Focal Encyclopedia of Photography From the First Photo on Paper to the Digital Revolution.Peres, Michael R. Burlington, MA: Focal Press/Elsevier , 2008.
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1969.
Harvard (18th ed.)
University of Miami Photo Collections
4th of July, Miami Beach
Michael L. Carlebach Photography Collection
Special Collections Digital Collections
Picture 2
Administrator Switzer welcoming Cuban refugees arriving in the Cuban Freedom flights, 1968
Cuban Photograph Collections
Cuban Heritage Collection
Picture 3
Cheerleader. 1964
UM Historical Photographs Collection
University Archives
Photo Archives and Museum Collections
Amon Carter Museum of American Art, Fort Worth, TX
The Carter houses over 45,000 exhibition-quality prints that span the history of the medium, from one of the earliest daguerreotypes made in this country to inkjet prints being made today. The collection includes landscape photography, portraits of Native Americans, and a complete set of Richard Avedon’s In the American West. It also holds several photographers’ archives, including those of Carlotta Corpron, Laura Gilpin, Eliot Porter, and Karl Struss.
Brooklyn Museum of Art Photography Collections Brooklyn, NY
The Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences, the parent organization of the Brooklyn Museum, formed the first school of photography in the United States in 1889. Clarence White, the founder of the Photo-Secession movement, served as one of the chief instructors at that time, and annual photography exhibitions were held for over sixty years, beginning in 1891. Although no formal curatorial department of photography was established, the Brooklyn Museum began to acquire photographs out of these exhibitions in 1899.
Carnegie Museum of Art, Pittsburgh, PA
(Filter by Department of Photography)
Center for Creative Photography (CCP) Tucson, AZ
One of the world's finest academic art museums and study centers for the history of photography. Beginning with the archives of five living master photographers—Ansel Adams, Wynn Bullock, Harry Callahan, Aaron Siskind, and Frederick Sommer—the collection has grown to include 270 archival collections. Among these are some of the most recognizable names in 20th century North American photography: W. Eugene Smith, Lola Alvarez Bravo, Edward Weston, and Garry Winogrand.
CCP Collections online
George Eastman House: Photographic Collections Online
A digital image sampler and browsing resource for the vast photography holdings of George Eastman House.
Harry Ransom Center Austin, TX
The Ransom Center's photography collection has grown to more than five million prints and negatives, ranging from the earliest photographic trials to the latest contemporary works. The collection's encyclopedic scope makes it one of the world's premier sources for the study of photography and its history.
History Miami Center for Photography
The core mission of the HistoryMiami Center for Photography is to collect, safeguard, and share the photographic images that tell the stories of our community and illuminate the Miami experience. The Center emphasizes documentary photography and serves photographers, researchers, and our diverse public.
International Center for Photography (ICP)
ICP’s permanent collection contains more than 200,000 prints and related materials that range from the earliest forms of photography to contemporary work. It was founded by Cornell Capa in 1974 to champion “concerned photography”—socially and politically minded images that can educate and change the world.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
LOC Prints and Photographs online features nearly one million digital images taken from the Library's 50+ collections of prints and photographs. Included are images from the the National Child Labor Committee Collection, the U.S. News and World Report Magazine Photograph Collection, the Library of Congress Baseball Card Collection, and the Collection of Architecture, Design and Engineering Drawings.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Photographs Collection New York, NY
A collection of approximately seventy-five thousand works spanning the history of photography from its invention in the 1830s to the present.
Milwakee Art Museum
Floyd and Josephine Segal Collection of Photography
Over 300 exceptional works by master photographers including Diane Arbus, Eugène Atget, Bill Brandt, Brassaï, Henri Cartier-Bresson, Lee Friedlander, Robert Mapplethorpe, Irving Penn, August Sander, and Garry Winogrand.
Museum of Modern Art, NY (MOMANY)
(filter by Photography)
National Geographic Photo Galleries
New York Public Library Digital Collections
This site is a living database with new materials added every day.
Photogrammar
A web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).
A web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United States Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).
UM Libraries Land Acknowledgment
The University of Miami acknowledges the ancestral and traditional territories of the Seminole Tribe of Florida, the Council of the Original Miccosukee Simanolee Nation Aboriginal Peoples and the Miccosukee Tribe of Indians of Florida who are the original owners and custodians of the land upon which we stand and learn.
Recommended Quick Reads
Daniel, Malcom. "Daguerre (1787-1851)and the Invention of Photography. In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000.
Subject Specialist
-
-
Gilda Santana
Director, Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
305-284-5282
Book a Consultation
Researchers must submit their consultation request through this form.
