Accessibility Options:
subjectId: 690727
visibleTabCount: 8
Using This Guide
This research guide is designed for Frost School of Music students and faculty looking for library materials related to instrumental performance. Organized by program, you can find call number ranges for browsing for repertoire, recommended books, databases, journals, and more.
Looking for Something Specific? Search the Library Catalog
Purchase Requests
The Weeks Music Library welcomes material recommendations from UM students, faculty, and staff. Please fill out this purchase request form to recommend books, scores, or recordings for the collection.
Questions? Ask the Experts at Weeks!
-
-
Anna Dimoula
Scholarly Communications Librarian for Performing Arts & Humanities
-
Consultations and Library Instruction
Whether you're new to the Frost School of Music or a seasoned professor, the Weeks Music Library has a variety of resources and services designed to support performance, research, teaching, and learning. Use this form to book a consultation with Sara Manus, Director of the Weeks Music Library.
Professor Manus also provides custom library instruction sessions for Frost departments, programs, and courses. She will work with you to design a session that meets the information needs of your students. Use this form to request a library instruction session.
Key Databases
Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and the Oxford Companion to Music. These are key music reference sources used by performers and scholars around the world. This resource is used for answering basic questions (e.g., the definitions of music terminology), to research repertoire (Grove Music Online contains complete works lists for composers), or at the beginning of the research process.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Music
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO) Music is an authoritative research guide designed to help find reliable sources of information within books, websites, archives, or data sets. Each entry receives multiple peer-reviews as well as editorial board approval. It is best used at the beginning of the research process to determine the breadth of scholarship available on your topic.
The Music Periodicals Database indexes journal literature in all areas of music. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 journals. Coverage includes recording and performance reviews of both popular and classical music.
Browsing for Brass Music
If you're looking for new repertoire to perform, it is often helpful to browse the Weeks Music Library's shelves. The following call number ranges are for individual brass instruments; individual works within these numbers are arranged alphabetically by composer or arranger.
Horn
- M80-M84, Horn alone
- M255-M259, Horn and piano
- M1028, Horn with orchestra (full score)
- M1029, Horn with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1128, Horn with string orchestra (full score)
- M1129, Horn with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Trombone
- M90-M94, Trombone alone
- M262-M263, Trombone and piano
- M1032, Trombone with orchestra (full score)
- M1033, Trombone with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1132, Trombone with string orchestra (full score)
- M1133, Trombone with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Trumpet
- M85-M89, Trumpet alone
- M260-M261, Trumpet and piano
- M1030, Trumpet with orchestra (full score)
- M1031, Trumpet with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1130, Trumpet with string orchestra (full score)
- M1131, Trumpet with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Tuba/Euphonium
- M95-M99, Tuba alone
- M264-M265, Tuba and piano
- M1034, Tuba with orchestra (full score)
- M1035, Tuba with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1105, Tuba with string orchestra (full score)
- M1106, Tuba with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Selected Books
2011
1997
Looking for Something Specific? Search the Library Catalog
Journals
American Music Teacher (Music Teachers' National Association)
Horn Call (International Horn Society)
ITA Journal (International Trombone Association)
ITEA Journal (International Tuba Euphonium Association)
ITG Journal (International Trumpet Guild)
Online Scores
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Contains 400,000+ pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher. These scores are also indexed in the library catalog.
Selected Books
Browsing for Repertoire
If you're looking for new repertoire to perform, it is often helpful to browse the Weeks Music Library's shelves. The following call number ranges are for individual instrumental genres; individual works within these numbers are arranged alphabetically by composer or arranger.
Orchestra and Chamber Orchestra
- M1000, Collections
- M1001, Symphonies
- M1002, Symphonic poems and other program music
- M1003, Suites, theme and variations, and other cyclical works
- M1004, Overtures
- M1005-M1039, Individual instruments (or two like instruments) with orchestra
- M1040-M1041, Two or more different instruments with orchestra
- M1042-M1070, Concertos for orchestra, pieces, ballet and dance music, and other works
- M1072, Arrangements
String Orchestra
- M1100, Collections
- M1101, Symphonies
- M1102, Symphonic poems and other program music
- M1103, Suites, theme and variations, and other cyclical works
- M1104, Overtures
- M1105-M1139, Individual instruments (or two like instruments) with string orchestra
- M1140-M1141, Two or more different instruments with string orchestra
- M1142-M1147, Concertos for string orchestra, ballet and dance music, and other works
- M1160, Arrangements
Wind Ensemble/Band
- M1200, Collections
- M1201, Single movement pieces (including symphonic poems and program music)
- M1202, Symphonies
- M1203, Suites, themes, and other cyclical works (including concertos for band)
- M1204, Overtures
- M1205-M1206, Individual instruments (or two like instruments) with band
- M1240-M1241, Two or more instruments with band
- M1246-M1247, Marches and dances
- M1250, Band methods
- M1254-M1262, Arrangements
- M1268, Medleys, potpourris, etc.
