Philosophy subjectId: 13206

Welcome to the Richter Library's Guide to Philosophy!

Hello all, and welcome to the University of Miami Libraries' Guide to Philosophy! The purpose of this guide is to help you navigate through the many philosophy-related resources available to you through the University of Miami Libraries system. Please feel free to contact the Philosophy librarian with requests for any books you might need. 

Need to know more about a particular philosopher?

The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Simon Blackburn
B41 .B53 2008

• Arts and Humanities Citation Index
  International coverage of more than 1,150 leading arts and humanities journals as well as selective coverage from leading science and social sciences journals.
• Oxford Classical Dictionary, Fourth Edition
  Unrivalled in scope for over sixty years, this established reference work has been thoroughly updated for this edition to reflect modern scholarship. Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, it covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology.As well as providing factual information, the Dictionary contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology. Anthropology and reception have been added as new subject areas, covering topics such as creolization and kinship, as well as dance reception and translation.The most authoritative and accessible dictionary of its kind, this is an essential reference for both scholars and non-specialists with an interest in the classical era.
• Oxford English Dictionary
  The Oxford English Dictionary, the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language, is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
• Past Masters
  Past Masters provides search, browse and read access to scholarly editions of the works of great Western philosophers, including Plato, Hegel, Peirce and others. The service offers both an original language edition and an English translation of every work in the collection. A searchable edition of the Oxford Duden German Dictionary is provided at the site.
• Philosopher's Index
  The Philosopher's Index indexes and abstracts books and journals covering philosophy and related fields.
• PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online

Philosophy Compass
An online-only journal unique in its vision to publish original, peer-reviewed surveys of current research from across the entire discipline, with the aim of providing topical and significant research on a monthly basis. Philosophy Compass provides an ideal starting point for both specialist and non-specialist, offering pointers for researchers, teachers, and students alike, to help them find and interpret the best research in the field.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Run by Stanford University, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP) is dynamic, regularly updated reference work maintained by scholars in the field of philosophy.

• Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
  "The purpose of the IEP is to provide detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia’s articles are written with the intention that most of the article can be understood by advanced undergraduates majoring in philosophy and by other scholars who are not working in the field covered by that article." - from the IEP
• Practical Ethics
  Practical Ethics provides "daily ethical analysis of news events from researchers in four centres based at the Philosophy Faculty, University of Oxford." - from Practical Ethics
• NABT Bioethics Web Resources