Contact Information
Architecture Research Center
1223 Dickinson Drive
University of Miami
Coral Gables, FL 33146
Phone: 305.284.5282
E-mail: um.arc@miami.edu
Follow us on
Databases / Indexes
Art Index Retrospective 1924-1984
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
Oxford Art Online
The gateway into art research, including the Grove Dictionary of Art, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Project Muse
Project Muse
Worldcat Online Catalog
About this guide
Note: Many of the databases and/or article links referenced in this guide require CaneID authentication through the the UM Library system unless denoted by the "open access" symbol.
access online* peer-reviewed
open accessVideo
“Documenting the Face of America: Roy Stryker and the FSA/OWI Photographers.” Films On Demand, Films Media Group, 2008.
E-Books
Diack, Heather; Duganne, Erin; and Weissman, Terri. Global Photography: A Critical History. 2020. Routledge, Taylor & Francis. (forthcoming)
Diack, Heather. Documents of Doubt: the Photographic Conditions of Conceptual Art. University of Minnesota Press, 2020.
Massoni, Anne Leighton, and Marni Shindelman. The Focal Press Companion to the Constructed Image in Contemporary Photography. Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2019.
Diack, Heather. Documents of Doubt: the Photographic Conditions of Conceptual Art. University of Minnesota Press, 2020.
Massoni, Anne Leighton, and Marni Shindelman. The Focal Press Companion to the Constructed Image in Contemporary Photography. Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2019.
Electronic Journals and Serials
Afterimage *
British Journal of Photography
Camera Work
Exposure
File: A Collection of Unexpected Photography
History of Photography *
Photoresearcher
European Society for the History of Photography
Popular Photography
Modern Photography
Photography and Culture *
European Photography
Studio Photography
Trans-Asia Photography Review
British Journal of Photography
Camera Work
Exposure
File: A Collection of Unexpected Photography
History of Photography *
Photoresearcher
European Society for the History of Photography
Popular Photography
Modern Photography
Photography and Culture *
European Photography
Studio Photography
Trans-Asia Photography Review
Dictionaries--Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth Century Photography
Hannavy, John. New York: Taylor & Francis Group, 2008.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography
Abrams Encyclopedia of Photography
Indext to American Photographic Collections: compiled at the INternational Museum of Photography at the George Eastman House.
Looking at Photographs: A Guide to Technical Terms.
The Photograph Collector's Guide
Guide to Photographic Collections at the Smithsonian Institution.
Smithsonian I
Images of History: Nineteenth an Early Twentieth Century Latin American Photographs as Documents.
The Concise Focal Encyclopedia of Photography From the First Photo on Paper to the Digital Revolution.
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography
New York: McGraw-Hill, 1969.
Citation Styles
Images must be cited like all other resources. Just like with text, you need to cite images, photos, graphs, charts, videos; in other words, any images you use. Image citations should include the following information: title; creator name; repository information (museum, library, or other owning institution); image source (database, website, book, postcard, vendor, etc.); and date accessed. Other useful information includes date, culture, and rights information if known. Use any citation style of your choice. To see a list of online citation tools:
http://library.miami.edu/citation-help/
Citation Styles using "The Oxford companion to the photograph"
APA (6th ed.)
Lenman, R. (2005). The Oxford companion to the photograph. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Chicago (Author-Date, 15th ed.)
Lenman, Robin. 2005. The Oxford companion to the photograph. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Harvard (18th ed.)
LENMAN, R. (2005). The Oxford companion to the photograph. Oxford, Oxford University Press.
MLA (7th ed.)
Lenman, Robin. The Oxford Companion to the Photograph. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. Print.
Turabian (6th ed.)
Lenman, Robin. The Oxford Companion to the Photograph. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005.
About Copyright
The re-use of images for educational purposes (not including print or electronic publication of any kind) is generally considered acceptable under the terms of "fair use". If you wish to publish images, even for educational purposes, you will first need to find out whether or not the image is protected by copyright, and then how to get copyright clearance. Permission to publish might also be required from the institution that owns the image, even if it is in the public domain, particularly images found in licensed databases (like ARTstor). There is often a fee for acquiring permission to publish. When in doubt, consult the University of Miami Libraries Understanding Copyright
Citing Image from Online Source
Edward Steichen. Alfred Stieglitz at "291". Photograph, 1915.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Alfred Stieglitz Collection, 1933. (33.43.29)
http://pup.princeton.edu/steichen/stieglitz.html (accessed 4.08.15)
A Librarian