Selected Books
2013
Looking for Something Specific? Search the Library Catalog
Browsing for Flute Music
If you're looking for new repertoire to perform, it is often helpful to browse the Weeks Music Library's scores. The following call number ranges are for flute music; individual works within these numbers are arranged alphabetically by composer or arranger:
- M240-M244, Flute and piano
- M557, Woodwind quintets
- M557.2, Flute quintets
- M1020, Flute with orchestra (full score)
- M1021, Flute with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1120, Flute with string orchestra (full score)
- M1121, Flute with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Excerpts, etudes, and instructional materials are classified in the MT range and housed in the same location as books about music (MLs):
- MT 340, General works
- MT342, Systems and methods
- MT345, Studies and exercises
- MT346, Orchestral studies (excerpts
Selected Books
2016
Looking for Something Specific? Search the Library Catalog
Journals
American Music Teacher (Music Teachers' National Association)
Flute Talk (ceased publication in 2020)
Flutist Quarterly (National Flute Association)
Online Scores
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Contains 400,000+ pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher. These scores are also indexed in the library catalog.
Browsing for Percussion Music
If you're looking for new repertoire to perform, it is often helpful to browse the Weeks Music Library's scores. The following call number ranges are for percussion music; individual works within these numbers are arranged alphabetically by composer or arranger:
- M145-175, Percussion solos (including some electronic instruments)
- M146, drum(s) [timpani, drum set, side drum, etc.; works for 1 performer on 2 or more instruments]
- M147, bells, glockenspiel, etc.
- M172, carillons, chimes
- M175 .X6, xylophone, vibraharp, vibraphone
- M175 .X9, marimba
- M284-M285, Percussion and piano
- M1038, Percussion with orchestra (full score)
- M1039, Percussion with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1138, Percussion with string orchestra (full score)
- M1139, Percussion with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Etudes and instructional materials are classified in the MT range and housed in the same location as books about music (MLs):
- MT655 - General Works
- MT655.2 - Systems and Methods
- MT655.3 - Studies and Exercises
- MT655.4 - Orchestral Studies
Selected Books
Looking for Something Specific? Search the Library Catalog
Journals
American Music Teacher (Music Teachers' National Association)
Percussive Notes (Percussive Arts Society
Online Scores
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Contains 400,000+ pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher. These scores are also indexed in the library catalog.
Browsing for String Music
If you're looking for new repertoire to perform, it is often helpful to browse the Weeks Music Library's scores. The following call number ranges are for string music; individual works within these numbers are arranged alphabetically by composer or arranger:
Double Bass
- M55-M58, Music for double bass alone
- M237-M238, Music for double bass and piano
- M1018, Music for double bass with orchestra (full score)
- M1019, Music for double bass with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1105-M1106, Music for double bass with string orchestra (full score)
- M1118, Music for double bass with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Cello
- M50-M54, Cello alone
- M229-M236, Cello and piano
- M351, String trios
- M452, String quartets
- M1016, Cello with orchestra (full score)
- M1017, Cello with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1116, Cello with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Viola
- M45-M49, Viola alone
- M224-M228, Viola and piano
- M351, String trios
- M452, String quartets
- M1014, Viola with orchestra (full score)
- M1015, Viola with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1114, Viola with string orchestra (full score)
- M1115, Viola with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Violin
- M40-44, Violin alone
- M217-223, Violin and piano
- M351, String trios
- M452, String quartets
- M1012, Violin with orchestra (full score)
- M1013, Violin with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1112, Violin with string orchestra (full score)
- M1113, Violin with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Selected Books
Looking for Something Specific? Search the Library Catalog
Journals
American Music Teacher (Music Teachers' National Association)
American String Teacher (American String Teachers' Association)
Online Scores
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Contains 400,000+ pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher. These scores are also indexed in the library catalog.
Browsing for Woodwind Music
If you're looking for new repertoire to perform, it is often helpful to browse the Weeks Music Library's scores. The following call number ranges are for woodwind music by instrument; individual works within these numbers are arranged alphabetically by composer.
Bassoon:
- M75-79, Solo bassoon
- M253-254, Bassoon and piano
- M288-289, Bassoon duets
- M357.2, Woodwind trios
- M557-559, Woodwind Quintets
- M1026, Bassoon with orchestra (full score)
- M1027, Bassoon with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1126, Bassoon with string orchestra (full score)
- M1127, Bassoon with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Clarinet:
- M70-M74, Solo clarinet
- M248-M252, Clarinet and piano
- M557, Woodwind quintets
- M1024, Clarinet with orchestra (full score)
- M1025, Clarinet with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1124, Clarinet with string orchestra (full score)
- M1125, Clarinet with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Oboe:
- M65-M69, oboe alone
- M245-M247, oboe and piano
- M1022, oboe with orchestra (full score)
- M1023, oboe with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1122, oboe with string orchestra (full score)
- M1123, oboe with string orchestra (piano reduction)
Saxophone:
- M105-M109, Saxophone alone
- M268-M269, Saxophone and piano
- M1034 .S4, Saxophone with orchestra (full score)
- M1035.S4, Saxophone with orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1134.S4, Saxophone with string orchestra (full score)
- M1134.S4, Saxophone with string orchestra (piano reduction)
- M1205-M1206, Solo instrument with band
Selected Books
2012
2008
Looking for Something Specific? Search the Library Catalog
Journals
American Music Teacher (Music Teachers' National Association)
The Clarinet (International Clarinet Society)
The Double Reed (International Double Reed Society)
The Saxophone Symposium (North American Saxophone Alliance)
Online Scores
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Contains 400,000+ pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher. These scores are also indexed in the library catalog.
A Librarian